We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room for improvement but otherwise superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I was thinking about this review towards the end of our recent 11-night stay at this hotel and wondering just where to pitch my rating. I really wanted to give the place a 5-star ranking as so much of the hotel is really very, very good and the staff are superb. But there are just a few too many places where they could do with improving things a little and take themselves to another level.
Firstly, the basics. Our room (355 in a block just away from main hotel) had a fabulous view overlooking the sea and the bay. It was spacious and clean but very dated. The shower was a mixer tap type and barely fit for purpose and the hot water seemed to run out at peak times (late afternoon for instance). And how irritating is it only to have one key to the room. It meant that we had to consider the logistics every time one of us went in a different direction during the day in case they couldn't get back into the room. We didn't take too much notice of any of this until we used the courtesy room for showering and changing on our last day in the main block of the hotel. What a difference!! Some refurbishment is required sooner rather than later.
There are two main swimming pools - the smaller one is down towards to the beach and we found ourselves there on our first afternoon at the hotel. I'm well over 6 foot tall and couldn't touch the bottom of the pool for two thirds of it's length. It also struck me as a bit grubby and incessantly noisy in and around that pool. In contrast, the lagoon pool at the front of the hotel is much more child friendly but deep enough to swim in. It was clean, well maintained and relaxing. There are plenty of sunbeds and although you need to get down there for about 8am to get one poolside that's not too much of a hardship.
We don't have much to do with the animation teams these days but they seemed to work hard. We only ventured down to the Gouvina stage one night and we weren't impressed with the entertainment. They had a Fakir on stage that evening who's act included fire-eating (very impressive) and walking on/pressing his face on broken glass bottles (not very clever) particular with so many children in the audience. The hotel really need to ask themselves if this is appropriate for smaller guests!
I wasn't impressed with the man-made beach either. You could barely walk on it for the number of small stones mixed in with the sand.
There are a few other small niggles as well. What's with the paid-for Wi-Fi? I've got devices with 4G on so it didn't become an issue but this is the 21st century and Wi-Fi is almost a basic commodity these days. Come on guys. That ought to be free. The safe was a tad expensive at 3.50 Euro a night as well. That works out at £30 just to secure our passports and cash for our time in Corfu. OK, we didn't have to buy access to the safe but we didn't have a leg to stand on if we had lost anything.
It's a leap of faith going all inclusive to any hotel for the first time. It's one worth taking at the Corcyra Beach. The food is as good as anywhere we've ever been. It is consistently of a high standard and is varied with plenty of choice. They have a number of themed evenings in the main restaurant during the week (70's night; Italian; Greek for instance). Lunch is a bit more basic but more than adequate and there's plenty on offer for breakfast. There's also Thai restaurant on site which you can visit up to 3 times a week subject to availability. I enjoyed it but my family weren't so keen on that and we only went the once.
I've got to make special mention of the reception and dining room staff who made a fuss of my daughter on her 16th birthday which fell smack in the middle of our stay. They made a cake for her, decorated it for her and laid the table nicely with a bottle of champagne on hand, all free of charge. Reception had a note of her birthday without my prompting which was really impressive. Thank you all for making her birthday which was otherwise ruined by her thoughtless parents taking her away from all her friends in England.
Gouvia itself is a pleasant little town. It's an easy walk to the bars, restaurants and shops and we wandered down there a few times during our holiday.
Despite the small niggles this is was a great break and a good hotel in a lovely setting. I'd recommend.

Room Tip: Don't fixate on the Bungalows that adorn the grounds. As long as you get a sea view room and ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Paul_Woodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we thank you for choosing to stay at the Louis Corcyra Beach and for writing such a detailed review.

It is wonderful to hear that you greatly appreciated our attentive and friendly staff, as well as our delicious and varied cuisine. As for the chargeable wifi and safe, we took the decision of excluding these fees from the room rate so as not to charge guests who might not want to use these services. It saddens us to hear that the room and the animation did not meet your expectations, and rest assured that we will take your valuable suggestions into account. We hope you will give Louis Hotels another chance to provide you with the esteemed service we are known for. We have many other hotels in Greece and Cyprus, and perhaps the Louis Imperial Beach (Cyprus) or the Louis Zante Beach (Zakynthos) will better meet your expectations.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in one of our Louis Hotels.

Truly yours,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,116 - 1,122 of 2,370 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just had a week here with all the family (6 in total) on an 'all inclusive' basis. We had 2 rooms in the newer two storey block, which were spacious, clean and pretty much on a par with what you would expect. Most important - the air con was spot on!! Our view wasn't up to much, as we faced inland over a tennis court and car park, but we never worry about the view - it's the hotel that counts.

Here the Corcyra Beach scored well, food was plentiful, good quality and variable with themed menus daily - as a further temptation, they have an Asian Buffet (pre booking recommended) that offers a little more peace and tranquillity away from the the busy hub of the main dinning area. Here you get a feeling for the size of the place, as they cannot cope with large numbers of diners wanting to eat outside on the copious veranda, overlooking the bay, so some queuing at busy times is annoying. And herein lies the biggest issue I had with the place - it is probably too big, though admittedly, size on this scale allows for additional entertainment that smaller venues would not be able to afford.

Pulling your own pints (Zorbas lager!) is a laugh and ripping through the cocktail list certainly throws up some interesting drinks - no problem with that side of the place either.

The kids club (which we didn't use) kept the young 'uns busy and tired them out so there was virtually no marauding packs of kids to upset us big 'uns late at night.

Water sports are provided by an 'add on' company (good, but not cheap) and the 'beach' is just a strip, but swimming is Ok.

The pools were clean and sunloungers plentiful, though there was just a tinest hint of a "worn out" look around the lagoon pool and playgrounds - and the advertised jacuzzi doesn't exist and the swim up bar was not in use (always one of my favourite ad ons!)

Staff were polite, responsive and everywhere - can't really fault them at all.

For families - outstanding! - for couples?, well, a walk into Gouvia (2 minutes away) displays all the subtlety of Benidorm - would you go for a drink in "The Vergina"? So the place is a bit off the beaten track if you want some culture, and local car hire firms must be trying, single handedly, to re-float the Greek Economy on their own with the prices we paid - though that is not the Hotels issue, of course.

All in all, good value, well run, plenty of facilities, clean and enjoyable - on the down side it is very big and a little impersonal, just a tad worn in places and lacks a waiter service facility - even if it meant a cover charge. I would have scored 3.75/5.00 and called it pretty good but Tripadvisor won't let me!

Room Tip: West facing gets the view over the bay, but most rooms are designed to look west anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank BomberCommand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,

Let us thank you for holidaying at the Louis Corcyra Beach and for taking the time to share your experience online.

We are delighted to read that you deeply enjoyed our well-designed and comfortable rooms, as well as our wide range of tasty dishes. It is also very pleasing to know that you favored the attentive work of our dedicated service team. We also thank you for sharing your impressions in regards to the restaurant, we will certainly take your valuable opinion into account for future improvements.

We sincerely look forward to receiving you as a guest once more at the Louis Corcyra Beach.

Yours faithfully,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked an 11 day all inclusive holiday and were given a bungalow overlooking the beach which had a spectacular view. The room was well designed with closing glass doors between the front and back of the room to give privacy to parents from the twin beds for the children. The rooms are cleaned and maintained well. It is the first time we have had quiet air conditioning so we had a sounds night's sleep every night. The only negative to our bungalow was that on two occasions we came back from the pool to find people sunbathing virtually on our veranda! Considering there are several grassy areas it was quite intrusive and disconcerting for people to be sunbathing so close to our private space.
With regards to the food, there was plenty of selection. Catering for a huge amount of people sometimes shows as food can run out before the staff get to refill. I did feel claustrophobic at meal times as it was a bit like a cattle market with people mingling around in a dazed state!
The entertainment team were really good. The mini discos start at 8.45pm which is a little late for little ones and the main show starts at 9.30pm which is also late and sometimes not appropriate for the younger ones eg walking on glass - hard to explain that one. For teenagers there is plenty of sports events so there were no bored teenagers around. The pool bar however was understaffed in the day and especially at night time making the service slow. I queued for 20 mins one night - felt like we were back home. In contrast the beach bar staff were fab and provided an excellent friendly service.
The pool set up has it's limits. The Gouvino pool where most of the action happens is 1.2 to 2.8m deep which makes it unsuitable for young children and water polo limits the shallow end use of the pool by 2hrs a day. There is a snooker table sized 0.4m pool for infants but not suitable for 4+ leaving an ages gap limit. In comes the lagoon pool which is large and has a gradual depth to 1.4m - great for children. However, the pool only has sunbeds around 30% of the circumference which are 'reserved' when the sparrows wake up so you can't get a sunbed and the landscaping of the area is such that if you're not on the front row you can't see the pool. On the plus side though there are enough sunbeds to go round although the good position beds are reserved with towels all over the resort.
While we were there, the main pool was in a real state as the treatment plant wasn't working. This led to an unpleasant swimming experience as you couldn't see your hands through the water and there was a slick of suntan lotion in the water staining our swimwear! Heaven knows what the water quality was but this only became evident on our last when it was repaired and the water was restored to normal!
Last thing was the lack of service on check out. We had requested a late check out which was at an extortionate cost of €70, but worth it to have a smooth departure to which we were told we couldn't have our room but could move to another bungalow for the charge not quite the point! So we opted for the courtesy room where there were 3 available with half hour slots. This was poorly managed and considering there were 12 flights leaving for the uk after check out time - the availability of courtesy rooms is sadly lacking. All the fuss spoilt our last day and left a bitter taste despite a good holiday on balance.
I would definitely say get a bungalow. It is a good resort but definitely geared for families and is very very busy in high season at mealtimes. Certainly not ideal for those wanting a quiet location.

Room Tip: Bungalows a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear guest,

Let us thank you for staying at the Louis Corcyra Beach and for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your experience.

We are glad to know that you deeply enjoyed our comfortable rooms, our dynamic animation team as well as our lovely staff. We also thank you for bringing your observations in regards to the food and the pool bar to our attention, we will take your valuable feedbacks into account for future improvements. We also apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the swimming pool. This was an unfortunate and unusual situation and we will do our utmost to prevent it from happening again.

In spite of these small negatives, we are relieved to see that you had a pleasant time with us, and we hope to welcome you again soon at the Louis Corcyra Beach.

Best regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We travelled on 04.08.14 - 15.08.14 to this hotel as an all inclusive package holiday with First Choice. My husband and I travelled with our 9 year old and 6 year old. The staff at the hotel worked extremely hard, were very friendly and I could not fault them. The room was modern and cleaned everyday, no complaints. We asked reception for extra pillows and they were in our room later that day.
Food was of a good quality and there was ample choice. There was food available practically all day and the children adored the ice cream.
Swimming pools were great and we spent nearly most of our time between the two pools. I would agree with the other reviews that the placing of towels on sun beds early was very common and unless you did the same, you were very unlikely to get a sunbed or any shade. The lagoon pool area was the worst for this. This seems to be a common problem at most resorts.
Down at the jetty on the beach is the watersports company and Spiros's boat Dimitris (both independent of the hotel). We did para-sending with the children which was fantastic. We also took two boat trips with Spiros and I would highly recommend his trips. He shared local knowledge and let children on the boat have a go at steering the boat. The children loved jumping from his boat to explore the cave. We also took the evening boat trip to Corfu town. His trips were cheaper than holiday company excursions.
We went for a day at Aqualand water park. Fantastic fun and well worth the trip. Taxi was 20 euros each way. Buy tickets for waterpark from your rep as we avoided the queue to buy tickets on arrival there by doing it this way.
Would recommend this hotel as it was a wonderful holiday. The views are stunning.

Room Tip: We had room 604 in main building. Low level floor with sea view. Good location for all amenities. Fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jo_P231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,

We dearly thank you for holidaying at the Louis Corcyra Beach and for writing such an adorable review about your stay.

We are thrilled to hear that you had an unforgettable holidat at our stunning hotel. We are also glad to know that you favored the attentive services provided by our efficient staff, the comfort of our well-designed rooms as well as the quality of our fresh cuisine. As for the sun beds, we are currently working on this matter to try and find an appropriate solution.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Louis Corcyra Beach.

Best wishes,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just spent a very nice week at the Corcyra Beach with my wife and 4 year old daughter.

Our room was on the second floor of the main hotel building with a lovely view of the bay overlooking Gouvia and out towards Albania and Greece (on a clear day!). Even though it was clear the room had been refurbished some time recently, it was very clean and comfortable.

Food was very good around the hotel. The main restaurant had plenty of choice, good kids counter and though it was extremely busy, you never felt overcrowded.

Plenty of typical amenities as we'd expected, and plenty going on. Entertainment and Animation each night was reasonable.
Beach a little restricted in space, but plenty of room around the swimming pools located near the beach and near to the main hotel building.

Lovely!

Room Tip: go for a room away from the main building - the main building was very nice, but I get the impressio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lee_andy1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,

Let us thank you for choosing to spend your holiday at the Louis Corcyra Beach and for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

It is wonderful to know that our incredible property did not fail to impress you with its stunning views, its well-designed rooms along with its supreme cleanliness. It is also delightful to read that you deeply enjoyed the quality of our wide range of dishes.

We sincerely look forward to receiving you as a guest once more at the Louis Corcyra Beach.

Warmest regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

we returned home today from this hotel where we stayed for a week after a cruise. We would have rather stayed on the cruise for another week.We must have had the worst 2 rooms in the hotel ( 473/ 475) and asked to change as soon as we arrived but were told there were no other rooms available next to each other ( as we had requested when booking as our children were with us aged 14 and 25- disabled) We found this hotel very clean with lovely staff and the public areas are very nice. However, the dining room is far too busy and was like a school canteen. The food improved during the week but we did eat out 4 of the 7 nights. This hotel is perfect for young families and attracts all nationalities. It has stunning views if you are lucky enough to be able to see them. Most had pool or sea view, we had a tree view and had to keep the curtains closed at all times as everyone passing could see in! The room was kept very clean but had only the patio doors for light, no window in the bathroom ( no extractor fan either) The air con was a very noisy unit stuck high on the wall and kept us freezing when on during the night or too hot when switched off. We hardly slept all week. Bathroom was dire too with the shower curtain too short over the bath which left the floor soaking and dangerous. This hotel tries hard but, for us, was a huge disappointment and has put us off All Inclusive holidays, especially in August! I am very upset to think we paid so much for our holiday, booking up 8 months ahead to be given the rooms we were allocated. To think of those who booked up last week and were given the refurbished, comfortable rooms for a fraction of the price. This was our first "Louis" hotel but I doubt we would try another. The entertainment was poor for our children so we had to go out every night and this all adds to the cost.
Just to be clear, this hotel is a nice hotel for families with younger children but that is what put us off. The brochure info needs to be updated far earlier than the room updates are scheduled for refurbishment. It is too late for us. We feel very disappointed and I did say to the receptionist that the rooms we were given bared no resemblance to what we thought we were buying when booking the holiday and after checking the website also the Thompson brochure.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 471 - 475 as I suspect they are all the same and NOT good. At least 475 has a bathroom w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Kath0955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we thank you for choosing to spend your holiday at the Louis Corcyra Beach and for taking the time to share your experience with the online community.

It is very pleasing to know that you appreciated our supreme cleanliness along with our lovely staff. However, it saddens us to hear that our room did not meet your expectations. It is a shame that due to the high occupancy we were unable to accommodate your wish for a room change, and we truly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We do hope that you will give Louis Hotels another chance to provide you with the esteemed services we are known for, and we believe that the King Jason (Cyprus) would be better suited to your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in one of our Louis Hotels.

Yours sincerely,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Firstly, I would like to say that the staff at this hotel are fantastic, they work tirelessly to meet the needs of hotel guests. This is especially true for the animation team!

There are only a couple of points I found worth mentioning in this review....

Rooms, I booked at the very last minute, 2 days before! I was not expecting anything grand as it was all that was left, the room met our needs, it was very clean and cleaned regularly to a high standard.
But.... There are no kettles in any rooms across the hotel! This was very disappointing for me an many of the other guests I spoke to. It seems trivial, but many people like me like to be able to make my morning coffee in the room first thing in the morning.

Entertainment, the entertainment staff work extremely hard (as previously mentioned) and it shows. but..... on some nights I got the impression that they could do with more support from the hotel management to ensure that the shows are actually entertaining! ( I don't know how limited the staff are financially) That said of the 7 nights we stayed, there were only 3 shows when we and many other guests left early. The rest of the nights where actually fantastic shows.

Overall we had a great holiday and wished we stayed 14 nights not 7!
If you don't mind a brief walk for your morning coffee this hotel is well worth a visit!

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Craiglwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for staying at the Louis Corcyra Beach and for sharing your experience online.

We are thrilled to see that your stay at our beautiful property was fantastic, and that you acknowledged the hard work of our amazing staff. We thank you for bringing your observations in regards to the kettle and the evening shows to our attention. We will certainly take your valuable comment into account in our continuous work for improvement.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back very soon at the Louis Corcyra Beach.

Best regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouvia
1.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
11.2 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grecotel Daphnila Bay Dassia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#2 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,441 reviews
11 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 372, Gouvia 491 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gouvia
#3 Family Hotel in Gouvia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gouvia
Price Range: £102 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shimmering views of the Mediterranean Sea, variety of dining options and a colored of activities await you at this beautiful, 4 star hotel in Corfu Island, Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel. Situated in Gouvia bay and surrounded by superb scented gardens this 4 star all inclusive hotel in Corfu is ideal for your summer holidays.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Stayforlong S.L., Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Louis Corcyra Beach
Louis Corcyra Beach Gouvia
Corcyra Beach
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel Corfu/Gouvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing