We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden treasure”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Tourmalet

Chalet Tourmalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet Tourmalet
Room 1 View from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Chalet Tourmalet
Room 1
View from the kitchen
Nearby river
Summer in the valley
Lounge
Spring skiing
Chalet in winter
Dining area with a view to the garden
On a Tour de France route
Driving down from La Mongie
Bedroom 4
Sample Bathroom
View from the balcony/ terrace
Home produce
In the heart of the Campan valley
Payolle Lake in February
A wonderful place to see Spring flowers
Come and see the famous 'Mounaques' of Campan
View from the Col du Tourmalet towards Bareges
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bagneres-de-Bigorre, Hautes-Pyrenees, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Natasha D
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Not long been back from another wonderful week of skiing in the Pyrenees topped off with a fantastic stay at Chalet Tourmalet. This is our 6th time staying at Chalet Tourmalet and it never disappoints! As soon as you enter Chalet Tourmalet, with the view of the pyrenean mountains, you cannot help but relax instantly. The rooms are always beautifully clean, all ensuite and the food absolutely delicious. The hosts Carolyn and Stefan go out of their way to accommodate your every need, nothing is too much trouble and they make everything easy so you can truly relax all holiday. Every day started with a hearty breakfast and after a long day's skiing ( and some Apres in the resort!) the fire was always lit when we arrived back at the chalet with a scrumptious cake awaiting us. After a soothing dip in the hot tub on the veranda we tucked in to a beautiful meal cooked by Carolyn with Stefan as Sous chef. We are already planning another trip to Chalet Tourmalet! Thank you Carolyn & Stefan for another wonderful week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back.again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilot-Pau...
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb hosts”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Best chalet, I have stayed in & there have been a few over the years! Why so good? It is not because of expensive, gold fittings & fixtures, but because you are being looked after, not by 20 year old chalet hosts on a gap year, but by a slightly older :) , more worldly couple who know what good customer service is. eg Tea pot always warmed ready for you, beers not an issue, a night cap often offered, snow brushed off your car in the morning, help given fitting snow chains, home made bread every morning, never having to lift a finger, driven & shown around to collect ski passes & skis. The list could go on. This is in addition to what you would expect from a chalet & you can read in others reviews. eg excellent food, good wine,etc. Thanks Carolyn & Stefan. Hope to see you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the friendly family atmosphere
Liked least: Stefans jokes!!! Only pulling your leg Stefan! hehehe
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Wow! Thank you Paul, we are blushing. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dutchyExe...
exeter
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Week”
Reviewed 25 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Spent an amazing week at Chalet Tourmalet, nestled in a wooded valley in the Pyrenees with fantastic views of the mountains. Plenty of room for our large party with all rooms ensuite and a comfy sitting room with roaring fire. The hot tub was a lovely bonus after a days skiing. The hosts Carolyn and Stefan made sure our stay was perfect, with amazing food and great company. We had great skiing and the resort had definitely improved but without losing its charm. Much more affordable than the Alps with a lot more character. Will definitely be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food and company
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2016
Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naishjaco...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderfully different mountain experience”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is a fantastic chalet in a beautiful valley, just beneath one of the most underrated ski resorts you're likely to visit.

Carolyn and Stefan are amazing hosts. From the minute I arrived with them they were knowledgeable, generous, and welcoming. The chalet is cosy and beautifully presented (from the outside the house really stands out in the valley as well), and the views are stunning.

Carolyn is also a wonderful cook. The Wild Boar stew was just about the best thing I've eaten this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food, the views, and the company
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2016
Thank you Jake. we look forward to welcoming you back with your family soon, we hope!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
100justin
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply outstanding hospitality”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our group of 9 (2 families) have just returned from a Half Term skiing holiday, staying at Chalet Tourmalet. Carolyn and Stefan provided a great double act and were fantastic hosts. Nothing was too much trouble: catering for fussy eaters, driving us up and down the mountain in all weathers, and occupying my poor wife who was confined to the chalet after injuring her knee.

The highlights:

Excellent, plentiful food. You will not go hungry or thirsty even if you are skiing or cycling.
Clean and comfortable accommodation.
Roaring wood fire and freshly cooked cake in the afternoon.
Stunning mountain views.
Delightful dog and cat.
Hot tub under the stars.
As much (or as little) help as you could ever need to get the best from your holiday.

We would all heartily recommend Chalet Tourmalet to anybody, in particular cycling and skiing parties.
I'm already planning to visit again on my bike this summer..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The food
Liked least: Having to cut down on food now that I am home
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2016
Thank you for your kind words Justin - it was a pleasure to host you all. Place seems very quiet without you and Dodge is decidedly glum! Looking forward to catching up in the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Z4313LOde...
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jewel in the crown”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Well I do not really know where to start. We were met by Stefan at Lourdes airport what, a way to start your holiday in a good old Land Rover built for the mountainous terrain.on arrival Carolyn and dodge (dog) met us. We were shown to our rooms amazing views of the nearby snow capped mountains. The room was so spacious and clean even robes for use when you used the hot tub. The cuisine which we were served was absolutely fabulous I could not pick a favourite meal. You would find it difficult to eat better in a top class restaurant. Well done Carolyn. The hospitality is second to none. Ski-Ing thanks to our hosts was made so easy
Ski fit, passes, lessons all made easier by their local knowledge. It was a wonderful week I was taught the game of uckers helped Stefan in his garage and brought in the logs for a lovely
Lounge fire
I cannot express the beautiful night sky,the quietness and the tranquility
We intend to return soon to this little secret gem

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: We had to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2016
Wow! Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back. Carolyn & Stefan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seadeuced
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic location, Great accomodation, helpful, friendly owners and wonderful food.”
Reviewed 23 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed at the chalet with some friends.
It was our first time in the Pyrenees and our first time skiing.
We didn't know what to expect but what we found was above and beyond our expectations.
Stefan and Carolyn, the owners were friendly helpful and very knowledgeable about the area and the ski resort.
They helped us find an instructor, buying our ski passes and hiring equipment. They made the whole experience so easy.
The accomodation was perfect, clean tidy and very comfortable, and the cooking....
just fantastic. A varied menu each night and cooked and presented beautifully.
We just can't wait to go again next year.
Thank you too you both for making our holiday one of the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind words! Look forward to seeing you again.
Carolyn & Stefan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing