We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tan Sam Guan Seafood”

Tan Sam Guan Seafood
Ranked #179 of 1,716 Restaurants in Penang Island
Cuisines: Malaysian
Restaurant details
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tan Sam Guan Seafood”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We returned again in August 2013 and Liang and Loon are still the same and the food is still excellent.

If you want to try the best food while in Penang visit this place, it’s the best. Also the cold beer man is next door the coldest beer in Penang.

Why we tell everyone I dont know, because its getting really busy sometimes hard to get a concrete table

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazza59011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Thanks "davnjan" for the directions. I can confirm great food and friendly attentive service. Great value. I'll definitely be back again for lunch.

For those also looking for directions, It's down the lane between the Lone Pine Hotel and the Golden Sands.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Klinsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Still going there several time a week”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This must rate as one of the best places on Penang Island to eat. We go there several time a week and have never had a poor meal yet. Liang and Loon are very hard working and cook everything fresh there and then. To miss this place whilst visiting Penang would be a sin. Patrick who sells the beer from the stall next door is well worth talking to he is an elderly Chinese Malay and will always have time to talk with you if not to busy and give you advise to help you enjoy your stay.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davnjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We were so lucky to find this restaurant whilst staying at the Golden Sands resort. The food is quite the best in town and excellent value for money, served by the most charming owners Liang and Loon. We ate there twice during our stay and tried 5 different dishes all of which were fantastic. The cold beer man next door added to the whole experience. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone staying in Batu Ferringhi.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roundtheglobe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“BEST place for lunch”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Have been visiting Penang for 20 years now, and this is the only place I will go to lunch. Previously run by Liang's dad, Liang and Loon have continued the tradition of excellent food at great prices. Yes it looks a bit tatty, but the food is always fresh and well cooked. If what you want is not on the menu, just ask and they will do it for you, or order it in for your next visit (I always have fresh water chestnuts - really nice and nothing like the ones you get in the UK). So If you are staying anywhere near the Golden Sands you must try this place for lunch (not open evenings)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tan Sam Guan Seafood also viewed

Penang Island, Penang
Penang Island, Penang
 
Tanjung Bungah, Penang Island
 

Been to Tan Sam Guan Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing