We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”

David Brown's Restaurant and Tea Terraces
Ranked #167 of 1,677 Restaurants in Penang Island
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Penang
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The building is an English cottage with really nice deco and a huge garden with a pond. Really nice environment. The food served are of big portion but overpriced and nothing fantastic. Wanted coffee but was told that their coffee machine was not working! The service was equally bad.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nel118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    65
    38
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
218 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Scenic, relaxing”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Haven't been up Penang Hill for more than 10 years (using the old cable cars then) and decided to try out the new cable cars that are in use now. Headed to the peak and found David Brown... if you're stopping for a meal go to the restaurant but if just for tea, they'll request that you visit their Tea Terraces instead. We were ready for lunch and tried their soup, pasta and Waldorf salad. We weren't expecting much in this restored place but the food were pretty good though a bit pricey. If you're not in a rush to get to another place, go for an al-fresco relaxing lunch with a view of the Penang Island and a nice lily pond outside the restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank m00lah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do Not Eat at this Restaurant”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We travelled to this restaurant especially for the High Tea. It was an extremely disappointing experience. The food was poor - stale cake, sandwiches with only tuna, scones were ordinary, coffee did not have fresh milk and it was lukewarm. The tea was tea bags and when asked for a refill was simply water added to the old tea bags! The whole presentation was of the lowest standard. We were certainly taken advantage of being tourists and the price was inexcusably high. In all of our travels we have never experienced such poor quality food. In addition to this the staff presented poorly, unclean uniforms, not interested in serving the customer and also made no effort to take a credit card payment. In the end the question has to be why with such a wonderful destination would there be such a poorly presented restaurant. In terms of the outrageous price - we were able to have a full meal and drinks in a 4 star restaurant in town the same evening and it did not even go near the cost of the high tea - an absolute rip off! Never ever eat here - support other more worthy businesses in Georgetown.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MADSemaphore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Do not eat at this restaurant”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We travelled to this restaurant especially for the High Tea. It was an extremely disappointing experience. The food was poor - stale cake, sandwiches with only tuna, scones were ordinary, coffee did not have fresh milk and it was lukewarm. The tea was tea bags and when asked for a refill was simply water added to the old tea bags! The whole presentation was of the lowest standard. We were certainly taken advantage of being tourists and the price was inexcusably high. In all of our travels we have never experienced such poor quality food. In addition to this the staff presented poorly, unclean uniforms, not interested in serving the customer and also made no effort to take a credit card payment. In the end the question has to be why with such a wonderful destination would there be such a poorly presented restaurant. In terms of the outrageous price - we were able to have a full meal and drinks in a 4 star restaurant in town the same evening and it did not even go near the cost of the high tea - an absolute rip off! Never ever eat here - support other more worthy businesses in Georgetown.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy children not welcomed!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We wanted to have lunch in this restaurant today and my one year old son was so excited that he was shouting and jumping.the waitress told us their guest want a quiet meal,hence we were walked out.the restaurant should have put a sign outside the restaurant to say only adults allowed and why did they offer me a baby chair in the first place?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sieemeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed David Brown's Restaurant and Tea Terraces also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to David Brown's Restaurant and Tea Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing