We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday 2013”
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sete
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire england
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Holiday 2013”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

WHEN we finally found this hotel in Sete it was exceptional. We had to drive around the town at least four times before we finally spotted it across the water! Our fault for not requesting a street map prior but now we've done it ...no problem. Our room was superb with views over the basin and down one of the canals. On the first floor with three corner windows and a wrap-around verandah it was spectacular in the afternoon, night and early morning when we were delighted to have a fabulous sun-rise reflected in the water. The food in the little dining room was very good and the breakfast in the massive atrium area was lovely in very grand surroundings. Built in 1882 in the " Belle Epoche " style apparently this has always been a hotel.
The garage was relatively easy to find (not attached to the hotel, but not far away) a bit tight and dark. My only gripe was when I went back to the car to collect something there was a very aggressive man who was obviously the garage "manager" who insisted I moved my car (which was parked perfectly..my husband is a stickler for that) two inches forward. I did this but when he disappeared I reversed it two inches back! There were other cars parked in there a lot more sloppily so I can only assume it was because I am a woman, foreign and blonde! C'est la vie! Otherwise go there..it was lovely.

Room Tip: There is a lift to each floor but nobody to help with your luggage....so travel light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank provence1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    225
    54
    14
    6
See reviews for
57
278
12
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Imagine the scene - the mid 1990's, you have taken over a beautiful 19th Century hotel - probably the figurehead of the town at one time - and 'modernised'. In this case, 'modernised' equals semi-industrial, medieval/souk style iron work everywhere, including the hotel key fobs, which appear to be straight from the art class anvil. More seriously it was a shame to see the semi vandalisation of the of the once fine, original staircase.

So, take an original room, chop into 3 smaller rooms devoid of any original features, add mandatory 'A' level iron-art and here you have your standard range of rooms. Install shoddy air conditioning, inadequate double glazing to shield from the constant scootering of the populus of Sete and a bathroom that is of equatable size to the bedroom and voila, this was our experience of the once grand hotel which is made grand only by delusions of grandeur and the name on the sign.

The only redeeming point of our sleepless stay was the quite excellent breakfast provided by friendly staff. This though was unfortunately served in the bad iron art conference room with souk fabric ceiling and even a custom made iron worked whiteboard for those medieval presentations.

Le Grand Hotel is a dream come true (if you are a spot welder with an artistic bent)

Room Tip: Rooms on the front had views of the canal but I suspect these are even noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissPassepartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Ideal for a weekend in Sete. Recently renovated with beautiful interiors. I would have given it the top rating but for the staff. Never heard a word of greeting from them, no help with any tips on sightseeing etc. quite a contrast from the generally friendly people of Sete. Only the person manning the desk on Saturday morning was helpful and a saving grace. They really need to do something about the staff, some training is desperately needed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tgta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel just for one night, but we did wish it had been more. I think some reviews say about the staff being indifferent, and I would have to agree with that, but certainly not unpleasant.

I think it might have been the first day of the jousting competitions, we had no idea when we booked, but it was just great and the hotel is perfectly positioned. We had a room on the front which did mean rather a sleepless night, due to it being hot and needing the windows open. It was fairly noisy, but to be honest I would still recommend it, as what can you expect when you land in the middle of a festival. It was quite nice listening to the noises of the party goes as we fell asleep, and certainly an experience we will not forget.

You could also sit and watch some of the jousting under cover for free and we had a fantastic street parade in the evening, which I can't possibly describe, but was wonderful.

The room was great, just what we needed for a night and would have been fine for a few nights, a great balcony looking up the canal opposite. The parking is certainly advisable and really secure.

Room Tip: Even though it might be noisy, get a room on the front and watch the world go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a corner unit looking over the river and the parade. 3 balconies. The hotel had a cot ready for our daughter when we arrived. The room is a little tired. It could use some new bedding, towels, etc. the toilet is in a closet. If you were a large person the door would have to be open when sitting. It seems common in France. Parking is a few doors down from the hotel. The Saint-Louis festival was on and was amazing. We would return for this festival again. The town is on a series of canals that lead to the sea. It is a fishing city. Very pretty with very nice local people. The hotel is in a perfect location. We enjoyed this hotel, the food, the hospitality far more then a really expensive chateau in Saint Tropez province a few hours away. We should have stayed and cancelled our other reservation. I am judging this hotel based on my experiences in the rest of the south of France. Its a little rustic, but far cooler then anywhere else we visited in southern france.

Room Tip: get a corner suite. breakfast not really worth it. parking is worth it since it is secure and only a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very nice, comfortable, modern accommodations. Everything works. Good water. Good light. Good internet. Good A/C.

In a fantastic location at the beginning of the Canal du Midi and entree to the whole literal region.

Absolutely do not miss the lance fighting off off hand-rowed competition boats, a centuries-old tradition.

Superb seafood in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Another year and another visit to this excellent hotel. A visit to the Grand Hotel each summer is a must. Breakfast is not like any other breakfast experience in a French hotel - lovely surroundings and superb choice of breakfast foods; service by a discreet waitress adds to the charm. A request made at the time of booking for the same room as in past was accepted so it really was like having our own special room. Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sete hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel le National
Hotel le National
#6 of 18 in Sete
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Orque Bleue
Hotel L'Orque Bleue
#5 of 18 in Sete
277 reviews
1.2 mi away
Citotel Imperial
Citotel Imperial
#4 of 18 in Sete
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Port Marine
Hotel Port Marine
#8 of 18 in Sete
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#9 of 18 in Sete
314 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sables D'or
Hotel Sables D'or
#2 of 18 in Sete
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Property: Le Grand Hotel
Address: 17 quai Mal de Lattre de Tassigny, 34200 Sete, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Sete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Sete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Sete
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing