We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culinary delight ”

New Lane Hawker Centre
Ranked #141 of 2,500 Restaurants in Penang Island
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

Rocked up to a wave of smells that hit your nostrils straight away. You walk from stall to stall watching them busy away in their work preparing the food. You can ask what they are making and they'll talk you through the dish. Grab a seat then decide what you are having and they'll bring it to you. We tried 4 dishes between two of us so we could taste a few different types of food. All were great, not the most pleasing to the eye, but don't let that put you off, the food tastes great.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank Nat-Max-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

236 - 240 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

Not a huge hawker centre compared to some but food selection was to the usual standard.

Need to buy drinks if you wish to sit! Especially inside to avoid the rain. Look for the huge orange building with mural of a child. We got there just after 5 pm and it was filling up fast.

Date of visit: November 2015
2  Thank Biptuttijack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

I used to come here everytime I come to Penang due to the authenticity in the food but this time I left disappointed. The taste was below average but the price is triple of what I used to pay. Will probably not return here again unless someone tells me the quality is back to what it used to be

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Atkins R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Not everyone is great, like every hawker center but some guys are very good. My favourites are Wonton guy closest to the cafe, Satay guy on the road next to the intersection and chicken wings guy right behind him. Beef Noodle stand (fixed stall) on MacCalister Road next to Cafe. There is a Char Kwei Teou guy on the street near the intersection that is not always there but it's also quite good and normally has a long line. Average price is maybe Rm1 or 2 higher than some other cafe's further up MacCalister but I'm not willing to walk another 4 minutes to save Rm3/meal.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank philip e
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2015

It was very much in the open air – a bit too busy with lots of stalls, staff shouting on top of their voices. We had Chee Cheong Fun, Char Keow Teow, Chengdol and fruit drinks.
I prefer to eat in a more relaxed atmosphere.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank aster_palms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed New Lane Hawker Centre also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to New Lane Hawker Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.