We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Naini Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Naini Retreat
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We went on 11th march....awesome hospitality and management..The views of the hotel was awesome. The rooms were clean and room service was instant. A great place to stay. The scenic beauty is outstanding. The hotel is spacious and consists of a large area. Overall its the best place to stay in.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somraj1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your encouraging Excellent feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Naini Retreat , Nainital

warm regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great resort with lake view... nice rooms... with good service.

Food can be better...
Linen can be better...
so can bathrooms be...

We stayed for one night... only for our reasons... nothing wrong with this place.

Room Tip: Good suites and duplex for Family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRAV_sat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff
We have noted your note for improvement . we will improve the said areas & bring the level upto your expectations .

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Naini Retreat , Nainital

warm regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I visited this property with my family early this week and found it superb. The resort was a good value for money with nice location, excellent views, decently sized rooms (in fact they upgraded us to "Garden view room" and then to "lake view room" without any extra charges), prompt room service, excellent food, decent and friendly staff, live music etc etc.
The front desk staff was very helpful in providing suggestions on various activities that we could indulge in while in Nainital, and they have a very prompt drop & pick-up service from the hotel to the Mall road.

I would definitely recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a first class experience at a decent price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSC69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Naini Retreat , Nainital

warm regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed for 3 Nights and 4 days at the Lake View Room. The room was wonderful with a semi private verandah where you can relish the afternoon tea / coffee and if its not cold in the morning as well. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The rooms have 32" LCD, washrooms are very neat and clean. Rooms are provided with all basic amentities which you expect from a luxury hotel.

Food was great too. We had Breakfast + Dinner Plan. Breakfast always had around 8-10 options in Indian / Cotinental food. Included corn flakes / oats, juice, coffee / tea, Bread / Toast, 2-3 Indian dishes, 1-2 continental, types of eggs and omlettes. Dinner too had plenty of opotions. Both of us were veggies and we always had an otion of 4-5 vegetables + Dal + Roti + Rice + 2-3 Desserts in the Dinner. Everything was pretty delicious.

Service was top class. Restaurant staff was pretty ettentive and courteous. Staff politely and warmly exchanged conversations. It was good to chat with them. Other Service was pretty neat too.

Cleanliness was top class which I had observed in some other hotels. Lobby,. Rooms, Restaurant evrything was very neat.

Location is picturesque and we clicked ennumerous snaps.

Prices are reasonable in comparison with simillar hotels.

Room service and cleaning was very efficient and neat.

Hotel provides pick up and drop to hotel at any number of times during day time (prior to 7.30 pm)

Now Some minus points:

1. Rooms have heaters but they are not very powerful and do not do justice to the size of rooms. It take mor times for rooms to get warm due to this.

2. From gate to lobby, its a long distance.particularly when climbing so not recommended for elders with knee problems.

3. Hotel is far from the mall. If you want to be nearer to lake, there are some better options.

4. Lake view rooms do not provide a lake view unless you get out of room in the verandah. The lake view from there is not breathtaking either.

But all in all it was a wonderful experience and suited our requirements. We enjoyed our stay utmost and will definitely go back again if we ever go back to Nainital.

Room Tip: Better Try Garden View rooms since the cost addition for a lake view room is not that justified. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PuneParag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff We look forward to welcoming you back to The Naini Retreat , Nainital

warm regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The Naini Retreat is a beautiful hotel in a picturesque location. We stayed for 4 nights and received excellent attention the whole time. The restaurant staff were attentive and friendly, the food delicious, room service, porters and housekeeping were prompt, friendly and efficient and the reception staff ready to assist at all times. The location was good for us as we could do lots of walking and also make good use of the hotel's courtesy bus when we didn't want to walk back from the Mall Road.
Would definitely recommend the Naini Retreat as the place to stay in Nainital.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelindaCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Naini Retreat , Nainital

warm regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

"The Naini Retreat" is a 4-star heritage property which was earlier vacation home of Maharaja of Pilibhit. It still maintains its old world charm. Situated on the hilltop above Naini lake, it provides an excellent view. We (4 couples & 2 kids) visited Mussoorie in March first week for 2 days. Rooms are excellent and staff is very hospitable. Being away from the Mall road, there is pickup & drop facility till the market. On the day we checked out, by afternoon we were stuck on Mall road, due to snowing. Hotel manager Mr. Mehta arranged for quick pickup for us back to hotel. In all its an excellent heritage property to stay in Nainital.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jiten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Naini Retreat , Nainital

Warm regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

First I would like to Thank you for your best hospitality and assistance specially Mr. Ranjeet from Front Desk.

And now for the time we spent at your resort, it was best value for money, decent and well mannered staff, good ambience of hotel, good taste of food, 100% satisfactory service.Little away from Mall Road but your shuttle service made it acceptable location.

And moreover we will definitely plan our next visit very soon at your resort and services.

Till then good bye and good luck.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinesh11pandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mehtaa, Resort Manager at The Naini Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will remain a source of inspiration to our staff
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Naini Retreat , Nainital

warm regards
A.S.Mehta
Resort Manager
9760090808

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 50 in Nainital
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
2.5 mi away
Sterling Nainital
Sterling Nainital
#4 of 50 in Nainital
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#7 of 50 in Nainital
320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vikram Vintage Inn
Vikram Vintage Inn
#6 of 50 in Nainital
325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 50 in Nainital
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Naini Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naini Retreat

Address: Ayarpatta Slopes | Mallital, Nainital 263001, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Nainital
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nainital
#1 Family Hotel in Nainital
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nainital
Price Range: £57 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Naini Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wrapped in quiet Himalayas, Nainital is one of India's most elite hill stations. Once the residence of Maharaja of Pilibhit, The Naini Retreat, one of the finest hotels in Nainital, has a majestic building exuding an Old World Charm that houses the most modern luxuries one could ask for. The hotel is one of the finest hotels in Nainital. Furnished with all the modern day amenities, the Hotel blends the world of hospitality with exceptional services for each of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Naini Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naini Retreat Hotel Nainital
Naini Retreat Hotel Nainital

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing