We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome”
Review of Maltezos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maltezos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Shropshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were made very welcome on our arrival. We were only staying for one night and the room was clean, if a little dated. The bedding and towels were clean and fresh but the mattresses a little hard. The location is convenient for shops, tavernas and not far from Corfu town or the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    25
    11
    7
    9
See reviews for
20
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel in a great location.the owners spiros and lula are kind and friendly and are always on hand should you need anything,they will make you feel very welcome.its breakfast only but plenty of snacks etc available during the day at a good price.the swimming pool is clean and there is a small play area for children.the beach and main village is less than 5 mins. walk way and a supermarket near by.the rooms are clean with fridge aircon and tele.i would recommend this hotel fantastic value for money!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandofcorfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We didn't even get a chance to stay at this hotel. We booked our stay at this hotel via a travel agency who cooperated with travelmed. When we arrived at 4.30 in the morning, we were turned down due to a conflict between travelmed and the hotel. Maltezos claimed travelmed did not pay them properly. Because of this we were told we would have to pay Maltezos directly in addition to what we had payed the travel agency. We don't have much money so paying double was not an option. Most of our conversation with the owner revolved around how awful the situation was for him. He seemed not to care about the fact that we could sort it out in the morning or that our insurance would cover it. After a very unpleasant conversation we opted to leave and find a different hotel. While we understand his position in the conflict with travelmed it had little to do with us. We had received no advance notice that he didn't accept our reservation and he did not seem to be bothered by putting a young couple on the street in the middle of the night with nowhere to go.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ingvill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gouvia hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This is a little gem of a hotel right in the centre of gouvia but away from the noise. A traditional family run hotel with oodles of greek charm and plenty of hospitality. The owners Spiro and Lula (along with their dog Bobo!) were the most friendly, genuine and helpful hotel owners we have ever come across and couldn't do enough to make our stay more comfortable or entertaining.

The hotel was clean and the pool was large, cool and inviting! The hotel is in a good central location which facilitates easy access to anywhere on the island and is great value for money.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoG880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Looks friendly, but the owner cares the MONEY only, if he gets a visitor for a longer time you are thrown out.
Irresponsible, grasping and dishonest place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 14travelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

If somebody is not rich in order to afford a 5 star luxury hotel, than this small,cozy hotel is perfect .
LOCATION
First of all is located in the centre of the island. 7km from the old town, 8km from the airport, 5km from the port. We had an easy access to all "hot spots" of the island after the managers suggestions. Just 20m far from the entrance of the hotel is the bus station. We had a car and we parked it at the parking area of the hotel.
STUFF
SPIROS is the manager og the hotel and LULA his wife. Both of them are very friendly persons and tried to help us and make us feel very comfortable. Is a family run hotel, so the tried to show that.
ROOM
We stayed in triple room, which was not the bigger i have ever stayed but the size was adequate. Private bathroom, pretty small but with a nice balcony with a pool view. Room's furnitures are pretty old, but in general the room was nice designed, frsh painted walls with nice pictures on the walls. It was also a a fridge and an air condition which was really helpful cause it was really warm.
CLEANLINESS
Very clean room, they changed sheets every two days, and they provided us clean towels every day. CLEANLINESS WAS "A" rated.
FACILITIES
Lovely swimming pool, bar and they served snacks .WIFI.
BREAKFAST
It was not rich, but not bad. We had it just next to the swimming pool, and that was something for a good day starter. I loved the cake and the bread with jam

Finally i would like to add, that some rooms were renovated and the manager had said that the rest of the rooms was planned also.

I definetily recommend to anyone and i am sure its my first option in case i travel to Corfu again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank thodora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saloniki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I big smile wellcomed us and this was the best that had happened in our 4 day stay. First disgusting fact was the not cleaned toilet cover. Stuff was called and cleaned it. Going out at the balcony I faced the pool full of green stagnant water that probably was not cleaned form the previous year . The manager stopped smiling to me any more and told me that economically was unprofitable to clean the pool only for Easter period, It will be cleaned later before summer arrives. Room was just ok on size but furnitures were quite old. Breakfast was quite poor and asking the manager again he replied that was ok for a 2 star hotel, I had to buy food from the market to have an acceptable breakfast. Children played once in the small playground which also was very old and not so safe equipped.
I never try lunch or supper since the hole atmosphere was not pleasant, even outside there was some chair with table in front of the dirty water pool. From the other side chairs and tables were by the entrance which was always was full of parked cars.
Tree times I tried to connect to the wi-fi internet but it was not successful.
It's really shame.
Hotel location thought was quite convenient to reach the city in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeILV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gouvia hotels
0.4 mi away
Paradise Hotel Corfu
Paradise Hotel Corfu
#5 of 17 in Gouvia
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Molfetta Beach Hotel
Molfetta Beach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Gouvia
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#6 of 17 in Gouvia
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Govino Bay Corfu
Govino Bay Corfu
#10 of 17 in Gouvia
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Popi Star
Popi Star
#13 of 17 in Gouvia
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maltezos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maltezos Hotel

Property: Maltezos Hotel
Address: Gouvia, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Maltezos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maltezos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maltezos Hotel Corfu/Gouvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing