We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for a 2 Star hotel”
Review of Gouvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gouvia Hotel
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed there in the end of September for 1 week. The staff was very friendly, rooms were clean and I really enjoyed the food, what they served in the evening.

When you have HB then in the evening you will get a starter, main course with salad and a dessert or some fruit. AND we had opportunity to choose if we want dinner in the evening or for lunch- so we had dinner in other places too. One time they didn't had food ready at lunchtime and they made "special lunch" for us. Very nice :)
The house wine was also very good, compared to other restaurants we went there. And the atmosphere was very-very good, many evenings we sat there for long time and drunk wine.
Unfortunatley the breakfast was very poor: bread, ham, cheese, tomato, milk, cereal.. and that's it...

Our room was located in the other side of the pool, and it was spacious, we had a nice balcony and a pool view. The cleaning lady was really funnt- every time she knocked, then quickly opened the door and said: "Hi, clean, tomorrow?" - Eventully she had to clean our room only 2 times, because when we told her :" You can clean today, we can stay at the pool," she didn't undrestand us, but still she gave us new, clean towels :)

The staff coud speak more than 10 languages (expect the owner) and they made our stay there very memorabe and good. Last day our check out time was 12.00, but flight 23.30 and they let us stay in the room without paying anything.

I would recommend this hotel definately! :)

Room Tip: Other side of the pool + ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Airisalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

We went to Gouvia 34 years ago and this one came at the last minute so we thought we would go back. As most people have commented the rooms were extremely tight on space but they did have almost everything you want. The fridge was a bonus always nice to have cold drinks in the room. Staff were attentive until the restaurant got busy then the people on half board were overlooked. The manager definitely missed out on charm school a smile wouldn't go amiss. Gouvia is a small resort but with enough going on. The beach is pebbly but the water is wonderfully clear and so refreshing (not cold) it is worthwhile having beach shoes. The marina is well worth having a walk round, there are some fantastic boats to look at and dream about owning one(if only). There is a wonderful ice-cream parlour just along the strip, it was nice to stop there and have a couple of scoops on a sticky evening. Gouvia has changed in 34 years it is busier but not really much bigger, and it was good to go and look at the Hotel Galaxias again and find it still standing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NettyNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Spent two weeks here, as i was visiting my son who is working in Corfu,booked the hotel for the two of us , disappointed on arrival when i was told i would have to stay in another hotel for the frst night, which was the Popi star, oh my goodness it was a nightmare, the pool was filthy, was overjoyed the next day to move to the Gouvia, but with no apology from the manager, the young lady on reception was apologetic and such a pleasant girl. The hotel is basic but what i expected, kept knocking my leg on the corner of the bed have massive bruises, but they were cleaned regularly and the cleaner always left our room untiil last as my son never got up early. tried breakfast once but it wasnt to my taste, all in all cant complain just wish there was more to do in the area .

Room Tip: pool view definately reccommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Spent two weeks here in Sept 2013. Basic hotel, clean comfortable friendly. Breakfast a limited continental breakfast, evening meal set menu was adequate but repeated every five days. This was a budget holiday and value for money. Not really suitable for people with mobility problems no lift and many rooms mean negotiating steps.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor on the side of the pool are convenient. For swimming but there steps to be neg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is a budget hotel and it shows. It,s basic problem is that it,s a restaurant,A very good restaurant,with a hotel attached. The bedding and towels were clean and changed regularly
although the room and bathroom were small. The pool area is decent and I think that the rooms at the poolside were better. It is also situated on the main street in Gouvia and if you
get a room on the street side it can be very noisy. In the height of summer you will need
to have the windows and shutters closed because of the noise so you will have to budget
in another 7 euros a day for air conditioning. For a 14 day holiday it,s almost 100 euros.
The food is tasty and plentiful so if you can get a poolside room and this is your budget
then this hotel is worth the money.

Room Tip: get one far side of the pool away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lancashirejimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Staff lovely.friendly
Food nice.no choices
Rooms too sml.balcony ok
Showers far too small lovely area.beach lovely .lovely marina and good location.was asked which floor we would like.nice change.no lift for elderly thou.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed at the Gouvia Hotel for 4 nights in June 2013. As i hadn't paid much for the room, i wasn't expecting much but i was pleasantly surprised.
The room was spacious enough, the bathroom adequate (although typically Greek!) & it was clean & tidy. I had a massive terrace, a hairdryer & a mini-fridge.
The pool area was very quiet with enough beds & tables & chairs for everyone. The pool, although not heated, was very refreshing in the 40 degree heat!
I popped down for breakfast on 2 of the mornings &, although not a great choice, i was happy enough with endless cups of coffee & a bowl of cereals.
Reception were very quick to check me in & very helpful when i was querying a launderette (500 yards up from the hotel, opposite the entrance to the Park Hotel & they'll deliver to you) & when i needed a return taxi to the airport.
The restaurant at the front of the hotel (Mythos) is a lovely place with fantastic, friendly staff who looked after me the whole time i was there (I traveled alone). The food is lovely & reasonably priced & they do wine by the 1/2 litre :)
Tips in general:
Make sure you have plenty of cash as the 2 ATM's run out of money fast. The nearest cash point outside of Gouvia is at the supermarket on the way to the airport or at the Star Bowl.
Visit the kebab shop next to the Moukas restaurant for lunch or a very cheap dinner. The chicken kebab with chips is only 2.50 euros.
Avoid a room at the front of the hotel as, although the road noise isnt that bad, there is a 'club' a few doors up that's open till 7am
Def avoid room 117 as it's at the front of the hotel getting all the noise but is also at the top of the stairs so you cant have a lie in with all the people going down to breakfast!
I was definitely impressed with the hotel & would stay here again. I would recommend this to people who wanted a short, cheap get away for some much needed sun.

Room Tip: Avoid room 117 due to the music & the noise of people going down to breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WellTraveledPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gouvia hotels
0.3 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Popi Star
Popi Star
#13 of 17 in Gouvia
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Govino Bay Corfu
Govino Bay Corfu
#8 of 17 in Gouvia
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Molfetta Beach Hotel
Molfetta Beach Hotel
#10 of 17 in Gouvia
143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Hotel Corfu
Paradise Hotel Corfu
#5 of 17 in Gouvia
221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Omiros
Hotel Omiros
#15 of 17 in Gouvia
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gouvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gouvia Hotel

Address: Gouvia 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Price Range: £28 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gouvia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gouvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gouvia Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing