We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Hospitaility!”
Review of Balrampur House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balrampur House
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This was my third visit to Balrampur House in as many years(!), and its as attractive as ever. A Raj era relic, it is a place of character and charm and is one of those place you hope won't change.
Run by the family themselves its not as professional or as luxurious as the many palaces in India now run by big hotel chains, dosen't have the best mattresses or toiletries, but has that level of service few can expect to achieve. The furniture is basic but classic, rooms are large with twenty foot ceilings, with bathrooms as big as most modern hotel rooms. Many rooms open up to shaded verandahs with cane chairs and beautiful garden views. The mountain air is priceless, and so is the sun.
Breakfast/Dinner included in our package is basic, but your omelet to order or hot purie will not be refused even if you woke up late and land up at 11.30 for breakfast, one full hour after closing of breakfast. Nor would the breakfast/dinner spread be picked up till the last guest has left his table. That is the level of princely luxury that the best modern hotel chains can never provide. You will not be charged extra for the many hot teas/coffees you ordered in the garden or in the verandah, and will be served with a smile, by staff who have been here for years.
There is not much in Nanital now mercilessly killed by population, commercialization and "development" like most Indian hill towns, but this is one of those little gems,that keep calling you back, timeless and frozen in time.

Room Tip: First floor rooms facing Garden are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashisharchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

I have been visiting Nainital since 1976 and in the last ten years or so i have always stayed at Balrampur House. The House belonging to the Raja Saheb of Balrampur is one of the most beautiful properties one can see in the Kumaon region. The huge rooms and well maintained gardens are a delightful pleasure to ones comfort. The staff is very helpful and i have always felt at home there. More than anything else one also gets to spend time with the Raja Saheb and family if one is lucky. He is a very pleasant and knowledgeable person and can talk on any topic. I have spent hours with him and since he knows the history of Awadh and other States i have got to hear some most fascinating stories of the old days.
The Hotel is well located and one gets to eat home like food which matters a lot esp if one is in the hills. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has the above interests.

Room Tip: They have rooms of different sizes though even the smallest is large enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Yasho V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Away from the rush of the mall road, this place gives you nice hide out. Rooms are huge as with any palace property, and interior is of royal taste. We stayed 4 nights booking 2 rooms, and had overall good experience. Good thing was that they were able to join two adjoining rooms for us giving us comfort of living as a family. The staff is friendly but bit short in numbers, few times we found our selves waiting for the service at the table or room bit too long. They serve buffet for dinners which are good in quality but they sure can improve on their desert offerings. To come back from mall road after 7PM you need to hire a taxi as their complementary service dont work in the late evening hours. Over all its sure a good deal if you can find it at a reasonable rate compared to any lake facing property.

Room Tip: first floor room gives good over view of mountain range while ground floor gives you easy access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darsh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Nice place to hide out. Good services. Pleasant mornings and can enjoy complete natural beauty. Heritage House, so don't expect modern look in toilet. Heaters inefficient for a big room. Quality food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Plus points were the large well equipped rooms, balconies where you can enjoy the sun going down and the very helpful staff. Minus point was the hotel was unheated and the nights were very cold. We were given a heater, which couldn't heat the very large room up, but we kept warm by huddling round it. the restaurant didn't seem to well patronised, so we ate in the town

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank osinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stayed here with a group friends, though we were informed about the place being an erstwhile king's rest house but the moment we checked in there was electricity tripped! The next 5 minutes before the power of restored..for me it was adventurous but my other friends were scared to death :-))

That was on funnier side, The place BIG, big rooms, beds are also old style and so are bathrooms but it gives you peak view of what kind of places kings/queens used to live!

Food was alright and so was service!

They did pay heed to every thing we asked for, I would like to stay at this place again !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Madan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We booked three rooms for 3 days of stay and as per our request we were assigned first floor rooms which are obviously better. The rooms are from the royal age, with many of the furnitures dating back to the age of the Maharajas, yet they are in a spic and span condition. The wooden floor adds to comfort and charm. The rooms were comfy and cosy during the chilling nights. Heaters were provided to add to the comfort.
The bathrooms are huge and very cleanwith all bauth tub and large counter basins. Only scope of improvement is 24hr running hot water to be made available and cleaning of the bathroom once a day. This is only downside that the room/ bathroom was not cleaned during our stay.
The best part is the food - You name it you get it...a wide range of options and you will not certainly be able to taste all th items although each one is finger licking good. Even they made customized dishes for my little son.
The lawn is a delight to hang out in the sun with breathtaking views at the backdrop. The pick up and drop from the Mall is prompt.
All in all a real pleasure to stay here. Surely my choice for my next visit to Nainital. Great value for money and most certainly refer to all.

Room Tip: First floor rooms especially front facing are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Somnath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.1 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#5 of 51 in Nainital
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 51 in Nainital
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sterling Nainital
Sterling Nainital
#4 of 51 in Nainital
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chevron Fairhavens
Hotel Chevron Fairhavens
#23 of 51 in Nainital
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vikram Vintage Inn
Vikram Vintage Inn
#6 of 51 in Nainital
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balrampur House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balrampur House

Address: Mallital, Nainital 263001, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Nainital
Price Range: £67 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balrampur House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BALRAMPUR HOUSE RESORT AND HOTEL IN NAINITAL - BEST HOTELS IN NAINITAL Balrampur House Resort and Hotel in Nainital, The Best Hotels in Nainital was summer Palace of the former Maharajas of Balrampur, Since 1890's, reconstructed and redesigned in 1930 by the renowned European Architect Mr Mortimer in the style of French Chateaus. A five minutes drive from the Mall road Nainital.The Balrampur House Resort and Hotels in Nainital is situated on a quiet hill with spectacular view of the surrounding Naina Peak & the Ayarpata hill. Balrampur House Resort and Hotel in Nainital has honor and distinction to host His Holiness The Dalai Lama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balrampur House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing