We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but can be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Traveller's Paradise
Ranked #30 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Nainital
Ghaziabad, India
1 review
“Good but can be better”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

What works for this place is the peaceful ambiance. Very peaceful and the rooms are good. You have a private sitting area, that is lovely. The staff can be more warm and hospitable and true with their word. When they commit that a taxi will arrive, then it should. We almost missed our train due to this attitude. Else the place is clean and guys this hotel is close to mall road, don't exaggerate your criticism.

Room Tip: Be more assertive in demanding service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahulschon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuraagConsul, Owner at Traveller's Paradise, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank your for your comments.

I have noted your concerns and will work on improving it further. Be rest assured, the next time you stay with us, your concerns would have been resolved.

Just a comment regarding your concern, We ONLY help in trying to arrange a Taxi for you. Nainital has very limited number of Taxis and at times when the demand outstrips the supply, it is very difficult to arrange as per commitment as we can only depend on the Taxi Service provider, who at such times, are usually not very professional.

However, the good news is that Traveller's Paradise has now purchased its own Taxi (a Wagon R) and the same can be booked while making your reservations.

Regards,
Anuraag Consul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    33
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
47
25
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014

A Value for Money deal. Rooms are well furnished and maintained.The Staff is good and very helpful, specially Anurag Consul. Anurag helped us a lot during a tough time.

Thanks TP & Anurag . see you again : -)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Manoj T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuraagConsul, Owner at Traveller's Paradise, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your appreciation!! Your appreciations motivates the Traveller's Paradise Team to put in more efforts in improving the overall experience that we have envisioned for our guests.

It great to interact with you during your stay. We eagerly await to see you soon.

Regards,
Anuraag Consul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

lack of lift and genset
Scenic view is not possible from balcony or rooms
Food quality is excellent
Overall stay was good experience
Location of property is excellent just a walkway from Naini lake and mall road
Parking is not there you have to park vehicle in public parking

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djain72000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuraagConsul, Owner at Traveller's Paradise, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. Following is the response to your review:

1) Lift is not installed in the building as this is a building built in 1964 and structural modifications are not possible. Request all guests to specify if they want ground floor/ second floor rooms at the time of making a reservation (allotment if available).

As responded to an earlier review, power back up issue has been sorted w.e.f from 27/06/14 through separate inverters for every floor.

2) We DONT have Lake or Hill view as we are surrounded by buildings (CLEARLY mentioned on our website and elsewhere).

3) We DONT have a parking. Nearest Municipal Pay & Park is 10 metres away from the property (CLEARLY mentioned on our website and elsewhere).

We do hope to host you again soon.

Regards,
Anuraag Consul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in June 2014. I have a mixed feeling about this place, so I will list the pros and cons.

Pros:
1. Anurag Consul is a very nice host. There is no reason not to like him.
2. You can trust him to arrange transportation at very reasonable rates and that is a big deal if you are traveling in peak season: we visited Binsar and Kausani and came back to his place after 4 days. You can leave you extra luggage with them, while you travel light. In short, he is always eager to help.
3. They have a kitchen with a decent menu.

Cons:
1. We took the deluxe rooms. While the rooms are quite big very large windows, no light or fresh air ever gets in. The property is surrounded by other buildings and that part of town is quite congested. That was the biggest let-down for us. They have better (more expensive) rooms on higher floors, but I doubt if they are any more airy.
2. Bathrooms need renovation, and probably they are planning it.
3. If you are visiting Nainital in peak season and not traveling in your own car, this is probably not the place to pick. It is in Mallital, which means either of the two:
(a) You will be walking 2 km from the Tallital bus stop, the lodge wont provide a pickup and while the walk by the lake is nice, you will be wading through a very thick crowd: not pleasant and inconvenient if accompanied by young kids or old members.
(b) Or you will have to catch a rickshaw to cover half of the distance but the wait for the rickshaw can be quite long.
(c) Kitchen can be very slow at times.
(d) They offer free wi-fi which never connects.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subhra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuraagConsul, Owner at Traveller's Paradise, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Ma'am,

Thank you for your review. It was great to interact with your family and a learning experience for me during your stay with us.

Appreciate your comments. I would like to respond to your concerns as follows:

1) We dont have Lake or Hill view as we are surrounded by buildings in the heart of town (CLEARLY mentioned on our web-site). All our rooms are big as this is a building constructed in 1964. Our cheapest rooms are the ones situated at the back, the ones you choose. Higher floor rooms are more airy.

2) All our bathrooms are modern with all facilities. Renovation is a constant process at the end of the year and we will renovate what we think is not upto the mark.

3) Nainital experienced its heaviest Tourist Inflow at the time you visited this year in June. The city is not equipped to handle such a rush leading to traffic-jams on the Mall Road for 2-3 hours and infrastructure break-down. We do provide a shuttle service which is limited to certain hours and depending on availability. At the time when you reached Nainital, our shuttle was stuck in the traffic-jam and that;s why I suggested to you to walk up. I understand that walking through a huge crowd and a traffic-jam can be uncomfortable, but there is nothing we can do about it.

Such a situation generally happens during the month of JUNE every year. There is no way that the road in Nainital can be broadened or some other arrangements made by the administration. We have to live with it.

4) I dont allow my Kitchen to pre-prepare any gravy. We make fresh food once we receive the order and that is why I specifically tell all our Guests at the time of Check-In that food will take 30-45 minutes after being ordered.

5) Wi Fi is available in all public areas and even catches in most of the rooms. Again, the infrastructure of Nainital is not designed to support a huge rush and that's why all mobile connections and systems were down. This is beyond our control

I hope the above answers your concerns. We do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Anuraag Consul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It was nice to stay there. Feels like home. Near to Mall Road. Food was good. Anurag is always helpful. Staff was also good but yes a bit more professional training can definitely improve services. All in all a nice stay for the family.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmitKhurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnuraagConsul, Owner at Traveller's Paradise, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you again soon.

When I set up Traveller's Paradise after quitting my corporate job, one of the mission was to create employment opportunities for local residents of Uttarakhand. I have stuck to this policy and that is why you will see that all my staff is local village boys from the interiors of Uttarakhand.

When these boys first arrived 2-3 years back, Nainital was the first city they had seen in their life-time. So now once you know their background, I think you will appreciate what you saw of these boys during your stay with us.

I totally agree that they need more refinement and I am constantly working on that. You will be happy to know that 1 of boys who serviced you during your stay is now being promoted to the level of a Manager for a new property that Traveller's Paradise is launching very soon.

Regards,
Anuraag Consul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Not a very fancy hotel, but decent accomodation for a budget traveller. We visited Nainital last year and stayed at the Traveller's paradise. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the service is good and the family very friendly. Especially our kids were very happy just being with the family..

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor give a more open feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biplabm2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Since this is based on 'home stay' concept, the guest house does not have uniformed service, but once you get to know the owners and the staff,you will feel more at home there. The lake is within walking distance. The only problem is the steep climb to reach the hotel, but I guess that is a common problem in Nainital.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor give a more open feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilubip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nainital
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#14 of 49 in Nainital
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 49 in Nainital
68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#9 of 49 in Nainital
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel New Bharat
Hotel New Bharat
#27 of 49 in Nainital
172 reviews
8.9 mi away
Traveller's Paradise Naukuchiyatal
2.3 mi away
Ashoka's Naini Chalet Resort
Ashoka's Naini Chalet Resort
#17 of 144 in Nainital
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveller's Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Paradise

Property: Traveller's Paradise
Address: mallital | Consul Bhawan, Belvedere Compound Near Bank of Baroda, Mallital, Nainital 263001, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveller’s Paradise is situated in the heart of the city, nearby to the main shopping centre and dining areas, and walking distance from the Mall Road.The Guest House is owned, personally managed by one of the oldest and most reputed family of Nainital – the Consul Family.The Guest House is modeled on the “Home Stay Concept” with the most modern amenities and is a perfect Home away from Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Traveller's Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing