We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Hidden Jewel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbotsford Nainital
Ranked #12 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Nainital
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were booked at a decent local Hotel for our three nights stay at Nainital. However, en-route on our way up, I felt that we must explore Abbotsford. It was a spot decision and we walked into this "Amazing Jewel" blindfolded; no regrets thereafter. Far from the maddening crowd, the location is a personification of peace and serenity. Extremely well maintained, by a devoted and loyal staff, who ensured a comfortable stay. Home away from home, our 9 year old grandson residing in Canada was gaga by every bit of Abbotsford.
If any one is seeking - the "Old World Charm" - undeniably it is here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford1876, Owner at Abbotsford Nainital, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

I'm glad you came over just to have a look at the property and never went back to where you were booked. Than says it all. Thank you Brig. Sapru for your wonderful review! Janhavi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

After a 7 hr drive from Delhi , when I entered nainital , I was taken aback by the overcrowded mall road and wondering if my descision of coming was right or not ??? But then I reached abbotsford .... And yes !!!! I was happy indeed on entering my room princess suite which made be feel like a queen !!! And yes the location ... HigOh up .,, away from hustle bustle of the town ..
Mrs aleem was an excellent host , indulging in chit chat with her was interesting . Food is awesome ..., but a bit expensive ..,, we were hungry and asked for food on reaching .., we were served yummy crossiant, pasta and soup .., me and my hubby loved it ... But on the lat day I got a bill of 2500 for the small lunch .., not that I mind paying , but was upset that I wad not informed abt the cost .., ( no menu was there .., so .,, )
They dO not have dinner in the package like rest of the hotels , which created confusion ... Since we were always wondering Shud we have dinner I the mall eateries or go back ... Even if we wanted to go back , we wud not get dinner unless we inform them by 5pm ,,, in this confusion I surely missed some good food .,,, ( I guess ) . Wish they had dinner included .
If u don't have your own car then getting a taxi can be a task . We had our own , so it was easy .
Overall a good stay if u r peace loving and wanna avoid those fancy hotels with dirty linen and overworked staff .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjuctaghosharora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Prasad Bhawan is an aristocrats home in which you can stay as a cherished guest. You get excellent food, superb service, unparalleled views of a Nainital sunrise over the hills, and above all, an elegant home like environment with all the luxuries one can expect. Its not just an elegant mansion with old world charm, it also has all the modern facilities one is used to.

Room Tip: "Juliet" gives you the best view of the sunrise, Princess Suite old world elegance, Queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shailik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford1876, Owner at Abbotsford Nainital, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Shaileka, thanks you for such a wonderful review, we are really touched by your keeness in every aspect of the property...there are a very few guests that see the charm of Abbotsford, its a old heritage home unlike a hotel it comes with its imperfections and that is what makes it different and old world. Thank you for visiting us and hope to see you in the spring again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

we (4 adults + 2 kids) stayed here from 9th june - 14th june 2013 and loved every moment of our stay.
food was excellent, the staff was ever vigilant and efficient, the hostess mrs aleem added that nice homely touch and was wonderful!
the property was amazing! built in the late 19th century, Abbotsford has been very well preserved and the decor is opulent yet conservative. it has the old world charm.
situated behind the high court, the noise of the city does not reach the place, i couldnt believe that we were living so close to the mall road yet couldnt hear it at all.

the main building has two suites - kings room and princess/pink suite, reception, kitchen & dining.
kings room is about 300sq feet with attached bath, princess room is about 400sq feet with study and attached bath. both of these rooms are on the first floor and have 20ft high curved ceilings. the view is of the trees of the property and unfortunately the valley is not visible from these rooms due to the trees.

another newly built attached cottage has the 2 hill rooms and the woodsworth suite. this structure is 2 storey and the woodsworth suite is on the first floor. it is about 600 -800sq feet, which consists of a dining cum drawing room, bedroom and closet and bathroom. woodsworth suite has its own private balcony that provides an excellent view of the valley and is great for morning tea and sit-outs.

we were lucky enough to stay in princess suite as well as the woodsworth suite and my friend stayed in the kings room.
if i were to opine on these:
1) princess suite : its great, attached to the property, old world charm, great study with a view of the forest.
2) kings room: same as the princess suite but smaller.
3) woodsworth suite: newly built, large and spacious, great view, rather cold (due to thinner walls), does not have the same old world feel about it like the above ones.

where would i stay?
my choice: PRINCESS SUITE, KINGS ROOM AND THEN WOODSWORTH SUITE.
REASON: i loved the high ceiling old world feel of the rooms, it has a historical perspective to it and its very conveniently located within the main building ( remember: you need to go in the dining room to have your meals.)

that said: woodsworth suite is fantastic and full marks for the decor etc, but its a newly built structure, that doesnt quite carry the main building's theme. but thats just me.

ABBOTSFORD IS THE PLACE TO STAY IN NAINITAL IF:

you like home cooked food.
you want personalized service.
old world charm.
be close to the city yet have your privacy and peace.

DO NOT STAY IN ABBOTSFORD IF:

you like facilities like swimming pool, spa, menu cards etc
you like to order food in the room
you like to have your meals at odd hours
you look for taj/oberoi style professionalism in every hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drkaurani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

It was a pleasant and peaceful stay away from the usual crowd of hills of nainital, just the one we wished for. This property seems like a vacation home in the hills for some royal, and it was an experience to stay here. It is not a large property but a very beautiful hill house with some amazing old era stuff. Food was awesome as it was prepared fresh and wasn’t the usual restaurant food that we dread on our holidays.
Lovely and polite staff, was nice to talk with the manager. Wish could stay longer as this is the kind of peace that everyone longs for on a holiday and Abbotsford has it with pleasure of serenity, nature and plain but amazing food. Kudos!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praveen_j_Jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford1876, Owner at Abbotsford Nainital, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear Mr Jain, thank you for sharing your experience at Abbotsford. Our aim is to keep the guest happy with the feel of the old world charm , its almost going back in time.We hope to have you with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This place is little away from the town.... We got a huge room and loved the location of the property.. it was away from the hustle and bustle of the Nainital town...The caretaker ..Mrs Aleem and her team was very hospitable. Quite polite and go out of their way to accommodate your request.

Since the room was huge, we wished it could have been better lit. We had a heater in our room which was a good addition as it was little chilly during the night... Downhill walk to the town is a good 25 mins and uphill is little challenging and you would need to shell out Rs 250 taxi fare.
Areas of Improvement besides the lighting, Meals were expensive..could have been less pricey. Towels were clean, but could have been a better quality.

Would recommend if you would like to stay little away from Town and enjoy the peace and serenity of the hills around..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Though expecting Nainital to be crowded and "touristy" our stay at Abbotsford was a completely calm and peaceful experience surrounded by nothing except wooded slopes, trees and views on all sides with sun lit lawns (where we preferred our breakfast/ coffees served via the "trolley") .
Well appointed heritage look-feel rooms with all modern appliances, wifi etc. made it an optimal stay to work (the laptop :) , relax, eat some excellent Indian/Continental meals and kick back around a bonfire end of the day.
The property is a located higher above the town and though a 20 min walk down to town/lake(which we like) but also ideal for some very scenic wooded hills walks in the upper reaches.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandhuQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford1876, Owner at Abbotsford Nainital, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Dear Mr Sandhu, thanks for your review. Next time we will make sure we serve you breakfast on the trolley :) Look forward to having you and Mrs Sandhu back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.0 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
0.0 mi away
Nainital - Bhawanipur Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.0 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 51 in Nainital
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#6 of 51 in Nainital
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chevron Fairhavens
Hotel Chevron Fairhavens
#19 of 51 in Nainital
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Naini Retreat
The Naini Retreat
#1 of 51 in Nainital
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsford Nainital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsford Nainital

Address: Prasada Bhawan, Oak Park | Mallital, Nainital 236001, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 151 Speciality Lodging in Nainital
Price Range: £54 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 130 year old heritage English house. Wooden floors, ceilings, old masonry....surrounded by oak tress, very peaceful. The property has been featured in the Conde Nast Traveller Supplement for India in 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbotsford Nainital reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing