We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“up-close and getting personal with Nature!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ek Chidiya Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ek Chidiya Cottage
Ranked #28 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Nainital
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“up-close and getting personal with Nature!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

'ek chidiya' is a perfect place for some who wishes to get close to nature! And for us to visit this place was at a time which i would like to call it perfect, as was welcomed with PEACH laden fruit trees !!! Very tastefully done cottages with spacious rooms! Host Pallavi and Anurag along with their ever helpful staff made my stay very memorable! It gave us a welcoming feeling the moment I stepped into the gates. It has been beautifully conceptualized and brought to reality!! It has become a 'must-go' every year on my travel list for sure!!

P.S - the 'Peach desert' is a must have!!!!

Room Tip: Please opt for the ones facing the valley, makes your chai drinking an experience worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank payal_lal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

wanted a relaxed place after hectic work schedule.
i was delighted to find one in Ek Chidiya.... a Serene place with welcoming host.... we had awesome time with lovely local sites and food. It was a nice break from the hectic urban lifestyle...a stream flowing just a trek away.. and long wild life forest reserve around it was an peaceful bliss... waking up in a bit of winter crisp and warm interiors, we had a peaceful time and fun filled adventure. Since my special interest was photography... we found the place so full of nature and its original beauty..

Room Tip: Rooms facing valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neelanjangupto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

This had been our group second Third visit .. never got time enough to write the review.. was just busy again booking the place up for our upcoming vacation.. we have been to many places where we get artificially beatified places lacking entire ethos and adventure of being in a jungle and to be so called a place in the hills.. we love this place for its simplicity and the way they have tried to give their customers a feel of being in the wild. They have taken all the measures of making linens nicely placed, with a flowers around and wide windows you just simply fall in love with nature there.. and i feel sorry for few travelers who go there but forget to actually love the life around in nature...
so delighted to see the owners and their lovely welcome as if we went to see a friend in the hills...
guys... don't miss it... if u wanna feel next to nature... then just book it without a thought... you will always plan your vacations there thenceforth.. like how we all do... happy traveling..

Room Tip: Rooms towards the valley are awesome....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andesignco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Had a 2 night stay at this place and it was very refreshing. The food is good(especially the breakfast which is so much more than normal paratha and pakora fare;we got lovely pan cakes and swiss rolls in the breakfast)) and the place truly showcases the idea of a “restrained forest”. No loudness of unnecessary landscaping.Short trek to the river stream was wonderful. Dhyan Singh the care taker is a joy to be with who has so many stories to tell about how changes are happening in the hills around.He ensured excellent service from simple village boys . An ideal place to have lots of tea at different benches and the gazebo at the property. Though we went in the peak of winters(26th jan )we enjoyed the full sun which was such a respite from the fog in the plains.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianHolidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Having travelled to Uttarakhand atleast twice every year for many years now, i have stayed in variety of accomodations (INR300 - 7500) . Ek Chidiya is a decent place with a nice setting in a peaceful village .I understand hills are difficult terrain but there were certain basic amenities lacking during our stay , hot water was not available as there is only one geyser for two rooms so you need to gap and coordinate between two rooms or else you end up bathing in freezing water. Hot water bottle was not available . Bottles/glasses left next to bonfire were not removed for 2 days, ultimately we cleaned it up. The place has such uneven surface and absolutely no effort to beautify the small so called sitting area outside room, maybe because it was winters there was no green ,the heaters are such old fashioned variety that you don't understand whether it's heating/cooling. Maybe things are better in summer but definitely it's not the place if you want comfortable accomodation in the hills. Many cottages at higher altitude also maintain better standards. Go if you must

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deepamyadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I travelled to Ek Chidiya with my family, and my extended family, (and three kids of all the 'troublesome periods, 4. , 8, and 13, you know what I mean :)!!
This place is just what we needed. Clean spacious rooms, toilets, no TV, NOTHING that reminds you that you are paying here, you feel like a guest actually. There is no Checkin-Checkout timings mentioned, no uniformed waiters, infact, the intercom in the room looked out of place.
This place has all the basic amenities, food/breakfast is good, you can stroll to nearby villages, go to orchards, literally have the whole place to yourself. People who are fond of TV, and want room service should not go there. Not because they dont provide the service, but because this place is not for sitting in the room. It is rather for getting out, for short to long treks, for getting familiar with people around.
We were there in a probably the hottest period (people say it had not been hotter), but the hospitality and simplicity of the place just bowled us over. The owners, Pallavi and Anurag are very friendly, (and not intrusive as well)!! They are intelligent people who chose to move away from hectic corporate life to this place, and they run the establishment very throughtfully.
I noticed, the price range mentioned on Trip Advisor is wrong, the denomination should probably be in Indian Rupees.
I would definitely go back, and would stay a little longer this time. I just couldnt get enough of it.

Room Tip: They have just four rooms, you might want to choose the ones that have a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prashant618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I went with my family during the Baisakhi weekend and was bowled over by the scenic beauty of the place. It is a place far away from the maddening crowd and is just the right ambience for relaxation. The fun becomes double with the ever courteous owners and the wonderfully trainer staff. The hot and sumptious meals just go right with the feel of the place. Such a great experience that too at a very moderate budget. I highly recommend to other fellow travellers!

Room Tip: room with a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PankhuriNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nainital
12.2 mi away
Dolmaar Resort
Dolmaar Resort
#34 of 47 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
12.1 mi away
Arif Castles Hotel
Arif Castles Hotel
#13 of 47 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
12.9 mi away
Kampland Nainital
Kampland Nainital
#19 of 140 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
Frozen Woods - Pura Stays
#3 of 26 in Mukteshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mountain Trail Resort
Mountain Trail Resort
#4 of 23 in Mukteshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ashoka's Naini Chalet Resort
Ashoka's Naini Chalet Resort
#21 of 140 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ek Chidiya Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ek Chidiya Cottage

Property: Ek Chidiya Cottage
Address: Village Nathuakhan, Nainital 263158, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 140 Speciality Lodging in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ek Chidiya is a cottage set in an acre of land in Village Nathuakhan in the fruit bowl of Uttarakhand, 40 km from Nainital. It offers lovely treks and delicious food prepared by local cooks. It has 6 spacious bedrooms with mud-plastered walls and stone flooring and modern attached bathrooms. Each room has a porch sit-out, and a firepit for enjoying bonfires. Buffet meals, mainly prepared from fruits, vegetables and herbs grown in-house, are served in the common dining area. Activities include picnic to the river stream nearby, day-trips to Mukteshwar, Nainital, Almora and Jageshwar, and village orchard walks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing