We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Fails to Please”
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Another year and another visit to this excellent hotel. A visit to the Grand Hotel each summer is a must. Breakfast is not like any other breakfast experience in a French hotel - lovely surroundings and superb choice of breakfast foods; service by a discreet waitress adds to the charm. A request made at the time of booking for the same room as in past was accepted so it really was like having our own special room. Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

Time was when you could travel the world and stay in lovely old hotels of varying sizes, often built in the late 19th century, oozing character and grace without straining your pocket : the Mena House by the pyramids; the Taj on the waterfront in Bombay; the E&O in Penang and so on....that is until the chains got hold of them, tarted them up to no great effect and jacked up prices into the stratosphere.

One that got away is the Grand Hotel de Sete. Built around a stunning four-storey atrium it sits on the confluence of two canals opposite the magnificent Palais Consulaire, trade hub of this once great port, a beguiling mix of Venetian-style waterfront houses reminiscent of old Corfu, Art Deco elegance and gaily coloured fishing vessels hunting what fish are left in the Med. Rooms are simple but comfy, there's a good restaurant which does an excellent bouillabaisse and the staff are perfectly friendly especially if you make the effort to try a little French. I know English is the world's lingua Franca but few things irritate the French ( and me) more than tourists who swan around with a smug sense of entitlement.

Sete can be noisy if you come in August but then you need your head examined if you come in August. We came in August! But it was fun. There were jousting contests in the canal where boys as young as 10 use poles to push each other off the raised sterns of long barques and into the canal. Street music into the early hours. Stalls selling oysters and moules and chips.

There's a sense of space and light about this unpretentious gem, a quiet laid-back feel which ticks all my boxes. The atrium is filled with quirky sculptures while each floor is dotted with ancien regime furniture, large leather trunks and portraits in oil.

If you hanker after old world charm and a low-key trip back into a disappearing world when tourists were travellers and you're not to picky then this place won't disappoint.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The hotel is only 3 star but don't be fooled it is charming and stylish. Set around a open courtyard, our room had lovely views of the canal and was smart and clean. Breakfast in the courtyard was good for France. The staff spoke reasonable English and were polite and friendly.

Room Tip: ask for canal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bearkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at Le Grand Hotel in Sète and really I cannot fault it. The rooms were of a comfortable size and spotlessly clean, the beds good (that is so important on a holiday), good breakfast, beautiful atrium in which to eat breakfast and a great location with gorgeous view from my balcony and pleasant staff. I am a little surprised by a previous review that said the staff were not friendly. Certainly the check in was average with the receptionist/manager not being the cheeriest person but each day we would get a 'bonjour' from whoever was at the desk and from all the household staff. Check out was great. The young man on the desk that day was most engaging and helpful. I'd definitely recommend Le Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: Although I did not have this room, the one next to mine which was on the corner of the building look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly-Anna56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, lovely bustling town, hotel overlooks the meeting of the waterways in town, although a little noisy from the street, we had a lovely corner room, very spacious and clean.
Breakfast expensive, but we walked along to have coffee and croissants, fish restaurants for the evening along the waterway. Beautiful boardwalk beaches out of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor, views are fantastic from the street, but if you prefer a quieter room ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nenims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed in this beautiful hotel in a very large corner room overlooking the junction of 2 canals. Would agree with other comments about the staff. They were polite but totally indifferent to guests. Every time we passed reception the staff kept their heads down looking extremely busy! The restaurant Quay 21 was the worst meal we've had in France. We had the bourride which was barely warm and totally tasteless. Chez François further along from Le Grand on the waterfront was a wonderful restaurant.We were lucky enough to be in Sete for the water jousting which was great fun.I would recommend this hotel for its position and comfort and very reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room and definitely a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felicity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We were disappointed overall with Le Grand . The setting is superb, on the prime junction of the canal network, and our room, with it's small balcony gave us a breath-taking view, but we found the staff indifferent at best. We were not once in six days greeted with a smile at reception, in fact the only acknowledgement we received was a blank stare. When having breakfast the only contact we had with the staff was to enquire about our room No. It was like a ghost town, with no atmosphere, which was a shame because the atrium is enchanting. On reflection two days would have been enough here, and the same can be said of Sete, a grubby town which has yet to decide whether or not it really wants tourists. Full of Arty posters promoting forthcoming jazz festivals in shop windows, and piles of dog mess on the pavements!

Room Tip: A canal view or nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrywigan186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sete hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Orque Bleue
Hotel L'Orque Bleue
#5 of 18 in Sete
306 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Port Marine
Hotel Port Marine
#8 of 18 in Sete
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#9 of 18 in Sete
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel le National
Hotel le National
#6 of 18 in Sete
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Citotel Imperial
Citotel Imperial
#7 of 18 in Sete
329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sables D'or
Hotel Sables D'or
#1 of 18 in Sete
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Address: 17 quai Mal de Lattre de Tassigny, 34200 Sete, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Sete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sete
Price Range: £90 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Sete
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing