We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Rural El Paraje
Ranked #1 of 1 Berchules B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Incredible place to stay”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We were greeted with a cup of tea followed by a three course home cooked dinner with an outstanding bottle of local wine. Breakfast can be taken on the terrace with a view over rollling hills, there are vines, tomato plants, almond trees and a totally relaxing atmosphere. We were lent guided walking maps and given excellent advice which ones would suit us. The room had a balcony, tables and chairs and two nights were just insufficient to enjoy the place and setting adequately, especially when I discovered I could have gone horse riding nearby. The Belgian hosts are relaxed, pleasant and friendly, everything is spotlessly clean and comfortable. Needless to say everything is extremely quiet and you are unlikely to see so many bright stars in a night sky anywhere.

Room Tip: The Granary has a lovely balcony with table and chair
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fourviolets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elparajecasarural, Owner at Casa Rural El Paraje, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
We love it when our guests have a great time, and are very happy when they want to share there experience with other travellers. Thanks for the review. I think you have to come back for that horse-ride we spoke of... actually we're thinking of keeping horse(s) in the near future. See you soon.
Filip & Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    13
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
57
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shenley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

On my own I stayed just one night at Casa Rural El Paraje to taste a few days of the Alpujarras travelling from my house in Mojacar. A short but wonderful stay close to the village of Berchules. I arrived late afternoon at the beautifully converted farmhouse with knowone around and found a lovely note by the owner with a key to my room and directions to where drinks were stored. My room was large simply furnished, with en-suite bathroom and a window and views overlooking the Alpujarras, perfect! Dinner was excellent on the terrace under candle light with a menu of fabulous gazpacno soup, fish with garden vegetables, ice cream, excellent local wine and brandy. I retired very late to sleep soundly in a very comfortable bed! Next day an excellent buffet breakfast on the terrace with a group of charming guests and Brenda and Philip's two young daughters. I recommend this place to stay as a retreat from exploring the Alpujarras, very relaxing with very charming Dutch owners.

Room Tip: There are five rooms I suggest the best views are from the front overlooking the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelW1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elparajecasarural, Manager at Casa Rural El Paraje, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you Michael for taking time to write a review of your stay. We were pleased to have you and hope to see you returning one day.
Filip & Brenda.

p.s. we're Belgians, but speak Dutch like the people from Holland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

What a fantastic location, lovely house, great weather and superb hosts.

We enjoyed five days at Casa Rural El Paraje. It is a sympathetically restored house found not too far along a track with the most amazing views. Our hosts, Filip, Brenda and their two girls (Moira and Roisin) were lovely people, well informed about the local area, great cooks and nothing was too much trouble. They spoke excellent English along with a number of other languages.

We enjoyed lovely breakfasts and dinners on the terrace with views extending for miles and miles with a 200 degree vista. They have their own vegetable garden that provides many of the ingredients for the meals. Breakfast was continental with a good selection of bread, cereal, ham, cheese, jams, yoghurt and fruit. Freshly squeezed orange juice was served. The coffee was superb and the poached eggs were great, benefiting from the “whirlpool” approach (you’ll have to ask Filip about that!). There is an honesty bar where you can find soft drinks and beer stashed in a large fridge at the side of the house. Filip and Brenda also have an excellent selection of wines from the local region.

We have no hesitation in highly recommending Casa Rural El Paraje and its wonderful hosts.

Les & Auds

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaiteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elparajecasarural, Owner at Casa Rural El Paraje, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Thanks Les and Audrey for your nice review. The pleasure of having you was all ours.
Next year we extend the vegetable garden so we can be more or less self sufficient.
We would love to see you coming back one day.
p.s. Poached eggs don't have secrets for me any more ;)
Filip & Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is a fine modernised farmhouse in a great rural location with fine views. The owners are
friendly with a good knowledge of the region. In particular Filip and Brenda are good cooks and serve a healthy breakfast with optional evening meals most evenings using locally sourced ingredients, some from their own vegetable garden. There are good walks direct from the property and nearby and the area is good for birdwatching, mountain biking and star gazing. The casa retains some of its original character and there is a fine terrace in front of the property that was the original threshing circle. From here there are glorious views. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a bath which is a treat after a days trekking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elparajecasarural, Owner at Casa Rural El Paraje, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
We're very happy if our guest have a great time. Thanks for sharing this with others.

Filip & Brenda
p.s. About your room tip: only the room suitable for disabled people has only a shower. All the other rooms have bath with shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We showed up on the front porch of El Paraje without a reservation after a week of trekking, and our stay at El Paraje was one of the highlights of our trip. Gorgeous house in an amazing setting, the best bed we found in the region, extremely friendly owners who were a great help planning future trekking routes and very cold beer. El Paraje should not be missed if you are in the Alpujarras.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanaleigirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lurgan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The rooms ,food ,and hosts were delightful ---- Brenda and Philip have created a wonderful relaxed atmosphere and have set high standards .The building itself has real charm and the views from different aspects are wonderful .We were walking through to Trevelez but we wish we could have spent more time in El Paraje --- hopefully another time !!!
Charlie

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Niamh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A lovely peaceful old farm in this fascinating and harsh environment overlooking a sweeping valley with mountains behind. We were well looked after by our friendly hosts who provide excellent simple accommodation. We had lovely walks exploring the irrigated farms perched around the baranca. Our stay coincided with the feast of San Marcos which added much local colour.
Bruce and Elizabeth

Room Tip: The rooms all have different aspects and facilities so speak to your hosts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berchules
2.5 mi away
Huerto de Lobras
Huerto de Lobras
#1 of 1 in Lobras
12 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
8.7 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Cercado Turismo Rural
El Cercado Turismo Rural
#2 of 4 in Berchules
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alojamientos El Vergel de Berchules
10.9 mi away
Alpujarras Camping
Alpujarras Camping
#1 of 3 in Laroles
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rural El Paraje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rural El Paraje

Property: Casa Rural El Paraje
Address: Carretera Granada a Berchules km 23,5, 18451 Berchules, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Berchules
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Berchules
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small country B&B, in the middel of almond groves, away from everything... But nearby the white village of Berchules in the heart of the Alpujarras, the sunny south-side of Sierra Nevada. We welcome you at our Casa Rural" El Paraje" with large rooms, good beds and excellent food and wines See you soon. Check our website at for more information about facilities, activities and prices. See you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Rural El Paraje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing