We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel as a building is good, but service is terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Messina Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalo Nero
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We've been travelling in Greece for 14 days and stayed in this hotel for all the time. We had wonderful huge room - studio on the first floor with beautiful garden view, small kitchen. To be honest, the kitchen was great idea, cause we've travelled with little kid.Sea is very close to the hotel and it's just amazing, water is perfect. The beach almost empty, especially in the morning. There is no sand and pebbles. And the beach is not so clean because it's wild. We didn't spend so much time near a pool, so can't say anything about. A small market is across the street. Overall is not bad place to spend a vacation. The nature is devine there.

But the hotel service is terrible. No facilities for drying clothes in the room, so even your swimsuit hang nowhere. Towels were with holes and stank, linens looked as if it were sleeping.
Our room had been close to the road so we could listen to all conversations, greek greetings to each other and car horns sounds. Breakfast and dinner were fine but could be better, restaurant service was not so good, but waiters were friendly and smily.

Room Tip: Rooms close to parking are quieter
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kvasolya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Messina Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had 7 nights at the hotel and everything was wonderful!
Definitely recommended. The beach was ok, full of turtle eggs you need to be careful not to brake them. If you have a car you can trip arround about 50km to see other famous beaches

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Room very very poor.. not as good and friendly as seen on hotel's site...
Foam was growing up from a Whole in the bathroom !!! Bikes are for rent (10EUR) service people are not so polite ! Everything you need and you ask they try to ask Money !!! All is with charge.. choose other near hotel.

Room Tip: Batter seaside view rooms
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank theglobetrotter111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

above all the room was very big , but needs to be renovated. the hotel located by seaside and the decoration is like you are in the mountain , the bathroom ,the small kitchen and linen are very old.
the tv also old,small, without any basic channels
the food was very greasy.
above all , the staff was very frendly .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fotis_Veronis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have visited this nice hotel on the most difficult summer period of mid August and we really had a very nice time. The trip from Athens is superb and the new high way makes destination easy to reach within 2,5 hours. More than excellent food in quality and taste, even when few might say that quantity was not always enough on the relevant buffet desks. Very friendly professional people satisfy every request and all types of rooms are very spacious. Frequent live music nights were carefully organized by the pool. Huge parking space and location right at the beach front. Unfortunately the seaside was very unfriendly with waves and rocks, thus making most people to drive far from Kalo Nero (30-45 min) to enjoy the sandy dream. The hotel is indeed very close to the beautiful city of Kyparissia. Standard swimming pool facilities with difficult shower area (one floor below with lots of slippery stairs). No playground, despite the fact that there is plenty or unused area close to the dedicated parking space, make parents in difficult hours to seek external areas (like the recreation place called "Pissina" or the public playground at Kalo Nero village). if you manage to get a half-board offer below 100/night (from any vacation agent) value for money is secure and you only need to arrive with the right positive mood. Would we revisit? Difficult question, but there are good chances

Room Tip: even the standard room is very spacious (35m2) and small families can save budget/night - if you rea...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here in August for almost two weeks. The hotel was in a very good position in Kalo Nero and was well laid out. The room was comfortable, large and well enough appointed for a seaside hotel.

The staff were friendly and keen to assist where required.

Our only criticism would be the kitchen area of the room ( it advertises itself as a self catering hotel) which was very basic. The two-ring hob was totally inadequate for anything other than boiling a small pan of water and there was no pan or anything else anyway unless you asked at reception for it. The advertised tea and coffee makers were nowhere to be seen.

Notwithstanding this, I would visit again as it ticks all other boxes for a mid-budget seaside hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tellygoonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is a lovely hotel, the staff made us feel welcome and helped us with the strange requests that we had.The rooms are clean and the food is great, even though it is very international with not much greek food, which I would like. The rooms are very big and the aircon was much needed . Great location too. Our room was nice and quiet and the hotel was in a good location for travelling around.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalo Nero
3.0 mi away
Apollo Resort Art Hotel
Apollo Resort Art Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kyparissia
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kyparissia
59 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kyparissia Beach Hotel
Kyparissia Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kyparissia
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 mi away
The Romanos Resort, Costa Navarino
26.7 mi away
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino
3.6 mi away
Ionion Hotel
Ionion Hotel
#3 of 6 in Kyparissia
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Messina Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Messina Resort Hotel

Address: | Kalo Nero Beach, Kalo Nero, Kyparissia 245 00, Greece (Formerly Messina Mare SeaSide Hotel)
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kyparissia > Kalo Nero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kalo Nero
Price Range: £51 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Messina Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Messina Resort Hotel is a modern hotel complex, located in the seaside village of Kalo Nero, situated on the seafront under a traditional architecture, offering comfort and high level hospitality. Guests can enjoy the sun and the sea on a sandy beach, which stretches in front of Messina Mare. For those who prefer to spend their time in the swimming pool, they can enjoy a variety of coffees, beverages and snacks, overlooking the blue Ionian sea. Messina Mare hotel consists of 10 buildings with 66 spacious and fully equipped rooms, divided into studios, apartments and maisonettes, decorated with a modern style. All rooms have balconies with sea or garden view, with split A/C units . Everything in Messina Resort is selected, making the holidays memorable for visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Messina Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing