We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay, very clean going back next year” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maltezos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maltezos Hotel
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, very clean going back next year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Myself and my husband stayed here in Sept, having stayed in Dassia this made a nice change. The owner Spiro and his wife Lola made our stay very welcoming. Our room was very basic, but very clean indeed. We had clean sheets and clean towels everyday. The pool was immaculate, we actually had the whole pool to ouselves at most of the time, also the snack bar which serves the basic Pizzas, toasted sandwiches and hamburgers were very good.. As my sister lives in Corfu we found it a very good base, and Spiro made all of our family welcome. The only thing I would say rooms good do with a little updating, Spiro showed us the rooms that have been updated and they looked great. a VERY GOOD HOLIDAY, we will be back SPIRO next year. John and Anita xxxx

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    25
    10
    7
    9
See reviews for
19
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

Throughout Greece we have now stayed at 11 hotels/vacation rentals. Just to give you an idea what type of travellers we are, at home in North America we are Homewood Suites, Hampton Inn type travellers, so we don’t expect fancy, but we do expect clean.

We travelled here with no reservations, something we never do, but once we arrived in Corfu our greek family who was travelling with us picked this place.

We paid 60E for a quad room (a triple with a cot). Doubles were 40 E.
Overall I rate this a good value as most of the quad rooms we have stayed at in Greece are 70 to 120 Euros.

This price included a breakfast which consisted of tea, coffee, milk and orange-ade. fresh bread, toast crackers, ham, cheese, salami, butter, honey and jams, as well as, 2 types of cake loafs.

Our quad room was room number 5.
On our last night we had to stay in 2 doubles, Rooms 1 and 7.

The hotel has 2 floors and on the bottom floor rooms 1-5 are on the quiet side of the hotel.
Rooms 6-10 are on the terrace side, so if you choose to sit on your balcony or choose to have your doors wide open you’ll be right in front of the terrace and in everyone’s view.

TIP: If you don’t like noise avoid room 1. It is right under the staircase and you can hear the click clacking of shoes all day and evening.

The double rooms are tiny....probably the smallest rooms we have stayed in in Greece, smaller than a cruiseship room which are about 90 square feet. These rooms had a tiny pan type shower surrounded by the usual frisky shower curtain. The bathroom as a whole was the size of a broom closet.

Our quad room was a bit bigger. The room had 3 single beds and an extra cot provided which was comfortable. It had 2 mattresses, which is nice for a cot.
The bathroom was a fair size but was very narrow, not a problem normally, but with four in a room it was hard to change our clothing in. It just got really dirty quickly, wet everywhere and the TP bin was always in the way. It does however have a nice big shower. With teens the triple/quad room was just too small for us, but I think it would be adequate for a family with small children.

TIP: If you are two people and like more space and a nice big shower pay the extra for the triple quad room.

The room decor in the quad room was very depressing. We noticed the doubles had more character to them.

Cleanliness:

My husband and I disagreed on the cleanliness. I thought it was fairly clean but he took the first shower and noticed alot of hair...so he assumed it had not been cleaned very thoroughly.
Every two days new sheets are put on the bed, new towels given, and the floor was mopped. We didn’t know about the towel rule and my husband asked for towels on the next day and was rudely refused....which was my only issue with the hotel. I can understand the routine but I think when a customer asks for fresh towels they could provide them. I would also suggest they add extra towel hooks in the bathroom and add a little note about “the rule”.

Each balcony had a little rack to hang laundry outside on.

The hotel had free wifi but we had a hard time getting a connection in room 5. No problems anywhere else.

Our quad room had a little fridge and one of our two double rooms had a fridge...so confirm this, if important to you.

Overall the property is quite nice. There are lots of places to sit inside and out...also a family type bar, which had a few people in at night. It has a pool table, tv for watching soccer games and such, and a nice pool to swim in with quite a few sunbeds.

The owner is a very friendly nice man. Came and shook our hands when we left. However, when I tried to pay with my credit card....which he said was quite possible....he was so dramatic about how hard it would be, in a friendly way....that we ended up paying cash. Not sure what all that was about.

There is a small hotel dog that likes to interact with the guests.

There was a bus stop right by the hotel. We noticed the whole island seemed to have good bus service. Driving to the old town took about 10-15 minutes and then another 30 mins to find parking.

The area around the hotel is very nice, in an area called Gouvia. If you walk a few hundred feet there is a whole street full of restaurants with it’s own little nightlife. There is suppose to be a beach nearby but we never got around to it.

Overall I rate this a good value for the price. Personally we wouldn’t stay here again not because it was bad but because we travel with teens and need more space. I find the doubles too small to stay in for more than one night or two. I also personally don’t find this particularly area of Corfu the most appealing.......but I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to someone on a stricter budget who is looking for a comfortable friendly budget place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpenmicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

We stayed at this lovely hotel in July as we were going to a Greek wedding and it couldn't have been more perfect. We booked this hotel even though there weren't any reviews at the time and we loved it so much we wanted to make sure we put this review on so other people will go there. The location is great and there are lots of bars and tavernas nearby. The hotel is really clean and although the rooms are quite small, they have everything you need. The balcony was lovely and the pool gorgeous and very clean.
The owners really make sure you have a great stay so we couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshgirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston. England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

Well, what a surprise...! Booked this lovely little hotel at the same time as our Easyjet flight on the same website. We just wanted something cheap and cheerful for a short break in Corfu, and we wanted a fairly central location for exploring the island. This hotel is only about 8 miles from the airport, it's just a 20 minute taxi journey or you can catch the bus which stops very close to the hotel.
The hotel is rated as 2*, we were absolutely delighted with it. It's a family run hotel with Spyros and Lula in charge and their adorable little dog 'Booboo' looking after security..!
We had a twin bedded room with an en-suite. The room was small but more than adequate for what we needed. It was very clean, the only critisism would be that it needs a bit of an update... lots of dark wood and the tiling in the en-suite is a bit old fashioned, but hey... it was great for us and very reasonably priced. Our balcony was smashing, just big enough for a couple of chairs and a table but more than enough room. There is a clothes rack for wet washing.
The pool is fantastic and very well maintained by Spyros. The pool area has a bar and sunbeds with an area to eat outside. Lula makes delicious snacks on request.
Outside the front of the hotel is plenty of parking space and the beach and centre of Gouvia is only a 5 minute walk away.
We hired a car and went all over the island over 4 days. Spyros was very helpful with advice about places to visit. We will definitely go there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beula46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gouvia hotels
0.1 mi away
Molfetta Beach Hotel
Molfetta Beach Hotel
#7 of 17 in Gouvia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saint Nicholas Hotel
Saint Nicholas Hotel
#4 of 17 in Gouvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Popi Star
Popi Star
#15 of 17 in Gouvia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Govino Bay Corfu
Govino Bay Corfu
#10 of 17 in Gouvia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iliada Beach Hotel
Iliada Beach Hotel
#5 of 17 in Gouvia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Art Hotel Debono
Art Hotel Debono
#1 of 17 in Gouvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maltezos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maltezos Hotel

Property: Maltezos Hotel
Address: Gouvia, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Gouvia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Gouvia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Maltezos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and LoveHolidays so you can book your Maltezos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maltezos Hotel Corfu/Gouvia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing