We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elphinstone Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Nainital
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Himalaya(Nainital)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ashok Hotel(Nainital)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
26
60
24
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
60
24
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrunning hot water availableground floorexcellent locationbritish eralake viewbus standold agehotel staffmarket areachoose this hotelhotel is locatedprime locationnainital lakemallroadroomstoll
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

very well located, on the mall road, good huge rooms with enough space for a couple and kids. service is fast, but you would not get anything to eat after 10 PM. Staff is very helpful and polite. The hotel is well connected to other places of Nainital.

Room Tip: Take a suite, as it has large rooms and spacious
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuchi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We were there on 7 th and 8 th of June 2014. A suite (room num 23).The big plus for this hotel is the location , right on mall road and all rooms face the lake and the view is very refreshing. Huge balcony though it's a common balcony but still u can have your own space. Rooms are v dated they need renovation. The suites have 3 decent sized rooms linked together hence ample breathing space.perfect if it's a family. rooms and carpets both are frm the British era which would mean rooms are v huge and carpets are tooo old.Staff v cooperating and prompt. Food is ok. I would suggest to venture out for meals as there are a lot of good options on the mall itself. Overall v decent compared to wats available around.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Titlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We reached (2 couples) by car to the hotel approx 12 noon; during the check-in, our luggage was brought to our room and to our surprise, the bell boy was waiting for the tip and the restaurant waiter was waiting for order of food. We said we have travelled 5 hours, let us get fresh and we are staying for 3 nights, why so hurry for tip and order?
The soap provided was of the worst quality, a guest spending 3000 rupees per day will never use such soap, it is better not to give.
Only 1 Plug socket point was provided per room, do you expect a person to bring multi plug with him?
The hot water is provided only during 7 to 12 am.
The hotel is clean, restaurant provides good food. The view of the Naini Lake from the balcony is beautiful and right on the Mall Road gives you good approach to Market, Zoo, Cable ride, Boating, Cycle riksaw, bus depot, Nainadevi Temple etc.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madhu8414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Pros - nice view of lake, good food, spacious rooms, friendly staff
Cons - originally booked for 3 nights but had to rush back to Delhi in 2 days. They refused to refund. Flies in the room, unfresh blankets.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Saurabh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Best location on mall road itself. The view of naini lake is just superb. The booking process is just direct contact with them, some advance amount of funds transfer and it's done. Very honest and transparent people. The staff and service is awesome. Always ready for anything. The best value for money in whole of nainital for sure.

Room Tip: Prefer ground floor room. Good garden and view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harshit301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews