We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beach location, nice pool, nice people.”
Review of Camping les Dunes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camping les Dunes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from 14th July to the 28th, with wife and 3 children, aged 2, 13 and 14. Travelled with Matthews holidays. Sailed from Portsmouth to st malo and then a 3 hr drive to site. Very easy. Greeted by Matthews rep and shown caravan. Only had basic caravan but it was fine. Beds not the best but ok. Site was excellent, pools and slides were great, indoor and outdoor. Crazy golf was good fun, kids were always at the football pitch! Nice walks and bike rides along coast. The beach was great, surfers will love it. Spent most of our time there. Took our own surfboards and were still in the water at 10pm some nights! A lidl 1 mile down the road, very cheap! Bottle of wine for just over a £1, cans of beer for 40p! Nice food, cooked in caravan most nights. Local restaurants were a little pricey for what you get. Overall nice site, would defo go back, but was disappointed on the last night when my bike was pinched from beside caravan. My fault that it wasn't locked up but still... Would recommend tho.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mazakboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

We travelled with Matthew holidays and had a good plot near to the swimming pool/central shop area. The bakery in the shop sold delicious patisserie and the donuts were particularly yummy. The pool complex was great and the direct access to the beach was fantastic. I would certainly go back here as it had everything we look for in a campsite, but I should mention the evening entertainment was very loud and went on quite late so it bothered our young daughter when she was trying to get to sleep. Also I got the feeling that "space was at a bit of a premium" and although our caravan was ok and not particularly overlooked, some of the caravans I saw seemed very close together making it a bit claustrophobic.

Room Tip: The evening entertainment was very loud so we bought earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Holidayfamilytrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This site has without doubt the best and easiest access to the beach, of any site we've both looked at and been to. The site is exceptionally clean and has excellent facilities, including the pool!. The kids literally moved between beach and pool each day. We didn't do much in the way of sightseeing as we spent most of our two weeks body boarding or swimming. Very relaxing until 9 at night, then the entertainment began... Great if you want it, but not if you want young children to sleep or to relax with a glass of the local wine. We were a good distance from the bar etc. but our mobile home reverberated to mic and sound systems used by the entertainment team and on one amazing night, three hours of karaoke at full volume.. There was absolutely no way to escape until 11.30 when the site returned to normal. All said we had a relaxing time but spoiled by the 'enforced entertainment' at night.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed against the back of the site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This was our first time to this site having been to two other campsites in France previously. This is a lovely site, quiet because we went in June & because it is isnt too big it felt very safe for the kids. Beach is on the doorstep too & is fantastic and clean and is a haven for surfers. There are two really nice restaurants that we went to just up the road which are run by young couples. The restaurant on site was a bit pricey so we only went their once for food but a good place to go for a drink when it was open which was a bit hit and miss. Shop onsite had fresh bread every day and staff were friendly. The indoor pool is clean and because it was quiet we had it to ourselves, outdoor pool area was big with plenty of slides. Tennis & crazy golf free hire in June & a couple of park areas for the kids to play. So overall a good site. Went with Matthews holidays and stayed in their Magnum caravan. A bit dated but clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank becky2003_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Just back from one week stay at Les Dunes. We travelled with Matthews Holidays, and a 3 hour drive from St Malo.

Site was lovely and clean. Our mobile home had a shower, but we also used the public showers on site, and these were spacious and clean with tons of hot water. Direct access to beach, which hosted a world surfing championship event in 2010. Beach never crowded.

Weather was warm when we were there, without being oppressive. Lots of French on-site, which is a good sign. On site supermarket not too expensive, but running down stock when we were there as closing in 1st week of September. Bread baked on premises and it was lovely.

Pool was pretty cold, but it didn't seem to bother many. Sea temperature was 23 degrees according to beach lifeguards, which was much warmer than pool. Bar was quiet and restaurant served usual campsite fare of pizzas, mussels, burgers and pasta.

No problem recommending site - peaceful, clean and relaxing

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Daveinwarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

We have holidayed with Carisma for several years now, can't fault them, the booking staff are very efficient and helpful, the sites in France are all highly recommended.

This site is in a very pleasant location, with beach and forests close by. The reps were excellent, very friendly and helpful, we all enjoyed the wine and cheese evening especially the quiz.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank carismaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Camping les Dunes with carisma holidays, has us hooked, we been 3 times. The site is a bit outside Les Sables D'Olonne but the negatives stop there. Carisma just cant do enough to help make the holiday better, the couriers call to the home each morning to check all is well and if not eg light bulb, gets sorted in minutes. kids (age 11, 8 and 5) love the pool with slides and the kids club. recommend bring/hiring bikes as there are some lovely cycle tracks, lots to go to within a short drive (if you like!), the wine and cheese on beach is a great ice breaker and where you meet the parents of the children yours have been playing with. The staff in the office back in England always get top marks on my holiday assessment form. If you have younger kids you should perhaps try their site in Jard sur Mer.

8  Thank LorcanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretignolles Sur Mer
6.3 mi away
Madame Vacances Residence Les Fontenelles
Madame Vacances Residence Les Fo...
#1 of 1 in L'Aiguillon-sur-Vie
219 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotellerie des Brisants
Hotellerie des Brisants
#2 of 2 in Bretignolles Sur Mer
88 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa les Sables d'Olonne MGallery Collection
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa ...
#2 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Saint Gilles Croix de Vie
Ibis Styles Saint Gilles Croix d...
#1 of 5 in Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie
490 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel les Embruns
Hotel les Embruns
#1 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
408 reviews
13.8 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Village Port-Bourgenay
Pierre & Vacances Village Port-B...
#3 of 6 in Talmont Saint Hilaire
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping les Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping les Dunes

Address: 50 Avenue des Dunes, 85470 Bretignolles Sur Mer, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Bretignolles Sur Mer
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bretignolles Sur Mer
Price Range: £23 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping les Dunes 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping les Dunes is situated close to a long and sandy beach with direct access, open from 01 April to 11th November. We propose you renting of mobil-homes from 4 to 8 persons. On the campsite you will find : bar, restaurant, swimming pool (indoor and outdoor with slides), playground for children, tennis, crazy golf. Entertainments from April to August with child club during French holidays, sport tournments and entertainments at nighht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Camping les Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Les Dunes Hotel Bretignolles Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing