We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a comfortable hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alka The Lake Side Hotel
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Nainital
Reviewed 31 January 2014

this hotel indeed is one of the best hotels in d nainital..it is located in the centrally located the mall and is centrally heated..the rooms are even ok and quality of food and service is also satisfactory but the view of the lake is very pretty and the morning view through the windows makes u feel elated and fresh and thats the best part of the hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashishkapoor1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had recently visited Nainital, It was a very short & nice trip. We had a hotel booking in Alka The Lake Side Hotel situated on the Mall road. The ambiance of the hotel is very nice and well maintained. The rooms were big and centrally heated which was the best part in this chilling hill winters.We had an Awesome view of the Naini lake from the room itself.The hotel has a garden terrace and the view from the top is amazing.The staff was nice and customer friendly..
The Hotel also provided free Wifi facility for the guest staying in and has a Billiard & Pool table for inside activity.Also the Hotel has a Lift facility on all the floors making more comfortable for senior citizens.
The hotel has a just 15 mins straight walk to the Naina Devi Temple and Tibet market through the mall road.
As soon as one gets out of the hotel, one can take boat ride in the lake by buying tickets from the ticket booth which is right across the road.We were lucky to see the snow on the Hill top from Trolley and click some nice photographs in snow.Apart from the Trolley ride,The hill top offers many activity for children to enjoy.
Overall a very nice stay. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: The room no 114 t0 116 give a nice view from the First floor, Also the rooms on the Second floor pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mani_says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I recently stayed at Alka from 26th to 28th Jan'14. It's location is superb - just on the mall road. I arrived at 6 AM and the person on duty was very courteous to get me a room within 5 minutes and arranged coffee. No fuss about early check-in.

Excellent lake view from hotel, WIFI and computer centre. I was finding it difficult to book tickets through my mobile. I was immediately given a user id and password to work on their PC in computer centre.

Vehicle for local tour, Mukteshwar and Lake tours on all 3 days was arranged by Hotel itself. Driver was courteous, a perfect guide and photographer.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are preferable, giving excellent lake view from the room itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devdutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed for 3 days 2 nights at Alka, the Lakeside hotel and no-doubt it was a memorable stay in Nainital. The biggest advantage of staying at this hotel is "location, location, location". Well actually, it is location + the scenic view it provides. The view from the open terrace is simply amazing as it faces the vast Naini lake and provides a complete view of the lake end to end (well mostly).
The hotel is clean, the staff is helpful and the food is good too. Did not have much chance to complain and was happy with the hotel staff helping a lot to quickly fix a minor glitch in the heating system in our room.

I would again stay at this place on my other trips to Nainital and would recommend it to friends and family too.

Room Tip: A room on the first floor facing the terrace would give a great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daAnupam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The location is the best thing about this hotel. situated right on the mall road opposite the lake.One can see the beautiful naini lake from the room . Boating tickets available just opp the hotel .Way to the zoo is from just outside the hotel.The rooms are good, clean and centrally heated. which was a boon as we stayed here on new years eve 2013 when it snowed in nainital.. Food is also good. service is good.Free WiFi was a bonus.All in all we enjoyed our stay here .Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shai2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

One of the best hotels in Nainital in terms of its locations. The view was fantastic from the ground floor suit rooms. One feels that one can literally touch the Naini lake from the room itself. As soon as one gets out of the hotel, one can take boat ride in the lake by buying tickets from the ticket booth which is right across the road. The food quality - both at the time of dinner and at the time of breakfast was quite good as per the hills standards. Nice weather during our stay further added to the charm. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Lake facing ground floor suit rooms are really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajshaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Our stay at Alka last year made our Nainital visit all the more beautiful. The hotel offers the best view of the lake because of its excellent location. The rooms are done up quite well and the furniture are beautifully arranged. The beds are comfortable and the toilets very clean. The hotel has a beautiful terrace facing the lake and also a terrace garden on top floor. Also you can enjoy your morning tea in the veranda facing the lake. The hotel also has lift facility which is very useful for aged travelers. The food served at Alka is also very good and is moderately priced. Excellent room service provided by the hotel staff.

Room Tip: First floor rooms facing the lake are the best and offers the best view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IMukherje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
1.1 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 51 in Nainital
340 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
0.4 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#7 of 51 in Nainital
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#19 of 51 in Nainital
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#30 of 51 in Nainital
175 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#6 of 51 in Nainital
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alka The Lake Side Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alka The Lake Side Hotel

Address: The Mall, Nainital 263002, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Nainital
Price Range: £966 - £1,076 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel on the lake side... one of the best locations in this lake town! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing