We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place for relaxation and peace with not much of a view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Valley View Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nainital
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Valley View Cottage
Ranked #28 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Nainital
Noida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent place for relaxation and peace with not much of a view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights (12th and 13th June 2013) with full family (parents, wife and kids)
Quite far from the maddening place called Nainital and not for those, who are first-timers to Nainital.
If the idea is to relax and not much action then, it’s a good place.
Its location is on the road to nanital (coming from haldwani), so at times, the truck’s horn can be a disturbing element. View of Valley is just ok.
Property is well maintained and it was good for us that no other family was there, when we stayed, so complete focus of the caretaker was on us.
The meals were highlights and I must say, it was the best ever food I ate outside. The cook was simply very good at her craft.
I read the opinion on the wooden cottages and asked for it for then decided not to stay in it as they were smelly (wood smell which everyone can not enjoy) and it was on II floor. The ground floor of the property itself was a good two storey higher than normal, so it was too high for us especially when you need to come down to dining hall at ground floor for meals.
If someone want to watch TV, not much choice.. A DTH connection is required.
It can be summarized as a decent place for relaxation and peace with not much of a view. The distance from nainitaal can be an issue as there would be many other places which could be closer to Nainitaal and offering better view.

Room Tip: I floor room on balcony side..seems the best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aseemdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Don't ever go to this place!!! First of all it's totally away from mall road. We reached on 16.06.13 in the middle of the heavy rains that lashed uttarakhand. The bedcovers were filthy, stinking blankets, dirty towels, dirty furniture, leaking roofs, no pillows. We had to ask at least a dozen time for pillows. No snacks or anything of that sort available. We reached in the evening and asked for boiled eggs even that they couldn't provide.t. There is no television! Which they say is their usp. They don't have adequate staff to serve and attend to 4-5 families together at same time. They first attended to their other guests and did not even had the courtesy of asking us to wait. At quarter to 10 when we went down for dinner the table was all dirty, they served us cold food which included dal, rice, mix veg and chicken. Nothing more nothing more nothing less.when we objected to that there was a real heated argument and owner's father barged in saying that nainital is packed with tourists and this is the best we can for paying 4000 per night. After everything was sorted out even after asking they did not allowed us to carry food to our rooms for children and mr Noel was he'll bent of us leaving his property in the middle of the night with heavy rain creating havoc in the hills. Thanks to mr amar and ms simiran our travel agents, we got our money refunded minus the amount for 1 night and we were able to leave that place the next morning. They don't even provide food to the driver so beware.there is nothing in the proximity you can go to eat or have a cuppa tea.my advice ......always stay in a big setup like a hotel or a resort not far away from the mall road or the main city.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YadavDelhiYadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheValleyViewCottage, Owner at The Valley View Cottage, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
It is mandatory for us to give all travelers a background on this review since out of all the other reviews, this is the only one that shows complete frustration and poor service from our end.

We advertise ourselves as a HOMESTAY AND NOT A HOTEL.

Like in everybody's place we do have a television in the common area
where everyone can sit and enjoy together as a family and not be confined to their individual rooms.

Mr Yadav turned up to our homely cottage absolutely drunk and was creating havoc on our property. We had to ask him to leave since he was misbehaving and all our other guests were being harassed.

Despite all this on the request of his wife we allowed him to stay for the night on the condition that her drunk husband would not create a scene again.

We like to maintain a ambience of peace and quiet and do not like to have guests drinking and misbehaving at our property.

To sum it up this being the only review complaining about us while everyone else has been happy with our service we do not see the need to justify ourselves but had to reply since we would like to provide our services to people who want to feel safe and get away from the day to day city life in peace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

If you want to enjoy the blessings of mother nature this is the place to stay !!
Wonderful cottage with lovely scenic views straight from your bed thru' the big glass windows !
Loved the natural wooden aroma in the wooden rooms that we stayed in..
Has a nice big sit out attached to the room..all well furnished..
You can get hot running water anytime, they have good generator backup..
Best part is no TV in the room ! Nice experience ! Even though they had TV in the common room, none of us needed it..
Very peaceful serene place..we took a small trek from the cottage up the small hill on our own ...even my 3 years old daughter climbed her way & enjoyed the experience...the dog in the cottage very nicely escorted us all the way up & down !!
Nainital is just an half-an hour drive from this place...so no worry...you can go anytime you feel like..
Very hospitable people run this..Noel who owns this place makes sure you are very comfortable..very pleasant & thoughtful person..
Girish ji & the rest of the support staff are very nice & friendly..we got good homely food all the time as per our menu & wish !!
Absolutely no complaints ! We thoroughly enjoyed the stay here ...& since the rates are very reasonable , it's also value for money ! Would strongly recommend this ..

Room Tip: Take the wooden rooms at the top !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ganesh_sboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Had great fun,ultimate location....perfect place to relax in the middle of greenery...excellent food...very good people....Its not a hotel but home away home...awesome scenic beauty that u will fall in love with it...neat and clean rooms...service quality is excellent...I 'll give 10 on 10 for this cottage ...staying here wll make your trip memorable...will definitely visit again...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rahulmeenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Awesome cottage and excellent service & home made food....the surrounding is very peaceful and away from any kind of noise....home like feeling while staying there. Highly recommended if some one wants a peaceful environment with home like feeling and just want to relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amlan01ammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

A peaceful, beautiful and grand place away from the hustle and bustle of Nainital city, my wife and I were pleasantly surprised with the Valley View Cottage. We couldn't have asked for more from Makemytrip or Amar, the lucky proprietor of this lovely abode. The scenic beauty of the hills, sparse populace and vantage location makes it an ideal retreat to recharge your batteries. Amar provided a homely and friendly atmosphere (with sumptuous meals cooked by Radha, an ever-ready man-friday, Ganesh, who attended to the guests with great sincerity and respect) and personally guided us around the hills and the vantage point above the cottage. His dog, Browny, not to be outdone by his friend and master, accompanied us whenever we called him for a stroll atop the hill (and I being an animal lover, called him as often as I could). Overall, the scenic locales will floor you and make you want for more. The 2 days & 2 nights seemed fleeting as we couldn't savor the place fully. We shall definitely be going there again, given the chance.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P Surendra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Seriously, guys frustrated with work pressure and want to live few hours of peaceful heavenly adope sould visit here................homely cooked excellent food, no commercialisation, very decent people and totally home away home......short of words but was great experience staying there.

Room Tip: rooms fitted with wooden panel are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hemantdbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
3.4 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#17 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#8 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
3.1 mi away
Hotel Chevron Fairhavens
Hotel Chevron Fairhavens
#16 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vikram Vintage Inn
Vikram Vintage Inn
#4 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Valley View Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valley View Cottage

Property: The Valley View Cottage
Address: Gethia, Nainital, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Nainital
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing