We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best option to stay in Sète”
Review of Le Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sete
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have been booking Le Grand Hotel for more than 4 years now, always in the same days in July, and I have to say it gets better and better. I book double superior room, and I stayed in room 104, recently refurbished and with a new bathroom. The greatest view of the Canal, the quiet and spacious room with sober and classy decor, no cheesy details allowed. I am a bit fan also of their service, which is always the same people and very very nice. Great parking aside of the hotel, and always the best experience as it is located in the city centre, 5 minutes walk to the fantastic Les Halles de Sète. Unmissable.

Room Tip: Always book a double superior with view to the Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geonaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

Beautiful interior for a hotel with interesting art. Classic architecture and drinks are served in the lobby if you are looking for a nightcap after strolling the Canal du Midi. We did not have a chance to try the restaurant or the breakfast buffet, as we only had one night in Sete and were on a tight schedule. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely, even with the view being the lobby! Would definitely stay here again if we were visiting Sete.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorrie_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We came here for the first time on a stop over during our honey moon. The hotel staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We got a canal view room with complimentary flowers from the staff.

The hotel is located in the very heart of the city and a small parking lot is available nearby.

I would truly recommend this place to stay for young couples and even for families. it is close to restaurants and cafes.

Room Tip: Canal view is something to choose for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krzysztof D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Grand Hotel on the recommendation of two separate friends. Unfortunately we weren't able to get a room overlooking the canal, but the side-room we were offered was compact but very comfortable. Service was extremely friendly and helpful and breakfasts were OK - not much choice but we're not into elaborate b/f anyway so it suited us fine. The lobby was stunning - think Moroccan riad - a courtyard filled with palms, yukkas and a tasteful selection of modern paintings and sculptures, with comfy sofas and chairs - perfect for our needs: we'd gone to work on a music/poetry project and the staff were happy for us to plug into the courtyard sockets and sit around all afternoon ordering teas and cake. The hotel is centrally located and has its own (paid) car park though we parked at the top of the hill next to the entrance to avoid the fee.

My only 2 small complaints are the slight smell of drainage that lingered in our bathroom for the time we were there, and the fact the only muesli at breakfast had chocolate bits in (other breakfast cereals even sweeter). Otherwise we got a good deal on the rooms - a 2-day 'Escapade' deal X 2 which included breakfast for 95 euros/night instead of 130 euros/night with breakfast extra. We didn't eat in the restaurant but on two nights I ordered their chestnut mousse thing in the courtyard was to die for.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the canal - they don't cost any more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonblack1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We decided to make a stop over in Sète on our way to Spain. We loved the place, because it is centrally located and the building atmosphere is very special.
Our room was located on the side street. The room was spacious, including the bathroom. Heavy rainfall was a challenge for the city as well for the hotel. But all staff members were very helpful.
Dinner was excellent, including service. We appreciated also breakfast with a selection of various dishes.

Room Tip: Garage/Parking is quite narrow. We just made it with a Volvo C70.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndreZeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

if you pick the right room (104, in front of the canal), if you avoid the restaurant and the breakfast and if the weather is not too hot, you should have a very nice stay. It is beautiful inside.

Séjour très agréable, malgré le restaurant "gastronomique" déplorable, vrai point noir de cet hôtel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxouime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had the a pleasant stay in Sete, we had the central suite and had a great view overlooking the canal. The reception staff were just OK, they gave the impression they had better things to do....
The hotel was grand in its day but now seems a little run down 'tatty around the edges' its still a nice place to stay they could do better with it though. Our room was very spacious and wasn't noisy at all at night, good considering they are in the centre of town. Breakfast was in the inside atrium and was adequate, the staff here were quite good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerryconway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sete hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel L'Orque Bleue
Hotel L'Orque Bleue
#6 of 18 in Sete
302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Port Marine
Hotel Port Marine
#8 of 18 in Sete
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#9 of 18 in Sete
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sables D'or
Hotel Sables D'or
#1 of 18 in Sete
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel le National
Hotel le National
#4 of 18 in Sete
252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Citotel Imperial
Citotel Imperial
#7 of 18 in Sete
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Hotel

Address: 17 quai Mal de Lattre de Tassigny, 34200 Sete, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Sete
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Sete
Price Range: £114 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Sete
Hotel Le Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing