We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent moderately priced self catering”
Review of Govino Bay Corfu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Govino Bay Corfu
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed here with our teenage son at the end of October 2013, which is the last week of the season in Corfu. We booked through Low Cost holidays and it was very reasonably priced

We had a duplex apartment with separate double bedroom and upstairs loft area - perfect for teenagers to have their own space. The apartment is well furnished and clean with nice views over Gouvia Bay which is almost like a lake. The kitchen equipment is basic, but fine for a 1 week holiday. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, with a couple of minor problems sorted out very quickly and efficiently. The pool is very clean and a decent size, though shuts at about 5 at this time of year.

The island has a surprisingly heavy mosquito population, but the a/c and mosquito coils kept most at bay.

The location of the resort is very good - easy access to the town, airport and beaches, though rather a long walk from the Gouvia night life - most of the nearby places were closed already for the year. We had a hire car and this proved a very good idea.

Overall, we would highly recommend this resort to families looking for good value for money self catering in Corfu.

Room Tip: well worth paying extra for a 2 bed apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DartmoorTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Took the five kids ,two in laws and four grand kids for eleven nights and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. The staff were ever helpful, polite and friendly as were the cleaning staff who cleaned the rooms almost daily (they even washed the pots up) The pool was clean and safe with a lifeguard in attendance from 09.00-17.00 and the gardens and grounds were kept immaculate. I would definitely recommend this as the perfect family holiday venue and will hopefully be shortly booking for next year. This is an independent review and I have no business or family ties with the complex or its associates.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Just came back from a one week vacation at Govino Bay. I went there through a time-share exchange. This complex is not a hotel, but "appartments to let", as the sign behind the door says. This is the answer to the complaints that I saw in a lot of reviews about the bathroom, as in Greece the appartments to let don 't have the obligation to have big bathrooms according to their category, as the hotels do. The complex is situated on the National Road which leads from the city of Corfu (Kerkyra for the Greeks) to Paleokastritsa, at the Gouvia village. It 's 8 km away from the city. It has several buildings with 4 or five appartments, each nice settled in a very nice garden with olive trees, palm trees etc and ends in a sea lake. The landscape is magnificent, the combination of green and the blue of the sea lake is very nice. The reception is open only 9:00 to 17:00 (and Saturday from 18:00-20:00) and then the security officer (!) is helping you with every matter, but he was very friendly. Security is night and day. I had an appartment of 65 sq.m., which had a large living room with 2 sofas and the kitchen, a loft upstairs with 2 beds and a bedroom with 2 beds united. The matresses are quite good, but the beds are too short. There was a microwave oven (with grill), 2 electric eyes for cooking (but the pot was much bigger!!!) and all the useful cooking utensils, glass and pottery. The refrigerator wasn 't fridging good, so it couldn 't stand a lot of things in it... The airconditioning was a DAIKIN, which was giving good aircooling, but it couln 't spread it good to the bedroom and the isolation of the roof wasn 't good, so the loft, although the aircon was there, was hot, as the materials were sending out the heat. There was plenty of space and in this place could sleep till 8 people. The bathroom was small, as I mentioned, and it had a bath tub. When we arrived there were shampoo and bath gel, but when they finished, they didn 't give you other(!!!) unless you asked for it, saying that normally they don 't give any other (but soap is obligatory from the Tourist Organisation!). This was rediculous for an enterprise, who changed towels every day, the sheets every 2 days and had every day cleaning except on Sunday!!! Normally these don 't exist in appartments to let and Govino has them all, probably because they have the time-shares! Anyway. In general the appartment was OK except the lack of the veranda, which is strange for appartments in Greece for the summer. I would surely like to have one veranda to sit outside (the smaller appartments downstairs had). Govino has a big pool (with a separate part for the very little kids), from 10:00 to 20:00. The water was very warm for temperatures of 35 degrees outside! There was no life guard on duty, but it was strange that the pool bar was closing before 16:00; they lose a lot of money by this way...! There is no sand on the beach and the sea water is not for the Greeks, as it is dirty; only people from central and northern Europe, who swim in lakes and rivers, would go to swim there (and very few did it). Swans and ducks swim there (this is true!). If you wand a nice beach, there are a lot after Dassia (next village) and I would recommend as a very good and with clean waters the one at Barbati as the best nearest one (Dassia and Ypsos were dirty, although a lot of people -and Greeks- swim there). Near Govino there are large supermarkets, where you 'll find everything you need. Govino has a mini market, but is as usually expensive (1 Euro the bottle of water of 1,5 Liter, when you buy 6 for 1,50 Euros or less at AB...). There is no restaurant in Govino, only a bar. The village of Gouvia has several tavernas, markets and all the typicals you 'll find in a touristic village. One serious problem at Govino is, if you have an appartment near the National Road (the ones beginning with the number 1) and you have the windows open, then you have the noise of the road in your appartment and you think you are in a city instead in nature. When the windows are closed (because of air cooling) you don 't hear it, but with open windows it 's a problem. Avoid the appartments near the road. From Govino you can tour the whole island and of course the city of Corfu, which is very nice to walk around. All in all we had a nice stay there and I would recommend it for being a base to tour around. If there weren 't the negative points I mentioned, I would surely put 5 instead of 4 that I 'm putting.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms starting form 1 which are near the National Road. Ask for rooms near the sea-lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ST64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We got there just after Easter and the saison had not really started therefore the village seemed like asleep but we still enjoyed the area with our 2 children! The apartment was very clean and we got new linen almost every day! All staff were very friendly ! The beach was not far and we are thinking to come back in Summer when there are more things to do! Nice location with good public transport (bus every 20minutes). Corfu town is only a few km away!

Room Tip: Go to the bar called Yummy yummy which is run by Dimitri and Cassandra! Lovely atmosphere with local...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed in these apartments for 3 nights , they were clean and spacious. We didn't use any other of the hotel facilities so can't comment.

We had breakfast at 'Yummy Yummy' each morning Kassandra and Domitri who run the restaurant very helpful and friendly. Continental breakfast and bacon toasties recommended .
Cas & Tony

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Situla25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Unfortunately we went to Corfu in October which is out of season, so lots of shops, restaurants, clubs, bars were closed! However with the economic climate as it is, you could actually see that many places had been closed for a long time, not just because it was end of season! Our apartment was clean, well equipped, spacious, there was an upstairs to it which sorted out the sleeping arrangements nicely. The bay was just 50 mtrs from us, the pool was about 70, both in view from our window. Reception staff were pleasant, but the shop and bar/restaurant were closed so I cant comment :o( The big supermarket is a good walk, but worth it . lots of choice, take a trolly bag if you can, you'll need it for water if nothing else! the garage over the road has a few bits and there is a delightful cake/bread shop down the street. a short walk takes you to Gouvia beach where there are bars and restaurants , if they're open! we ate in Bella Mama a few times as the food and reception were fab. Number 7 bus takes you to Corfu Town for 2Euros.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank alison1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The park is spacious and green, and the grass field by the bay is nice. The bay itself cannot be recommended: it smelled, and the water was anything but clear. However, there was a swimming pool nearby for a dip in clean water. Beware of the tiles around the pool though, many were broken or missing, and I hurt my foot quite badly. The apartment I had was downright awful! OK, it was spacious, but the decor was early eighties, with lots of (red) plastic, stains on the sofa, and a bathroom in desperate need of renovation. The airco probably also dates back to the eighties- it certainly wasn't up for the job. Couldn't get the temp to go below 26 degrees, even at night. Probably worst was that I did not have a balcony or terrace, even thought I had asked for one. So I couldn't sit outside at all.
Gouvia itself is nothing to write home about - little more than 1 long busy street filled with hotels, restaurants, bars, and souvenir shops. In fact, it seemed that there were too many restaurants for the # visitors, which is a plus since it means you'll always be able to get a decent table and good service. Tip: restaurant Leon (the avocado/crab starter is to die for!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouvia
0.2 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
6.1 mi away
Ariti Grand Hotel
Ariti Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kanoni
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Corfu Holiday Palace
0.4 mi away
Molfetta Beach Hotel
Molfetta Beach Hotel
#10 of 17 in Gouvia
143 reviews
11.3 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Govino Bay Corfu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Govino Bay Corfu

Address: Gouvia 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Price Range: £27 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Govino Bay Corfu 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Govino Bay Corfu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Govino Bay Corfu Gouvia
Govino Bay Corfu Hotel Gouvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing