We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend this hotel”
Review of Gouvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gouvia Hotel
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Reviewed 13 September 2008

I would just like to warn holidaymakers who may wish to book this hotel in the future. We stayed for two weeks commencing 4th July 2008 on a half board basis. However what the description of the hotel failed to mention was that breakfast and evening meal where to be taken in the Mythos restaurant which is directly below the Gouvia hotel. Breakfast was cornflakes or bread and cheese, the evening meal had to be taken between 6pm and 8pm as we realised as the holiday went on the restaurant wanted the hotel guests out of the way before the paying public came in. There was no menu choice in the evening our food was just placed in front of us (take it or leave it) dessert on one evening was a peach, on another a banana just served up on a plate. I have complained to medhotels about it but they just said we should have told the rep when we were there, which is ridiculous because they would not have served us a different meal to the rest of the hotel guests. Please do not waste your hard earned money at the Gouvia!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reynolds7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2008

We arrived to Gouvia Hotel on the 15 july, the entrance was from the hotel restaurant. We first got scared because the halls were a real mess but then we realized it was the hour when the rooms were cleaned and that was the main reason why the corridors were so dirty.
Our room was fine, with a nice balcony, pretty comfortable beds, a TV, air conditioning...the bathroom could have been a little bigger as you didn't had enough space to breath and I was almost every time making shower with the door open.
The breakfast was...let's say boring...same things every day: cheese, ham, jam, milk, cereals and coffee...so we didn't had breakfast from there the last days...
dinner was fine...not good, not bad...just fine. The waiter who served our dinner a nice old man who was always very funny :) just for his presence :))
The pool is great, warm clean water...it was a pleasure to come late in the afternoon there and relax.
It's a hotel that deserves his 2*+...maybe 3...
The place it self was cool. Its very nice for young people as there are a lot of places you can go at night to have fun. Plenty of clubs, bars, lots of young people...
The Gouvia beach was bad...cold water, bad view, rocks beach...high prices for the sun beds...mhh.
But if you rent a car you can go to the sandy beaches in Sidari in only 45 minutes, or see the beautiful views from Barbati and many more.
For me it was more than ok and I will go there again for sure.
The bad thing is that I've lost there my beautiful sweetish mermaid David...oh well:D

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuraAura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2008

Myself and my 14yr old daughter stayed here for 1 week. The cab dropped us off and I thought he had left us at a restaurant, but no, it was the entrance to the hotl thru their restaurant.
We arrived midday to find no-one ( and there never is) at reception, the barman came and checked us in, not a problem.

To the room we went, basic, comfy clean and a view of the street. Aircon worked ok. TV as always has the bbc news and little else.

The bathroom let the room down as I felt like i was sitting in the shower instead of on the toilet, bad designs.

Never ate breakfast after the first day, bread and jams with either cheese or ham and tea or coffee, that really is the choice, not joking.

We ate most nights at their restaurant outside, always helpful friendly and cooked well, not the cheapest on the strip but half bord meant we only ever paid for lunch.

Staff were friendly except the old dude, he never cracked a smile.

It was quiet when we were there, travelled around by bus alot looking for decent beaches, that was hard to do ! the local beach really is crap, shingle and cold atmosphere and costly to rent beds and brollys.

The hotl pool was good, only ever us there all day and the sun gets it most of the day.. downside the pool is bloody freezing, does not walm up all day.

Liked it here and would go back but not in high season as the resort is too small to cope with drunken brits and 18-30 kiss me nows !

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lamio01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

We arrived at the Gouvia Hotel late on a Friday night and were warmly welcomed. The rooms were basic but had everything we needed for a short stay. Although we didn't use the pool it looked very nice. Having a late drink we asked for olives and crisps only to have freshly olives and freshly prepared potato chips produced within minutes - outstanding. We were also told we could keep our room until whatever time we wanted the next day until our yacht charter was available. The breakfast was basic but adequate. You get what you pay for and this was good value for money and the service was excellent. We'd definitely go back again for a short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Val101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

This basic hotel has small rooms with dirty blankets, small bathroom area with shower almost on top of toilet. Because of the poor bathroom design it was almost impossible to sit on the toilet - not a place for elderly visitors. Using the shower ensured that the bathroom becomes flooded (I can only presume it was designed this way because there was a drain in the center of the floor).

The entrance door and bathroom door of the room loudly squeaked ensuring other quests were disturbed. The building was generally poorly made (the door to the room had a gap where it didn't meet properly). Also the walls were thin, which would only be a bonus if you enjoy listening to other peoples nocturnal habits.

It was claimed that the linen and towels were changed twice a week, this was not the case. Don't leave your towel on the floor (subtle hint) as there were removed and not returned.

Most rooms overlook the swimming pool, but there is a constant hum of the kitchen equipment spoiling the peace. The swimming pool is Ok, but it could not really be described as child friendly in terms of safety. The pool side bar never opened, despite opening hours being advertised.

It is certainly not not worth paying half board, as the food can be described as average to terrible. The same limited breakfast daily (bread, cheese, jam, ham, cereal, fake orange juice, coffee - that's your choice) guests often brought their own fruit to breakfast to make up for the bland feed. The occasional evening meal was OK, but mostly limited, deserts were terrible - being of a single piece of fruit on a plate (i.e. a banana, an apple or a pear if you are lucky).

And finally a comment has to be made about the staff, who made several fundamental mistakes during my stay. Simple things like not offering drinks with food, and when offered forgetting to bring the order. Holding food items with their grubby hands when serving to stop them falling on the floor. Failing to offer to help with luggage when arriving and departing. And lastly several (but not all) of them moping around looking miserable and generally being unhelpful when asked.

In summary - don't go its rubbish...

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank eeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2007

Gouvia Beach Hotel is a very basic place. I had a single fo 40 euros. A double was 60. You get a small TV, a balcony, and air-con. The bed is simple and saggy, but sleepable. The staff is friendly. So, all in all, if you just want a place to sleep - then this is a bargain. This hotel gets a lot of cheap package tourists. In America it would be a low-end motel. That's not necessarily bad, if you don't care for resorts. It is conveniently located on the strip in Gouvia, so you don't have to walk far for food, necessities, and vehicle rentals. The bars on the strip do get noisy at night, but quiet down around 1 or 2 when the action moves to Dassia. The hotel has a nice swimming pool, which is good because Gouvia beach is literally the worst beach on Corfu. The rooms are simple and basic. Then again, Corfu is so beautiful with wonderful sights and beaches (except Gouvia), why would you stay in the room? Gouvia itself isn't much, but it is closer to Corfu town than dragging all the way out to Dassia or the west coast. One bright spot in Gouvia - the Aglio and Olio Pizza & Pasta restaurant. Excellent thin-crust pizzas. Thin crust is a rarity in Greece.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PortsOfCall99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: kdo špatně spí a má rád klid, ať se vyvaruje pokoje do ulice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouvia
0.3 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Molfetta Beach Hotel
Molfetta Beach Hotel
#10 of 17 in Gouvia
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popi Star
Popi Star
#12 of 17 in Gouvia
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Govino Bay Corfu
Govino Bay Corfu
#9 of 17 in Gouvia
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Debono
Art Hotel Debono
#1 of 17 in Gouvia
447 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gouvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gouvia Hotel

Address: Gouvia 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Price Range: £31 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gouvia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gouvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gouvia Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing