We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two weeks in real Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Hotel Corfu
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Spent two weeks with my wife in the most relaxed environment I have ever been to.The hotel is well maintained and located in a natural paradise.The swimming pool and sea view are amazing.The staff are all very friendly and made us feel at home.We are saving up to come again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller13628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2010

Stayed here for a relaxing break, found the lady hotel owner to be quite frosty. My partner did not come down to breakfast one morning so I wrapped up a peice of cake (& not even very nice cake at that) to take upstairs for him & was admonished for it! All I will say is that she put me in mind of a fearsome headmistress, and quite snobby too. She made me feel extremely uncomfortable. You should never talk down to your guests, it was quite obvious that my partner had not come to breakfast. The hotel pool area was lovely. The bathroom was very cramped with a cracked basin, had to sit on the loo at 45degree angle! Soap was very limited & only replaced when it got down to the last flake! VERY penny pinching. Lounge bar was very gloomy & unwelcoming. Breakfast not up to much had to pay for extras. Was cleared away very promptly, all in all was not made to feel very welcome. OK it was the last week of the season and that woman may have been tired of the general public by then, either that or she had a bed as uncomfortable as mine was & had got out of it the wrong side! I would only recommend this hotel if the bathrooms were refurbished + more cupboard space AND a different lady owner.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank swimmerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We went to this hotel after reading many positive reviews, of course not knowing anything about it's location (500 m away from the beach, over the highway with not working traffic lights) and not knowing about the rich animal life inside and outside of the hotel.

You will be delighted to see dead birds at your breakfast table and bird-nests all over, which I'm sure is not according to any normal hygene standards. In the morning you will wake up to the loud hotel-donkey.

Maybe some people enjoy these local specialties, but we think it is important that people are aware of what they order with this hotel and that better value can surely be found elsewere.

By the way, the breakfast is horrible.......

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy77Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

A lovely hotel in a quiet location within walking distance of Gouvia's bars and tavernas. The hillside location affords panoramic views and breakfast on the patio is idyllic looking out over the mountains and sea. Amanda the owner ( who is English) runs the hotel very efficiently along with her family and staff who are all extremely friendly and helpful and really make you feel at home. There's also Sparky the hotel's donkey who let's you know he's around with his morning "eeyore"!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie-liam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Travelled with Palmair from Bournemouth, which ensured good and convenient travel for us. Hotel is in reasonable condition and clean, though fairly basic. Mosquitos were lively in the region, and it was still quite hot so had the choice of paying for AirCon in the room or leaving the doors open. The mosies don't seem too purturbed by the repelent - a locally purchased killer spray of the room before we went out for the evening seemed the most effective. The Hotel Pool and Pool side bar are the best feature, with excellent and friendly bar staff who are chatty and efficient. Breakfast was a bit basic and limited in choice, and yogurts or cooked items were extra cost. You got to meet everyone if you had toast as the old domestic toaster took quite a while and was a conversation point with most other breakfast companions. There were quite a few other nationalities there at the time which also makes conversations more interesting, and good company was had for all round the poolside bar in the evening (for some reason the lounge bar was not in use and the pooleside bar stayed open until 1am. The ten minute walk down to Gouvier village was easy, walking back up gets you fit. Bus services on the main road at the bottom of the hill are frequent and convenient for most places on the north of the island, or into Corfu town (and cheap). You have to prepurchase tickets for some buses but the Hotel staff will tell you which services and where to get them (although we saw someone pay on the bus).
Gouvia has pleanty of restaurants, which are quite quiet by September (not busy - nearly all have music) and are very relaxed except for those which have Greek dancing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_n_JacquiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We visited in July 2009. our second visit to the hotel. Fantastic location.Once again every thing perfect nothing to much for the whole team. Very hot needed air con and fridge,air con switched on immediatly and fridge arrived next morning.Referbished bathrooms.
Cant say any more would not hesitate to return again

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Oldbritsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

This is as good as everybody says but the team that run the hotel should take the credit for what makes for a great experience. The lady who runs the whole thing (Amanda) is very professional but friendly as are her staff (daughter - Sarah), Monika and Mary on reception. The chambermaids are excellent and once again friendly. You can even make a friend out of the gardener but his English is limited. Breakfast is always fun, the pool area is good and you can always get a seat or sunbed. I also enjoyed perfect peace and tranquility sitting on my balcony to read. The shower is a little strange, you become wrapped in a continous curtain but I could live with that. The only problem I encountered at all was that I couldn't sleep with the air conditioning on, even though the units are pretty new, and the room was too stuffy just closed up, however I managed a reasonable compromise by leaving the window open with the curtain closed and a mosquito killer plugged in by the window. Mary will switch the air conditionig on or off without any fuss to make your stay as comfortable as it can be.

Corfu itself is a quirky place, mostly quite beautiful but with the occasional "war zone" (without the bullet holes). the next village up Kotalaki is a prime example. The marina is vitually devoid of visitors but it is a very pleasant place to spend some time. The local restaurants are a "mixed bag" as far as quality and service go. Two that are consistantly good are Caryatides and Aglio E Oglio the latter has some really good veal dishes which take a bit of finding on the menu, then ther is Spiti Prifti which is a short walk out of the village. The bakery opposite Poco Loco is very good and the owners friendly. Serano in Corfu town has super cakes and gateaux and is a must to visit. The only downside at all is smokers who it seems vitually chain smoke through any meal often ruining everybody elses in the process. Something needs to be done about it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ericBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouvia
1.3 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Saint Nicholas Hotel
Saint Nicholas Hotel
#4 of 17 in Gouvia
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Gouvia
330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Art Hotel Debono
Art Hotel Debono
#1 of 17 in Gouvia
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Molfetta Beach Hotel
Molfetta Beach Hotel
#10 of 17 in Gouvia
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Hotel Corfu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Hotel Corfu

Address: Gouvia, Gouvia 491 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gouvia
Price Range: £49 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Hotel Corfu 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Paradise Hotel Corfu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Gouvia
Paradise Hotel Corfu Gouvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing