We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We wished we had stayed longer”
other travellers have booked this property
Front Facade of the 4 room unit
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Facade of the 4 room unit
Main Unit Reading and library area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Front Facade of the 4 room unit
Main Unit
Reading and library area
Cozy Bedroom
Living and Dining - Night time
Cherry Trees in Full Bloom
Pumpkin and many such veges grown in our organic garden
Beans from the garden plucked for lunch preparation
Haven for Bird-watchers
Guests helping themselves to home grown strawberries
Dusk at ET
Lazy walk in the pine forest
On the way to the estate
Pond on one side of the property
Kids enjoying plucking wheat from the farm
chilies from organic farms
Badminton Game
Outdoor barbeque
Family camp
Kids enjoying swinging from trees
Activities around Emerald Trail - paragliding
Activities around emerald trail - Rafting
Activities around Emerald Trail - Rapelling
Pet friendly
View from the deck facing the valley
Tenting corner
Entrance of the property
Bedroom
Homestay
Sundown
New Stone unit
Pet Friendly Retreat
Stone Cottage Interiors
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Nainital, Nainital District, Uttarakhand

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sun180
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beware of the stone cottage”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We rented the stone cottage for the long weekend of 15th august for three nights but decided to leave the very next day because of poor accommodation. The main house was already booked and I was told by the owner Sumith that both the houses are very similar except the wooden flooring and size but can easily accommodate our family of four- two adult and two children. We found the cottage small, bare, ill equipped and dirty. There were two wooden chairs inside and two outside the cottage and a small folding table. The roof was resting on poorly painted yellow coloured wood logs. A small TV was mounted on the wall, nothing else to keep the kids engaged. The décor did not give any rustic or serene feeling. Also there was no separate dining area. We could not even eat dinner together as a family because of lack of space and fear of mosquitoes and insects. The curtains were dirty even to touch. The rug had multiple brown spots on it. Some of the linen was stinking of damp and naphthalene. Surprisingly the staffs were aware of this but were still providing them. They did give me cleaner linen later. Bathroom was bare. No hot water in wash basin, no soap or hand towel. The fireplace was non functional. Within few minutes of starting fire the whole cottage got filled with thick smoke. It was difficult to get the attention of staff. I had to walk several times in rain to the main house as all of them were residing there. Food was simple but delicious. Within few hours of being there, we realized that a vacation should not be like this-walking in rain for bare necessities, eating separately and struggling with damp smell and dirtiness. So we decided to change our accommodation despite paying for 3 nights including extra person's charges. Now I understand why no pics of the stone cottage are posted on the website. Be careful.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: View of mountains
Liked least: Linen
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2013
" Beware of tricks by competitors .."

Ever since Tripadviosr was declared ' Number One B&B' on the basis of guest reviews , we have been facing a lot of backlash from competition .

It is really hurting them .

They have been trying to send guests to stay at the property so that they can write bad review and tarnish Emerald Trail's reputation .
We try our best to screen such guests , unfortunately this one got through .

Also , Flipkey does not allow the owners the opportunity to respond before the post is uploaded . It allows only after the post .

I guess it is a small price to pay for the success Emerald Trail has achieved in such a short time .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anoopbask...
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“We wished we had stayed longer”
Reviewed 6 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

With 42 out of 43 ratings falling under the Top 2 boxes [yep we are from Service industry :-) ], there must be something good about this unit or so we thought & we were not disappointed. Hence it's 43 out of 44 !!

1. Enquiry for accommodation availability 2 days prior to travel date was very courteously answered in the affirmative by Mr.Sumith Dutta - absolutely no arrogance - Check
2. Rates were very competitive - Check
3. Advance paid & then 1 more family wanted to join - requested Sumith & Check
4. Sumith's advise to travel early morning from Gurgaon instead of late evening the previous day proved very helpful (Youngest member of our team is 3 Months old along with 2 Children below 8) - Check
(Unexpected traffic jam between Moradabad, Rampur, Rudrapur for about 4 hours dented our spirits)
5. A very helpful Lalith, caling us at regular intervals for our whereabouts (even in his Boss's absence) was very nice - Check
6. Lunch was ready at 4:00 PM - Check (Food for a south indian gang was definitely not upto the spice mark...was bland..still not a real issue)
7. Property is very tastefully done - Simple yet elegant - all of us wished for one such by the time we retire :) - Check
(a) Simple and lovely rooms
(b) Very nice collection of books (all genres, including Kids)
(c) Superb lawn
(d) Own farm and green house
(e) 4 lively & playful dogs + Cows
(f) Badminton court with sufficient rackets / corks
(g) Football + Indoor games + Other kids stuff to keep them engaged
(h) Amazing garden

PS. We had an acclaimed young movie director & family for company.Down to earth & approachable.

We wished we had stayed for long...if only getting back to office was not a priority :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Reviewed 7 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Delhi
Reviewed 14 January 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lucknow
Reviewed 6 January 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
India
Reviewed 20 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Delhi
Reviewed 8 July 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$70
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing