We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay at Stadthotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stadthotel Eckernfoerde
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Eckernforde
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My wife and I stayed for a weekend getaway. Hoping that we should be able to meet spring but it was freezing cold. However the hotel was very well located, We had a room towards the sea and it is really close to the beach.
Rooms were clean and nice. Big bathroom with large, 2 person, tub.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lajetkulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

Have stayed there several times on business trips. Preferred hotel in town.
Close to town center and several restaurants. Greek, Chinese, Italian, German etc.

Hotel staff speaks English and German.

Breakfast is generally from 6:30 in the morning, but staff has been flexible before, when we had to leave very early!

Last time (Sep. 2011) WiFi internet came at a fee. This time (Feb. 2013) it was free! Do not know if it was because of off-season.

Very limited free parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walker1Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed a couple of nights on business. Easy enough to find and not far from the sea. Very friendly staff who spoke reasonable English. Rooms clean and comfortable. The bottle of water saying Enjoy your stay was not free as it turned out...€4 and I know some colleagues got caught out by that. Only a shower but it worked well and had a decent strength to it.

Didn't eat in for dinner but breakfast was a buffet with a decent choice of typical continental meats and cheeses as well as some scrambled egg and bacon. And plenty of fruit and yoghurt.

About a 5-10 min walk got you into the centre of town and to the various restaurants.

Room Tip: I had a room at the front overlooking the car park. I would think the ones at the back may suit bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry_Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Not the place for backpack tourists. Rooms are distinguished without being too posh, the rich breakfast provides a large selection of cheese and cold meat as well as egg and bacon. The noise on the very busy promenade along the adjacent sand beach dies down at night, thanks God. But keep your windows shut at dawn unless you like getting woken by millions of chirping gulls! The private car park fee is reasonably cheap (3 € per day) The hotel is within a minute of pedestrian zone shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steiny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We booked this Hotel because we had to stay in the area for a family function and it was the only one rated 4 - star in Eckerförde. The location is nice as it is right on the beach, but that's about it. The decoration is not really our taste as they used 70ties/80ties style furniture throughout, not run down though. We also had the feeling (like other reviewers) that it used to be an office building of some sort as it didnt really have a typical hotel layout and had kind of weird office-style doors etc.
Good service was only provided by the staff working at breakfast.
The rooms were extremely poorly cleaned, something you don't find often in Germany, especially in 4 star Hotels. Some parts of the bathroom I would even describe as disgusting! We stayed for two nights and they didn't even bother to change the towels or make the bed!
Nevertheless, the rooms are fairly large and spacious.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I didn't want to stay at this hotel because the reviews that I had read were not consistent. However, we had to choose this one because of problems with another reservation. It worked out well for us. Parking was additional, under the hotel, but access was easy and cheap (3 Euros). I can't believe there is enough space down there for parking in peak season for all the hotel guests, but there is public parking nearby. The hotel and staff were very nice. Breakfast was one of the best of our trip, but that seems more likely in Northern Germany than in Southern Germany.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnab50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Where did the 4 stars come from? The big rooms, the stone in the reception, the bar, the non exicsting facilities? The hotel lookes like a official building, it is dull, no feeling. Our room was OK but very stiff. The breakfast was OK. Parking under the hotel was a little bit unfresh, a lot of dirt from the nesting swallows.
Eckernförde sucks, we were at two restaurants, one only accepted Eurocard, the other only cash.
The Beach Festival with Rod was great, but the concert was a little bit short.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gothenburgsweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eckernforde
0.4 mi away
Hotel Seelust
Hotel Seelust
#3 of 6 in Eckernforde
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heldts Hotel
Heldts Hotel
#1 of 6 in Eckernforde
40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alte Fischereischule
Hotel Alte Fischereischule
#2 of 6 in Eckernforde
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Seehotel Toepferhaus
Seehotel Toepferhaus
#1 of 2 in Alt Duvenstedt
214 reviews
10.9 mi away
Ostsee Resort Damp
Ostsee Resort Damp
#1 of 1 in Ostseebad Damp
291 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Alter Kreisbahnhof
Hotel Alter Kreisbahnhof
#3 of 9 in Schleswig
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stadthotel Eckernfoerde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadthotel Eckernfoerde

Address: Am Exer 3, 24340 Eckernforde, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Eckernforde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Eckernforde
Price Range: £91 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stadthotel Eckernfoerde 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Stadthotel, Eckernforde, a breakfast only establishment. The hotel is directly on the beach and looks over the beautiful Eckernforde Bay which leads out to the Baltic Sea commanding panoramic views. Although set in a quiet location the main line station is only 500 mtrs away and the town itself is a paradise of cobbled streets and twisty lanes with a weekly general market and monthly fish market on the 1st Sunday of every month. If you decide to visit the famous Kiel canal which connects the North and the Baltic Seas stop off at Laboe and see a W.W.2 U-Boat, the U 995 or take a boat trip to the canal. You can start the day with a romantic beach sunrise then take a car or bike ride to the many historical towns and villages within striking distance or maybe just take a long walk along the picturesque coastline or- maybe just sit. If you're a golfer the Altenhof golf club is at your disposal. It's a tricky little course with devious bunkers and you would have to travel some to find a better round. Every year in late June-early July the Schleswig- Holstein classic music festival is held here. Glynbourne in Germany. In the Baltic seaside town of Damp (about 20 km to the north of Eckernforde), there is a well known health centre, as this region is a spa area, so don't be put off by the name. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Stadthotel Eckernfoerde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing