We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but dirty”
Review of Hotel Evelyn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Evelyn
Ranked #48 of 99 Nainital B&B and Inns
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location but dirty”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is just at the mall, very close to the lake. In general it's a nice hotel but it's not maintained well. There are lots of bugs, probably bed bugs, in the room, I noticed also some worms on the floor. The hotel owner is nice, he got us a deal for travels. The rooms upstairs have a great terrace with view on the lake. The staff however is annoying, asking for tips for anything...

Room Tip: The heigher the better, the noise from the mall is not heard there and it's nice in the evening.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dagkoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    18
    17
    2
    7
See reviews for
21
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
521 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

on arrival to Nainital we looked at 4 hotels before settling on the Hotel Evelyn, with 60 rooms and located on the Mall Road, just on the beginning of the Zoo Road...southern end of Nainital. We stayed a week. Our rooms were 1400 and 1500 rps, about $25 USD, though there were rooms in the property that were less. While we were there they were a few other guests.

The manager of the hotel was very kind, nice and accommodating, the employees were also good, though looking for tips, doubt they bother Indian tourist though. When my friend got sick and they went above and beyond to get her medicine, clean her room and make sure she was cared for during the height of her short illness. They were very kind and considerate of her situation.

The property is in ok repair, I was very happy with my room, they are working on making improvements and during the height of the season I am sure due to the location and price they are fairly full. We were there, due to winter and cold, pretty much the only guests in the hotel. They provided us with heater at no extra charge.

we were on the top floor, though many, may not desire (due to 6 flights of stairs), though being away from the Mall traffic noise, and observing the views were worth the effort and absorbing the solar rays in the afternoon! All luggage's were handled by the hotel staff, so it wasn't a problem, except for when we returned after walking all day! The views were superb! We did not use the restaurant except for water and toast/tea in morning. The roof tops are metal roofs, so wonderful during a rainstorm.

The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean, they have rooms with both Indian and Western toilets, some rooms even have bathtubs! Hot water available in the mornings or per agreement we found. We were a short walk to restaurants, chemist, grocery, etc, plus the lake beckons for walks and viewing...Enjoy Nainital!

visited Feb 2014

Room Tip: top floors rooms offered excellent view, covered terrace, outdoor seating plus some had sit outs or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eatprayloveall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We planned our stay for 3 days(12-14 Oct.2013) in this hotel but due to inconvenience we have to left it on very next day.This property is situated at prime location but due to it's poor housekeeping and maintenance it is becoming useless.Bathrooms fittings need replacement. Rooms smells due to dampness. I complained the management but they expressed helplessness.If someone wants to stay at this location he should inquire in proximity also.

Room Tip: Only newly constructed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UMESHGOYAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had a brief stopover at Nainital for a night en route to Delhi from further up in Uttaranchal. I had heard good things about this hotel, and it has a bit of a history - the famous author Ram Dass (more than 2 million books sold), and the Grammy nominated singer Krishna Das spent a lot of time here in the 70s, when they were visiting their Guru, Neem Karoli Baba, who had an ashram in Kainchi (some 20km from Nainital, on the road to Almora).

Check in was quick. The rooms are very spacious (we had two suites) and clean. Though it was summer, it can get cold and windy in the mountains, and clouds can come in at any time in Nainital. There were plenty of blankets available in case it got cold. Beds were comfortable.

The location of the hotel is really fantastic - it is just on the border of the lake. It is great to sit outside in the verandah and watch the world go by, while looking over the lake. Dinner was great - generous proportions, and really tasty, so we ended up overeating a bit!

Recommended for families and people looking for modestly priced accommodation without having to compromise on cleanliness and quality of food. Only thing to watch out for is that they have very limited parking, so if you're planning to drive there, call in advance and check.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidTravellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed there in May of this year. We looked at several places along the Mall- and Evelyn was the nicest by far.

Location was great. It's near the beginning of the Mall, which is much quieter than the end close to the Tibetan Market (that gets hectic and *noisy*).

View was beautiful. The hotel has several levels, get a room as high up as you can. We had glass windows facing the lake

Food wasn't the greatest. But that's not what you're paying for.

Amenities also weren't fantastic. We could have done with some air-conditioning on one night, but even in May, it wasn't bad.

Service was friendly & about as prompt as you get in Nainital.

Overall, you can get better in Nainital, but you have to pay for it. For the price, this comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the 2 at the top. Think they're called the "honeymoon suite"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandrem, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

One of my favourite spots in the world, this hotel has a unique charm and the best location. However, it is true what all these other reviews say...Needs work and p'raps a woman's touch?

My husband and I stayed for a few nights this September, way up on the top floor. 111 steps each way, up & down. Fantastic workout!
Astounding views and delicious ambiance, albeit somewhat destroyed by the overpowering stench of mould & mildew. Time to pull out the wall-to-wall carpets, fellows!
The food & service very, very good...excellent, in fact! Our waiter, 70-yr old chap, was a veritable inspiration.
Please, PLEASE try to restore Evelyn back to tip-top shape, as this will assure many more years of good times for guests & great business for you!

Room Tip: Climb to the very top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meems13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

It is one the okayish good hotels in Nainital. Don't expect a lot from it.

Pros:
1. Excellent good.
2. Good location on the mall road.
3. Spacious rooms.
4. Okayish view of the lake
5. Moderately proced

Cons.
1. One has to climb a lot of stairs to reach the rooms that have some view.
2. Cleanliness is moderate
3. Beds were okay, but not very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohit100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#12 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#25 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#28 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krishna
Hotel Krishna
#14 of 48 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 48 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Channi Raja
Hotel Channi Raja
#7 of 141 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Evelyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Evelyn

Property: Hotel Evelyn
Address: The Mall, Nainital 263002, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Evelyn is among one of the oldest hotels in Nainital and has a rich history of hospitality. It has been serving guests even before the town became a retreat for city-weary souls and saw a burgeoning hotel industry. Before 1947, Mrs Page, a British lady ran a guesthouse of the same name, where the hotel stands today. Since Indian Independence, it has been owned and run by Mr S.L Sah's family. It was his will power and dynamism that metamorphosed a small guesthouse into a 60-room hotel.Today Hotel Evelyn offers the height of convenience and comfort to guests. From the Mall Road you can get a glimpse of the impressive facade of the hotel and as you explore further a visual treat awaits you. It has a magnificent view of the Naini lake, the weeping willows arched delicately over the resplendent waters and the Holy 'Pashan Devi' temple right across. The flower be-decked terrace will simply take your breath away. The hotel rooms are elegant and equipped with modern amenities to make your stay a memorable one.Choosing from a myriad of hotels in Nainital can be quite a task, but if you want to experience the old world chalet-like charm of wooden paneled walls coupled with the luxury of all modern amenities, then ours is the hotel that you need to head to. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing