We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel elphinstone is the ideal place to stay in nainital.”
Review of Elphinstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elphinstone Hotel
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Nainital
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed in hotel elphinstone on 25 of april for three nights and four days.we were in room no.4 on the ground floor.There is a beautifully manicured lawn facing the lake.The view of the lake is breath takingly beautiful.It was like home away from home...The room service at one call away,the food as you want.Absolute cleanliness.The morning and evening teas sitting in the lawn were serenic.The hotel is totally victorian gothic with old world charm.Over all a wonderful experience.......

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neera g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Elphinstone Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Hi Readers,

While on our trip to Nanital , we did not have a hotel booking and took to this hotel impromptu.
The hotel rooms are small , decent bathroom , nothing fancy but the best part is facing the lake and you get that nice breeze in the evening. The Ibreakfast was good ... enjoyed the aloo puri . The hotels restaurant is well made. The staff is quick. Very simple 3 start kind of hotel. You can negotiate on the prices. Decent stay for someone who is looking for a simple and enjoyable experience right on the lake and near the mall road without having to pay much for the luxuries.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shahnaaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3D/2N during first week of April 2014. I was travelling with my wife and 2 kids in 2-5 age group. Location is very good, just in front of the lake and situated at the start of busy mall road which gives you easy access to Mall road and comfortable isolation from noise of busy street. (Just to add that location is incorrect in google map. It is 3rd to famous restaurant Chandni Chauk towards Tallital Bus Stand. I have reported this to Google Map Site). Room service is very good and available with single call. However room size is bit small if kids are along. Room size is same for both category deluxe/suite. In suite, they have one drawing room where 1 single bed can be accommodated, rest is same. Just average rooms. Garden area is good to sip morning/evening tea/cofee having good view of lake. Not too many stairs to be taken which I suppose is the case with almost all hotels in Nainital. Overall good at the price taken. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are good because of small garden area in front. Lake view is good from garden are...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nature_Lover_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Located close to the Tallital bus stand, there is a boat stand just opposite the hotel. The property is very old with a bust sculpture of Queen Victoria. The ground floor and 1st floor rooms are best overlooking the lake. Ground floor rooms have sit-out areas in the garden also. We went in the off season when double room rents were 1500/- plus taxes. The bedspread and linen is good, bathroom extremely spacious with running hot water from 7-12 noon. However, they will provide hot water in bucket during all other times. The restaurant offers standard menu slightly overpriced but tasty. We were expecting little more courteousness from the hotel manager, although he was entirely professional. But the room service boy was more keen to grab the tip than provide hospitality.
The hotel is certainly recommended to the fellow travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arpitam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Elphinstone Hotel has huge rooms and even huge bathrooms (almost half the size of the room). The plus point was bang opposite the lake, giving excellent view of the lake. With kids aged 4 years it was also very safe for them even when they were playing outside the rooms on the ground floor. The service was prompt. Though it looks old from outside, that adds to the beauty. Worth the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SachinParekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I have stayed in this hotel in July 2011 (sorry for a delayed review) when it was not a peak season in nainital. However, Elphinstone hotel is undoubtedly the best located place in nainital. Its on the mall road and facing the naini lake. One can see the entire lake, surrounding hills, famous temple and a big part of mall road from this hotel. One of my friend who was working in nainital that time booked the room for me. I reached the room early in morning. that time the entire lake and mall road was filled with clouds and i could not even see that there is a beautiful lake in front of my room. But after taking a power nap and getting ready, when i opened my room window/ gate, my mouth wide opened to see the beautiful scene in front of me. My room was on the top floor and provided a awesome landscape view of the entire city. Market is at 5 minute distance. Room was good at the price they charged for the top floor rooms which are bit small. No complaints with service also. Can not comment on food as i took all my meals outside except tea/ coffee which were good and timely provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CATIWARIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I found this hotel with big rooms and facing to Lake. The hotel is bit old type, but still very nice. One can avoid having food there and walk down to near by good restaurants. But the location and ancient British touch of the rooms are unbeatable.

Room Tip: Choose Corner upper floor rooms which are Lake Facing.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amit2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.0 mi away
Treebo Lake Side Inn
Treebo Lake Side Inn
#19 of 50 in Nainital
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krishna
Hotel Krishna
#15 of 50 in Nainital
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Himalaya
Hotel Himalaya
#9 of 50 in Nainital
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#39 of 50 in Nainital
131 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#7 of 50 in Nainital
298 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 50 in Nainital
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elphinstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elphinstone Hotel

Address: Mall Road, Nainital 263002, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Nainital
Price Range: £48 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elphinstone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Elphinstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing