We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heritage property, Huge rooms but no activity offered”
Review of Balrampur House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balrampur House
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Nainital
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
124 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Heritage property, Huge rooms but no activity offered”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We (group of 7people) stayed at this property 28th oct 2013. The check in was quick. Rooms were huge. Bathrooms were dated with broken showers. There was no water pressure in the supply lines so we have to fill a bucket and use tumbler to take a bath. The room heaters were provided. Room service was good and food was tasty. Out side up keep and ambiance was good but no bonfire offered. They say they will charge Rs 1000 for bonfire if needed. We have to intimate in advance to arrange it for us. Food also to be ordered in advance so they get it from out side as the hotel kitchen was not fully functional. The staff was friendly but it was felt that they don't have the authority to entertain their guests. I don't recommend this property to stay.

Room Tip: no tip for this property.. all the rooms are dated and bathrooms are un maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jay17161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    53
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
90
30
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

One the most beautiful places in Kumaon region...The best time to visit the place is during the off season as one gets to literally gets the whole palace to himself.... Amazing home cooked food and best part is one gets to order whatever one feels like as we negotiated a deal with breakfast and dinner included.. Also since people are less during off-season so there is no buffet and can order whatever one wants... They offer complimentary pick-up and drop to the lake and other main part of the city which proves just awesome.... Staff is just amazingly courteous... I would recommend this place to all couples, group of friends who just want a peaceful place not too far away from the city.. Infact the day we check-ed in there was a group of 5 people all 50-55 year old who were childhood friends and have been coming to this place since last 10 years and they told amazing tales about this heritage property

Room Tip: All Rooms are good but I would suggest take a room on the first floor as they are generally larger a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank himjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This was my third visit to Balrampur House in as many years(!), and its as attractive as ever. A Raj era relic, it is a place of character and charm and is one of those place you hope won't change.
Run by the family themselves its not as professional or as luxurious as the many palaces in India now run by big hotel chains, dosen't have the best mattresses or toiletries, but has that level of service few can expect to achieve. The furniture is basic but classic, rooms are large with twenty foot ceilings, with bathrooms as big as most modern hotel rooms. Many rooms open up to shaded verandahs with cane chairs and beautiful garden views. The mountain air is priceless, and so is the sun.
Breakfast/Dinner included in our package is basic, but your omelet to order or hot purie will not be refused even if you woke up late and land up at 11.30 for breakfast, one full hour after closing of breakfast. Nor would the breakfast/dinner spread be picked up till the last guest has left his table. That is the level of princely luxury that the best modern hotel chains can never provide. You will not be charged extra for the many hot teas/coffees you ordered in the garden or in the verandah, and will be served with a smile, by staff who have been here for years.
There is not much in Nanital now mercilessly killed by population, commercialization and "development" like most Indian hill towns, but this is one of those little gems,that keep calling you back, timeless and frozen in time.

Room Tip: First floor rooms facing Garden are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashisharchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I have been visiting Nainital since 1976 and in the last ten years or so i have always stayed at Balrampur House. The House belonging to the Raja Saheb of Balrampur is one of the most beautiful properties one can see in the Kumaon region. The huge rooms and well maintained gardens are a delightful pleasure to ones comfort. The staff is very helpful and i have always felt at home there. More than anything else one also gets to spend time with the Raja Saheb and family if one is lucky. He is a very pleasant and knowledgeable person and can talk on any topic. I have spent hours with him and since he knows the history of Awadh and other States i have got to hear some most fascinating stories of the old days.
The Hotel is well located and one gets to eat home like food which matters a lot esp if one is in the hills. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has the above interests.

Room Tip: They have rooms of different sizes though even the smallest is large enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Yasho V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOIDA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Away from the rush of the mall road, this place gives you nice hide out. Rooms are huge as with any palace property, and interior is of royal taste. We stayed 4 nights booking 2 rooms, and had overall good experience. Good thing was that they were able to join two adjoining rooms for us giving us comfort of living as a family. The staff is friendly but bit short in numbers, few times we found our selves waiting for the service at the table or room bit too long. They serve buffet for dinners which are good in quality but they sure can improve on their desert offerings. To come back from mall road after 7PM you need to hire a taxi as their complementary service dont work in the late evening hours. Over all its sure a good deal if you can find it at a reasonable rate compared to any lake facing property.

Room Tip: first floor room gives good over view of mountain range while ground floor gives you easy access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darsh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Nice place to hide out. Good services. Pleasant mornings and can enjoy complete natural beauty. Heritage House, so don't expect modern look in toilet. Heaters inefficient for a big room. Quality food.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Plus points were the large well equipped rooms, balconies where you can enjoy the sun going down and the very helpful staff. Minus point was the hotel was unheated and the nights were very cold. We were given a heater, which couldn't heat the very large room up, but we kept warm by huddling round it. the restaurant didn't seem to well patronised, so we ate in the town

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nainital hotels
0.4 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#13 of 49 in Nainital
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Earl's Court
The Earl's Court
#7 of 49 in Nainital
292 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swiss Cottage
Swiss Cottage
#16 of 49 in Nainital
68 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nainital - Bhawanipur Greens, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chevron Fairhavens
Hotel Chevron Fairhavens
#18 of 49 in Nainital
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balrampur House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balrampur House

Property: Balrampur House
Address: Mallital, Nainital 263001, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Nainital
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Nainital
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Balrampur House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BALRAMPUR HOUSE RESORT AND HOTEL IN NAINITAL - BEST HOTELS IN NAINITAL Balrampur House Resort and Hotel in Nainital, The Best Hotels in Nainital was summer Palace of the former Maharajas of Balrampur, Since 1890's, reconstructed and redesigned in 1930 by the renowned European Architect Mr Mortimer in the style of French Chateaus. A five minutes drive from the Mall road Nainital.The Balrampur House Resort and Hotels in Nainital is situated on a quiet hill with spectacular view of the surrounding Naina Peak & the Ayarpata hill. Balrampur House Resort and Hotel in Nainital has honor and distinction to host His Holiness The Dalai Lama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balrampur House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing