We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Jewel in the crown”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Tourmalet

Chalet Tourmalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet Tourmalet
Room 1 View from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Chalet Tourmalet
Room 1
View from the kitchen
Nearby river
Summer in the valley
Lounge
Spring skiing
Chalet in winter
Dining area with a view to the garden
On a Tour de France route
Driving down from La Mongie
Bedroom 4
Sample Bathroom
View from the balcony/ terrace
Home produce
In the heart of the Campan valley
Payolle Lake in February
A wonderful place to see Spring flowers
Come and see the famous 'Mounaques' of Campan
View from the Col du Tourmalet towards Bareges
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bagneres-de-Bigorre, Hautes-Pyrenees, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Z4313LOde...
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jewel in the crown”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Well I do not really know where to start. We were met by Stefan at Lourdes airport what, a way to start your holiday in a good old Land Rover built for the mountainous terrain.on arrival Carolyn and dodge (dog) met us. We were shown to our rooms amazing views of the nearby snow capped mountains. The room was so spacious and clean even robes for use when you used the hot tub. The cuisine which we were served was absolutely fabulous I could not pick a favourite meal. You would find it difficult to eat better in a top class restaurant. Well done Carolyn. The hospitality is second to none. Ski-Ing thanks to our hosts was made so easy
Ski fit, passes, lessons all made easier by their local knowledge. It was a wonderful week I was taught the game of uckers helped Stefan in his garage and brought in the logs for a lovely
Lounge fire
I cannot express the beautiful night sky,the quietness and the tranquility
We intend to return soon to this little secret gem

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: We had to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2016
Wow! Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back. Carolyn & Stefan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seadeuced
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic location, Great accomodation, helpful, friendly owners and wonderful food.”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed at the chalet with some friends.
It was our first time in the Pyrenees and our first time skiing.
We didn't know what to expect but what we found was above and beyond our expectations.
Stefan and Carolyn, the owners were friendly helpful and very knowledgeable about the area and the ski resort.
They helped us find an instructor, buying our ski passes and hiring equipment. They made the whole experience so easy.
The accomodation was perfect, clean tidy and very comfortable, and the cooking....
just fantastic. A varied menu each night and cooked and presented beautifully.
We just can't wait to go again next year.
Thank you too you both for making our holiday one of the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind words! Look forward to seeing you again.
Carolyn & Stefan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz M
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Stop looking!!! This is the one!!!”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in July 2015

If you are staying in the Pyrenees this is the place to stay. Your hosts Carolyn and Stefan are the most welcoming couple and make you feel like you are at a home away from home. You will enjoy spectacular views from your bedroom, amazing home cooked meals. Cuddles from their loving pets. Carolyn and Stefan make you feel so welcomed and comfortable you will never want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2016
Thanks Liz! Look forward to seeing you again.

Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clholla
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very welcoming hosts, fantastic food”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Visited with friends and family at the start of October, the chalet was beautiful and the surrounding area is very picturesque. Carolyn and Stef, the hosts, were very welcoming and the food was superb. An ideal place to stay for both cycling in summer and skiing in winter. Would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2015
Thank you Clare. We hope to see you again next week year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregAlll
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Arran MAMILS cycle tour 2015”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Outstanding hospitality, good quality food and plenty of it. Ideal base for cycle touring, including Tourmalet, Aspin etc.. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2015
Thanks Greg! We enjoyed your stay too. Hope we get to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very magnifique.”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A real gem.
Delicious food and the warmest of welcomes.
Carolyn and Stephan really did go the extra mile to make our stay so very enjoyable.
Fantastic breakfasts and dinners with home baking squeezed in- between.
A great location for cyclists with easy access to Col du Tourmalet, Aspin, Peyresourde, Azet, Houquette and many more.
I really cannot recommend Chalet Tourmalet highly enough.
Merci

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all aspects fabulous.
Liked least: nothing at all.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
Thank you Peter! We do hope we get to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham M
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb!!”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

I never write reviews but this really, really deserves to be given 5 stars!! This is a really nice chalet, very clean, comfortable rooms and everything you would want/expect. However what sets this apart is the absolutely superb hospitality provided by Stephan and Caroline. I cannot speak highly enough of them, on every single level they did everything possible to help and make you feel very special. For example, we were on a cycling trip and had a major mechanical at top of a Col which was over an hours drive from Chalet, no problem to Stephan who came to collect us. Another example, one of our party was staying at a rather quiet local hotel that provided sparse breakfast and no dinner - again no problem to Stephan & Caroline that welcomed him into our chalet as one of their own guests. Fed him breakfast, dinner and also drove him back to hotel late evening. Other touches like the fire being light for our return after a hard cold day in the saddle and lots more. Seriously if you are going to this location to cycle, ski, hike or just to relax do not think about going anywhere else - a true gem! Thank you S&C!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great chalet but warm, very kind hosts made the trip!
Liked least: Nothing - really I can not fault one aspect (maybe Stephan's jokes!).
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Graham, thank you. We had a lot of fun with you guys and really enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we get to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing