We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great nothing to do place”
Review of Ek Chidiya Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ek Chidiya Cottage
Ranked #27 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Nainital
noida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Great nothing to do place”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Dont go with the name ek chidya , you will see lots of beautiful chidiya's.
the place is a hidden gem far away from the city life and from the crowded hill stations like nainital.
time freezes when you are at ek chidya , do nothing and relax , enjoy your tea , watch beautiful birds , eat fresh fruits, go for a walk and many other things and especially talking to anurag the host.

Room Tip: Take valley view rooms Take your lunch and dinner at Dining hall and play (cards,ludo,snake &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

It was a last moment decision to stay in Ek chidiya and me and my husband are totally happy with our decision. This place is located in a very beautiful orchard village and owned by Anurag and Pallavi. Even Ek chidiya has a nice orchard exclusively for its guests. We stayed in the front valley hill view room which had a great view. All the rooms have very large windows. Interiors of the room was very tastefully done. Keeping its Eco friendliness, There was nothing plastic in the room! Bed and linens were clean.
The staff was courteous. And all our meals were very well taken care of with special instructions from our host Anurag. We ate some very fine jams, chutneys and marmalades, made of fruits plucked fresh from the farm and prepared by Pallavi.
During our stay, we had nice chats with Anurag, in which we shared a lot of our travel experiences. He tried to guide us in every way he can for our 2 days activities which included a trek down to the river. Also we were given a free hand in his orchard to relish as many fresh peaches and plums that we can. During our departure we were also gifted a bag full of fruits!
So overall it was a wonderful stay, we relaxed, trekked and relished on peaches!

Room Tip: The room we stayed in, we found the best. Its the last room of the cottage facing the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NehaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Me and my wife had been planning a trip to Nainital but were worried that my daughter being small, will not be too comfortable in a crowded place that Nainital becomes in summer.
Then I found about Ek Chidiya at Nathuakhan near Nainital and we loved what we saw on their website.
In reality too, when we visited recently, the place was the same as it appeared. On top of that the food was very homely and they made food for my small daughter also as per our instructions.
I recommend this place for everyone as we had a great time there with all the comforts.

Prakash Jamnal
Delhi

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prakash_j345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We loved this hidden place in Nathuakhan! Reached there with some apprehension, because the last stretch of the road is still being laid, but all our doubts were settled when we entered through the gate. It's a quaint little place, which reminded me of the idyllic country cottages one only gets to read about! The owners have, I think deliberately, kept the outdoors mostly natural, and that really gives it a rustic feel. It doesn't look like a manicured resort, and that's the charm! So don't go there expecting fancy Tandoori Tikkas and Sizzlers or pool table, playscapes etc. It is just ideal for lazying about! We enjoyed the short walks and talks with the friendly village locals. We missed the fruit season... but will surely go there again in June, and eat the peaches and plums off the trees!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwatiMittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Ek Chidiya Cottage was recommended to us by a friend who had visited the place earlier. We went there during the Dussehra holidays. And all the time, I kept thanking my friend in my mind for introducing us to the beautiful place. There was only one other room occupied at that time, and we enjoyed complete attention from the staff. It's a small cottage, only 4 rooms, so at no point it would be getting very crowded. The food is homely, and they are willing to make slight changes in the menu if you are the only family dining at that time. Their breakfast spread is good, quite more than what one can expect in such an offbeat property. The hosts have their own house a short walk away, but they mostly leave you alone to enjoy the property on your own. Not at all like some of the owners who are always looking you up! We completely enjoyed the stay, and would recommend it to others also.

Room Tip: The two rooms with a view of the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neelamtcsharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I visited Ek Chidiya on Christmas this year with my friends and their
families. I must say it is a beautiful place in every aspect. It does
not have the usual resort look, and is more like your own cottage home
in the mountains. The setting is informal, and extremely comfortable.
There is a beautiful view of a mountain village in front, which looks
amazing at night, when lights are switched on in the houses. We
enjoyed sitting out in the sun a lot. Since the nights get very cold,
room blowers and hot water bottles were a boon, especially since many
hotels we contacted earlier din't have blowers in the room and only
give hot water bottles. Of course, in winters one has to go prepared
with ample woollens to keep oneself warm! The dining hall is a lovely
room, the food is delicious and of the homely kind, without floating
oil or added colours. Small things like the warm chappatis served at
the table, finger bowl, and eggs on order in breakfast make a lot of
difference to such offbeat properties. In that regard, Ek Chidiya
perhaps has the best trained staff, who are local villagers. Hats off
to the owners for running such a wonderful place in a rural area. We
will surely recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: all rooms have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puneet_Bahuguna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Bright sun,blue sky ,surrownded by nature with nothing artificial ,homely warmth of the locals and the ek chidiya cottage staff and above all getting rid of my ellergic cough and sneezing after my stay there made me promise myself to go again to ek-chidiya,not only to enjoy the nature but to laze out in the sun and take a break from the allergens in the polluted cities.amazing ek chidiya.
Seema singh
Noida.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monusingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
12.9 mi away
Kampland Nainital
Kampland Nainital
#23 of 144 in Nainital
50 reviews
11.5 mi away
Two Chimneys - Pura Stays
Two Chimneys - Pura Stays
#2 of 144 in Nainital
360 reviews
11.9 mi away
Clifton - Pura Stays
Clifton - Pura Stays
#5 of 144 in Nainital
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Ashoka's Naini Chalet Resort
Ashoka's Naini Chalet Resort
#17 of 144 in Nainital
76 reviews
11.7 mi away
Traveller's Paradise
Traveller's Paradise
#37 of 144 in Nainital
97 reviews
12.5 mi away
Camp Sparrow
Camp Sparrow
#1 of 144 in Nainital
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ek Chidiya Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ek Chidiya Cottage

Property: Ek Chidiya Cottage
Address: Village Nathuakhan, Nainital 263158, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ek Chidiya is a cottage set in an acre of land in Village Nathuakhan in the fruit bowl of Uttarakhand, 40 km from Nainital. It offers lovely treks and delicious food prepared by local cooks. It has 6 spacious bedrooms with mud-plastered walls and stone flooring and modern attached bathrooms. Each room has a porch sit-out, and a firepit for enjoying bonfires. Buffet meals, mainly prepared from fruits, vegetables and herbs grown in-house, are served in the common dining area. Activities include picnic to the river stream nearby, day-trips to Mukteshwar, Nainital, Almora and Jageshwar, and village orchard walks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing