We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic mountain hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel los Berchules
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berchules
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Three days was not enough time to really get the full benefit of relaxed mountain life at Hotel Los Berchules. The almond trees were still in flower, but suntan lotion had to be applied whilst lying in the sun and eating a picnic by the ruins of a Moorish silk mill after an idyllic walk up a mountain valley. Our room with a lovely balcony looking over the valley at the front of the hotel was simple and clean, with extremely comfortable beds and a piping hot shower.

The food was everything that I had been led to believe it might be - delicious, imaginative, home-cooking. We ate rabbit in almond and garlic sauce, a great soup of lentils and vegetables, little bbq lamb chops with charred edges, artichokes with jamon, a wonderful salad of tomato, feta and avocado dressed with subtlety and a silky chocolate mousse. Everything was bright and seasonal and the portions were definitely meant for hungry walkers. Wine was cheap, gin and tonics knockout strength and the addition of the friendly Sammy (dog) and roaring woodfire ticked all necessary boxes in the evenings. Breakfast of beautifully prepared fresh fruit, local bread lightly toasted, wrapped in a cloth and served with homemade strawberry and apricot jams, with proper strong coffee made getting away quickly in the morning challenging - it was just too nice to sit with the sun pouring in and another cup from the Gaggia.

I can't recommend Hotel Los Berchules more highly - unless it is to mention the happy atmosphere that the family have created which welcomes guests of all ages with such warmth. Wendy and Alejandro are good people and the best sort of hosts, and I'm very much hoping that we'll get back there in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: It's a blissfully quiet corner of the world - only the birds will disturb you - but the front ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

Our two nights at Hotel Los Berchules were included in a walking tour in the area. Wendy and Alejandro were great hosts. The 3-course dinners were well-prepared with different choices every evening. A comfortable, quiet hotel with great sunset views if your room is in the front of the building.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Come to Hotel Berchules and enjoy amazing hospitality provided by Wendy, Alejandro, Csilla and Omar. We had three marvelous days in Las Alpujarras and loved every moment! The family's warmth is so apparent in how they welcome guests with hiking advice, car rides to trailheads & an eagerness to talk and share life experiences. The rooms are very comfortable and the local wines & food are delicious. Wendy could win a prize as one of the world's most engaging conversationalists! Alejandro is an amazing cook, offering outstanding nightly selections with an emphasis on local recipes and ingredients. The hiking is terrific with a wide choice of destinations and difficulties, depending on your interests and abilities. The hotel's setting is incredible with spectacular views of the valley. If you are looking for an experience to long remember, do not miss Hotel Berchules!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhoda705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

As a member of a group of painters who have been to the hotel for the sixth successive year, and no doubt more trips to come I must praise the continuity of the standard of food,the attentiveness of the staff and their ability to converse well in most European languages at the same time as making everyone feel at home whether a walker a horse rider a lover of Spanish food or a humble artist try this one

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks walking holiday based at Hotel Los Berchules. It is a small friendly hotel run by mother and son Wendy and Alejandro Tamborero. The hotel is located on the southern side of the Sierra Nevada mountains and ideal for hiking. The hotel will provide maps and guide notes for 40 plus walks in the area. They also provide a drop off or pick-up facility to start/finish of walks. If you require a guide the hotel's dog Sammy is only too willing to show the route for every walk. Breakfasts included fabulous home made jams and marmalade, dinners were 3 courses of good quality Spanish food.
If you want 5 star, this is maybe not for you, if you want a small friendly family run hotel, set in an idyllic location give Hotel Los Berchules a try.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnTom997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Los Berchules. Everything from the accommodations to the food was excellent. But the helpfulness of Wendy and her family was what made our stay extra special! Wendy is extremely knowledgeable about all the walks in the area and has a plethora of books and maps to assist hikers. Alejandro even drove us to the next town and pointed out the trail markings to where we wanted to go.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Hotel Los Berchules is owned and run by Wendy Tamborero Gibson and her son Alejandro and his wife Sheila. It is in a stunning protected village of narrow lanes between the white flat roofed houses clinging to the steep hillsides high in the Sierra Nevada with magnificent walks from the hotel along paths ancient Moorish watercourses, some long some short.
The attention and generosity given by the family and their helper Omar goes far beyond the expected. Our stay was enhanced by suggestions of where to go and what we might like: a fascinating 'museum' of stuff in a private house deserted by its owners in an almost empty village, a walk past a ruinous Moorish silk mill (and the fruit of the mulberry trees from which Wendy made delicious ice cream), picnics by the river and a walk to the top of the highest mountain in the Spain (but we couldn't see Africa due to the heat haze). Their blind dog Sami will guide if required. Eating at 8pm which we needed after a days walking and a good mixture of Spanish and UK requirements (eg tea)
Go there but don't tell anyone.....

Room Tip: Four of us were in the self catering apartment with fridge, kettle, sofas etc whilst eating Alejandr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berchules
4.6 mi away
La Fragua
La Fragua
#2 of 2 in Trevelez
49 reviews
4.2 mi away
El CastaNar Nazari
El CastaNar Nazari
#1 of 1 in Busquistar
310 reviews
9.1 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#2 of 4 in Capileira
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
La Fragua II
La Fragua II
#1 of 2 in Trevelez
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Cercado Turismo Rural
El Cercado Turismo Rural
#2 of 4 in Berchules
70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Rural El Paraje
Casa Rural El Paraje
#1 of 1 in Berchules
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel los Berchules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel los Berchules

Address: Carretera Granada a Berchules 20, 18451 Berchules, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Berchules
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berchules
Price Range: £51 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel los Berchules 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are a walker, a rider or taking a tour around Andalucia, you will receive the warmest welcome and finest hospitality the Alpujarras can offer at Hotel Los Berchules. This is a family-run establishment offering home comforts and simple, home-cooked food using local ingredients and traditional Alpujarran recipes. The hotel has twin-bedded and single rooms plus a two-bedroomed apartment offering self-catering holiday opportunities, with hotel facilities right next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel los Berchules reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing