We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Serene!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KMVN Tourist Rest House Tallital
Ranked #10 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Visited the place in 2013 along with family, courtesy a close friend, and found this place to be pretty satisfying! Serene location overlooking the Nainital Lake. Good hospitality by the staff. Step out to the busiest and most happening Mall Road and have loads of fun..... A boat ride is at your doorstep as well!

Room Tip: Take the suites facing the lake with a huge balcony
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank journalistnitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
There are newer reviews for KMVN Tourist Rest House Tallital
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

I booked this hotel after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. This is a typical government property with the best location but other things need to catch up.

Pros -
Clean washrooms
Brilliant view of Naini lake and Mall road especially at night
They accomodated us in the morning even though the check in time is 12 noon (not something that I expect from Govt run place)
They would boil milk (for my kid) or sterilise the milk bottles without any hassles at any time.

Cons
The climb until the recpetion is about 65 stairs + a steep climb. After that there is another flight of stairs to reach the room.
We had superdeluxe rooms; hence we climbed another 75 stairs to the top of the building to reach our room. If you want to avoid these, pls book royal rooms but the first 65 stairs stay..no matter what.

The tanks associated with flushes in washrooms were faulty. We had 2 rooms and it was the same for both of them.We asked for our rooms to
be changed but they wanted us to hand over the keys to our room or stay back till 12 noon to do it.

Our breakfast was included in the booking. The buffet options were limited but tasted good. Lack of staff for service lead to chaos and a not-so-happy breakfast experience every morning. However, I do not want to take this away from the people who served there because they
did their best to look after everyone.

The room was not very clean even when we opened it for the first day. We asked for room to be cleaned but no-one paid attention. It was cleaned on last day of our stay (the person who cleaned it simply dumped the garbage in hills and there was no wet cleaning of the room.)

The duvet covers were dirty and the blankets were smelly. To their credit, they did change the bedsheets when asked but not the bedcover.

The double bed was not a double bed per say ; it was two single beds joined together which was a little uncomfortable because I had a toddler sleeping with me.

The almirahs were dirty and full of little sneaky creatures.

Room service was a little slow but I do not blame them because of the sheer number of stairs that they had to climb.

Room Tip: Superdeluxe rooms - Top floor hence more stairs. Royal rooms - first floor ; hence less stairs. Top...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rohinikhattar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

It is definitely a value for money hotel. However it do comes with it's own positives & negatives.
For eg. It's at one of the best locations in Nainital (overlooking Naini lake), but one needs to climb a lot of stairs (higher the room better the view!!)
They've got a reasonably priced Restro-Bar... but, it is open to all... so local crowd keeps coming... which makes it unfit for family sitting...
Rooms are clean and offer good views but the ambience is quiet basic....
They've got a good parking space in their drive-way...
Staff is courteous & helpful but service is slow and their buffett options very limited.

However, the best part is you won't get a decent, well located & maintained family hotel at this price that too in season time (June).. so overall would recommend if on budget.

Room Tip: Super delux rooms are higher (need to climb more stairs) but offer a better view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yatan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Clearly not the hotel for you if you are not much of a climber and strictly no if senior citizens are accompanying you.Full marks to the location and the view but rooms are not well maintained and very average spread at the buffet breakfast.Staff is courteous and even arranged for our ropeway tickets.If you do go to this hotel go for the royal rooms only and no other . Overall an average experience.

Room Tip: Only Royal Rooms
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajatbehal2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

After reading reviews in Trip Advisor, I decided to go for this property, as it’s located at an ideal spot. However, after climbing unending stairs and check in, I found the rooms in a dismal condition. The super-deluxe room was in a pathetic state. Clearly, the government run hotel apathy was visible in its details. The room was hardly painted for years, the door paint was peeling off, and false ceiling was coming off, dirty balcony, torn bed sheet, old worn-out furniture, bed mattress not in sink with the bed. Even the view from the balcony was blocked by a huge tree in front of the hotel. However, the silver lining was the restaurant food was good and reasonably priced and staff was courteous, though their response time was a bit slow. The bottom-line is this hotel is not its money’s worth.

Room Tip: Take the top floor room on extreme left, since the view of lake is blocked by a huge tree in front o...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDass1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in this Rest house from 7th June in the Royal double room and guys, I must tell u that this is absolute value for money...The Royal rooms are simply not less than any suite of a 4 star property...The cook of this property is so humble & skilled..The homemade food without any oil & spices actually make this a perfect holiday..Only thing that cud have been better is breakfast in the morning, which does not have more than 2 options...Anywaz, it's alright as you end up eating according to your appetite only..The room rent is 5k INR per night & I can guarantee that in this rate you cannot get a better property in the entire Nainital..The view from the hotel room is simply breathtaking & in the evening, you actually prefer to have your dinner or tea in the out area front of your room. The hotel staff is very courteous & they actually treat you as their valued customer..100 on 100 to this property...Prefer to go for Royal room..

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Amit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

KMNV Tallital hotel are really good. Hotel rooms are spacious. Food (specially breakfast) is good. Hospitality is good. Location is good. Overall its value for money.

Also I had to cancel part of my booking in KMVN hotels (5 hotels all together) as few family members fell ill. A person named Mahesh from KMVN helped us a lot. Everytime he attended my calls even in odd hours. I received the refund payment timely.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms are better. Top rooms are good as view is better.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SMBRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
1.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 50 in Nainital
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#9 of 50 in Nainital
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#31 of 50 in Nainital
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
1.9 mi away
Nainital - Bhawanipur Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Krishna
Hotel Krishna
#15 of 50 in Nainital
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KMVN Tourist Rest House Tallital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KMVN Tourist Rest House Tallital

Address: Tallital, Nainital 263002, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 149 Speciality Lodging in Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing