We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
23
36
36
12
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
36
36
12
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clean tidy hotel restaurant central location corfu town air conditioning travel agent lovely holiday min walk rooms are basic balcony plugs wardrobe euros
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2014 via mobile

Booked for two weeks paid for breakfast evening meal , first room smelt like a sewer. Breakfast a old boiled egg dry bread , moved to another room which had two single beds in a double room. Evening meal no choice at all. The waiter put the slop in front of you not saying a word . Then took it back without a word the manager was very ignorant . The only nice One was a young girl on reception who looked embarrassed. Even though we paid four food and hotel we left after three days went to sidari found a nice apartment . If we had stayed in that dump for two weeks we would never have gone back to Greece again. As it represented a dump , glad to get away from the gouvia hotel.

Date of stay: September 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
12  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2014

The hotel rooms are dated and basic, the bedroom was cleaned every day with fresh sheets every day but the bathroom was so small it was hard to fit into the shower. You get what you pay for and if you are out all day then it's ok. The breakfasts are very very basic with the same food served every day. Hotel staff are very warm and friendly with the hotel on the main street of the town. The food in the restaurant is very nice and varied. Overall it is a hotel that will not suit everybody but if you are looking for a cheap holiday in Corfu then the Hotel Gouvia is spot on.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014

The hotel accomodation is basic; the bedroom is OK but the the bathroom is very small. You get value for your money. Hotel staff and management are very helpful and friendly. Hotel is near the beach and the bus stop is at about 300 metres. The food in the restaurant is excellent and the menu offers a lot of variation.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Annie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for 14 days we left after 3 days .The rooms are singles with double beds the ground floor rooms have stink from the drains the is really awful when you go to their restrount you are not allowed pick from a menu thay just put some rubbish food in front of you without speaking thay are all so ignorant the manager being the worst. I've never made a complaint before but this hotel really is bad read the bad reviews thay really are telling the truth don't go there

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
6  Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouvia H, receptionist at Gouvia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2014

Hello,

hope you are doing well
i am responding to your review to thank you
because only from your complains we can improove our services.

we apologise for everything that dissapoint you .
you were with HB so the HB menu has nothing to do with the restaurant
the menue for the HB if fixed and always announced so if you wanted to change something you could just ask from the waitresses or at the reception.
All we ask from our clients is to inform us for anything they do not like and promise we alawys do our best.

thank you one more time
waiting for your reply

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I'll try and cover everything about this place as fairly as possible:

This hotel stay will entirely depend on you as a person and what you want from your holiday.

If you like modern fittings and mod cons, stay clear, you won't enjoy it here. The place was built in the 70s and I don't think it's changed since.

Personally, I've got no problems with it. A hotel for me is a base for your trip and you sleep and wash there. The WIFI is free in case you need that and it works very well.

The rooms are basic rooms with two beds, wardrobe and a mirror, very typical across Greece. There is air con in the rooms @€5 a night. It worked perfectly for us. The 1st floor balconies are long and spacious looking on to road, not sure about poolside. The bathrooms are TERRIBLE, I'll hold nothing back here, they're TINY. Ridicuoulusly so. But the shower was good and toilet flushed etc.

The hotel in General is clean, well kept, staff are good, small restaurant to the front is basic and average food.

If you're staying b&b the food is as follows: bread cut too thick, jams, boiled eggs, cheese, meat and tomatoes. Basic cereal selections and the worst tasting coffee, tea and oj going. We nipped bakers down road most days for big croissants and a latte.

Despite the downsides the place is just what we needed for our trip and is as basic as most budget Greece accommodations and if that's what you're after then it's good, if you want some luxury then it's not.

Some reviews have been unfair IMO and I've tried to be as impartial as possible

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank CraigS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews