We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to live.Quiet place”
Review of Balrampur House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balrampur House
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Hotel is little far from mall road in a quiet place.best view of hills from there.good thing about this is they offer a pick and drop service to and from mall road.Rooms were awesome large and spacious.
Food is very good.Good garden to walk around.
Staff is very nice.soft spoken.Give you a felling of old antique environment....

Ashima

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashimabhasin87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

Royal house converted into a hotel, nice and cozy, large spacious rooms, lush green lawns and prompt service... awesome breakfast and the view is amazing. Order your breakfast and enjoy it while basking in the morning sun...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbansal1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was my 2nd stay here after a period of nearly 6 years but was pleased to stay there. The staff is very courteous n responsive. The rooms (super deluxe) are huge - largest being nearly 30 ft x 40 ft - bigger than many houses.

We were a group of 3 families n all of us had been here at the same time in 2006. the choice of stay was unanimous.

When we expressed desire for little less spicy food, they understood our requirement n quickly responded.

The grounds are amazingly large n the garden is maintained impeccably. The kids just loved it though it would have been better if there were more swings.

The upkeep could do with some improvements but the overall experience was still very satisfying. Definitely recommended for Nainital stay if you don't Essentially want to be on the mall.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jivingyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

If you like old heritage buildings with History, big gardens and good view of Himalayas ( you cant see the lake from here though), this is the place to visit. Its unknown, good value for money and comfortable.
If the management renovates the rooms to make them more comfortable, then i am sure it is going to be the best place to stay in Nainital. Room & food quality is a bit average, but they can do much more.
Overall i loved staying here .... and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traikhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed at Balarampur house in Nainital for 3 nights. It's a small Heritage Property on the Hilltop with only 15 rooms. The rooms are big and comfortable. Service is decent and hotel staff is well trained. We did feel it's little pricey though. They have packages including Dinner and we found it acceptable, but nothing great. The view from the Hotel garden is very nice. The building structure is old but we didn't find any problems with that.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Piyushb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

It's heritage property, with an old-world insouciance that harks back to a bygone era. A sprinkling of antique furniture, sepia photographs and gracious retainers make it a rather loving oddity. So if you are looking for something different among the new fangled lot of hotels in Nainital, here's the place. Large lawns, deep foliage of tall horse-chestnut trees and pots overflowing with outsided begonias and colourful fuschias give it a sense of space. Lounge on the greens or take a walk along cobbled paths up the hillsides, away from the traffic. Great home-style meals add to its charm.

Room Tip: Though there's a choice of being on the first or ground floor, all rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

A very warm colonial set up. The rooms are spacious....the ambience is typical old world types.Overall it is avery good experience. Food is average...and there is a scope for it to improve. The beds are a bit screechy . People are wrm and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Satyajit_Kotwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.1 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#6 of 51 in Nainital
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#11 of 51 in Nainital
353 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sterling Nainital
Sterling Nainital
#4 of 51 in Nainital
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#15 of 51 in Nainital
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vikram Vintage Inn
Vikram Vintage Inn
#7 of 51 in Nainital
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balrampur House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balrampur House

Address: Mallital, Nainital 263001, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Nainital
Price Range: £50 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balrampur House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BALRAMPUR HOUSE RESORT AND HOTEL IN NAINITAL - BEST HOTELS IN NAINITAL Balrampur House Resort and Hotel in Nainital, The Best Hotels in Nainital was summer Palace of the former Maharajas of Balrampur, Since 1890's, reconstructed and redesigned in 1930 by the renowned European Architect Mr Mortimer in the style of French Chateaus. A five minutes drive from the Mall road Nainital.The Balrampur House Resort and Hotels in Nainital is situated on a quiet hill with spectacular view of the surrounding Naina Peak & the Ayarpata hill. Balrampur House Resort and Hotel in Nainital has honor and distinction to host His Holiness The Dalai Lama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Balrampur House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing