We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel with friendly staff”
Review of Art Hotel Debono

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Hotel Debono
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great hotel with friendly staff”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

stayed in this hotel for a week bed and breakfast
got to say the double room was modern, spacious and clean
Breakfast was good with lots of variety
the hotel receptionists Helena & Carmella made us feel very welcome and gave us great tips on where to go and helped us hire a car
good central location only 10 mins to Corfu town and just off main route to other main resorts and places of interest
would definitely recommend to stay here and we'll be back ourselves
Leon & Haroulla

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonno1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    62
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
70
194
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just returned home from a lovely week staying at Art Hotel Debono in Gouvia. All week we felt very welcomed; all staff were extremely helpful and friendly and all conversed with us in brilliant English.
Our room was a junior suite which was very spacious for two people and all furniture was modern and had plenty of storage space. Every day it was cleaned to a very high standard. We were impressed with the added features such as the free use of the safe, air conditioning and fridge.
The pool was big and very clean and also had a nice Jacuzzi. There were plenty of sunbeds (with comfortable cushions) available all day, all with adjustable umbrellas. We especially enjoyed the service of Irene who worked at the pool bar and gave 110% at all times, such as handing out free bowls of crisps. The food was lovely and at a reasonable price. The only concern we had about the area was that our food was prepared in the same building as the pool toilets and the parting wall was open at the top.
Our package included only breakfast, although you can pay 12euros for an evening meal (we would recommend the Sunday BBQ). Breakfast consisted of a buffet with both hot and cold food. More recommendations – the apple & raisin pastries! The fried eggs were cooked on demand and the toasting machine was totally awesome! All food was fresh and hot food kept in heated and covered trays. Our favourite waitress was Sophia – she was very helpful and we enjoyed chatting to her.
The hotel itself was in an ideal location – the airport was about 15 minutes away, about 20euros in the taxi (the water park was a similar distance), and to eat in main Gouvia was a 5 minute walk. We thought the best restaurants were 9 Muses and Leon. The beach was a few minutes from the restaurants (be prepared for pebbles) and Corfu Town was 20 minutes on the bus which cost only 1.50euro. The only downside to the location was that the hotel was on a road with a lack of lighting and footpaths so walking down it at night is a little hazardous (the cars seem to like driving extremely close to you!).
All in all, a really fabulous hotel and a brilliant week. Thank you! We recommend it to all!
From a young couple

Room Tip: Try ringing the hotel directly to book your room as we found it was all booked up online but there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HazzaD333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Really great hotel. Room spacious and well appointed with a good sized balcony. Really nicely decorated and very clean. Fantastic pool area with lots of loungers and seats. Other communal areas inside the hotel were great too. Everything seemed of really good quality. Buffet breakfast offered a lot of choice (hot and cold) although things did run out. However, the friendly staff were always happy to replenish when asked.
All the other staff were lovely too. It was my partner's birthday during our stay and although we hadn't mentioned this they had obvioulsy picked it up from his registration card. They left a gargeous cake in the fridge for us. A really lovely gesture.
The walk from the hotel into town is only about 5 minutes along a reasonably busy road but it is lit at night so it's really not a major issue. Gouvia itself is quite small but enough there in terms of restaurants and bars. The 9 Muses restaurant was fantastic. Amazing food. Don't bother with the Vergina unless you like bad service and mediocre food. Should have known to walk away when we were greeted with a "nice to see you, to see you nice" and a "lovely jubbly" from the Greek waiter as we walked in!!
If you are in Corfu town in the evening go to the open air bar on the top floor of the Cavaleiri Hotel. Fastastic views over the fort and the sea as well as the mountains to the north of the island. A real find.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Redlandgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

What a fantastic hotel, the hotel is elegant and the staff wonderful. The hotel is spotless and has an air of class and relaxation and yet the children are made wonderful welcome. The pool is beautiful and water gushes from Greek urns and gives feel of decadence!
I have hade a wonderful stay and also our daughter and grand children stayed. This hotel is fantastic, if you are coming to corfu this is a must!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KentUkJules316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynedale, Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have just returned from a week's stay at this delightful hotel. It has been recently refurbished, we booked B&B terms ( but you can book half board) and stayed in one of the junior suites at the rear of the hotel on a special tripadvisor deal. Our room also had a view of the pool and Mount Pantokrator, well sort of, on a clear day. The room and the fittings were definitely up to the luxury standard this hotel is aspiring too, air conditioned, which was temperature controlled, maid service every day, fresh towels every second day. Beautifully cleaned rooms and bathrooms.
We are not great fans of self service breakfast and it was a bit quirky, but the greek omelettes are made fresh and are highly recommended, you must request them though. Coffee out of a machine and watered down orange juice a definite minus point though.
Staff were really smiley and helpful, Caramella at reception was great, a fountain of knowledge with pretty decent English too.
Let's not forget the lovely gardens with a great pool and infinity jacuzzi, be careful when stepping up into the jacuzzi area, it really could do with an extra step in and out as well as a hand rail. The Debono family have something special here, lets hope it can maintain the very high standards it has set itself

Room Tip: The walk from the hotel to Gouvia town for meals etc takes about 10-15 mins it is not well lit, so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank steeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My partner and I have just completed our one-week stay at the Art Hotel Debono.
Our double room was spacious, clean and had a lovely balcony view overlooking the gorgeous pool. The pool itself was one of the hotel's greatest attributes; it was large, clean and well-kept, surrounded by lots of comfy sunbeds.
We paid for breakfasts and dinners in advance and the food was of high quality. Served as a buffet, there was a wide variety of foods to choose from and staff were very friendly and welcoming.
The only minor downside of this hotel was the location. While there are a number of lovely beaches within walking distance of the hotel, Corfu Centre was five miles away. Nevertheless, there are a lot of nice bars and restaurants in close proximity to the hotel.
Overall our stay was very enjoyable and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hera89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Arrived very late at night.Welcome was very good as we were very tired and needed some sleep.First impressions were a lovely modern hotel with lots of character set in its own lush ground's. Rooms very modern,clean and comfortable however the mattress was a little to firm for our tastes,but never mind.
The staff and management very helpful and friendly. Arranged car hire and taxis for us and gave us lots of local info.
We are very happy to recommended this hotel to fellow travelers

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Onedogonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouvia
0.9 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
13.0 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
4.3 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Debono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Debono

Property: Art Hotel Debono
Address: Gouvia- Corfu, Gouvia 491 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gouvia
#2 Family Hotel in Gouvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Debono 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel Debono has undergone complete renovation to create a more luxurious and stylish standard for 2012. The transformation has taken place throughout the hotel and been finished to an extremely high quality.With an enviable location in the northern region of Corfu, the hotel is located in Gouvia. It sits in 32 acres of private land filled with olive and palm trees that are surrounded by luscious gardens. Whilst the private location gives peace and serenity, Art Hotel Debono is ideally placed within walking distance of nearby central Gouvia, where you can find abundance of bars, restaurants, entertainment, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel Debono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debono Hotel Gouvia
Art Hotel Debono Corfu/Gouvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing