We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect located”
Review of Hotell Marena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotell Marena
Ranked #1 of 2 Andenes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect located”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a very nice stay (only 1 night) and found this hotel clean and comfy. Room was small, but had what we needed. Bathroom fine and clean. Nice vew from our room to a little church and the sea. Breakfast okay, nothing special which seems to be normal in Norway..The hotel is located in the middle of the town, where you can walk to the harbour, the old lighthouse and to a beach, and from these places you have a beautiful view to island and mountains and, with a little luck, whales.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annegrete34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trond S, Manager at Hotell Marena, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Hi!

I´m sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at hotel Marena. I can reassure you that we have "fire buttons" on every floor. They are marked in the information in every room. The hotel is brand new, each room is build as a single fire cell and in case of fire the fire department is alerted right away. As well as the personel on call. The fire security is of course approved by the fire department, and is something we take very seriously.

We close the reception every night at 22.30, but we have people on call all night. I´m sure you read that in the information in the room.

I wish you had told us about your need for more storage/ a larger room. I´m sure we could have helped you out. We have different rooms, and it seems you have stayed in one of our smallest rooms. If you have told us, we would have changed the room as soon as possible. Some rooms have a fridge, some don´t. People have different needs.

If you ever come back to Andenes, I hope you will give us a second chance. And if you tell us something about your needs, we will do our best to meet them.

Regards, Trond Strøm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    50
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
45
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
219 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A very good hotel at the north of Andoya, Andenes. Good, complete rooms, friendly personnel and nice location in Andenes. Breakfast o.k., not special but complete. Not much more to say, about a good location!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night only as we were in Andennes for a whale watching trip. The hotel room (twin) was quite small but clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel did not have a restaurant for dinner so we went to an Italian and had pizza which was tasty.
Breakfast was the standard norwegian (eggs, smoked salmon, cold meats, delicious bread etc.) Andennes is not really a destination apart from the whale safari but if I was to go back, I would not hesitate in returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: I do not suppose any of the rooms have much of a view as the hotel is in the middle of town. Our tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
271 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Andenes is a small village. We came from Tromso by plane. There is no airbus here. We took a taxi to reach hotel- Hotel Merina- few mins only. It was about 2 km and we paid 80 euro as taxi fare.
The hotel is well located in the centre of the town. The staffs were very helpful and friendly, went out of their way to help us and gave us a city map, directions and guided us in all respects. This is a new hotel, very neat and clean and colourful. We were given rooms on 2nd floor- one single and one double. Single room was very spacious, however double room meets the requirement.
The breakfasts were OK with cereals and with limited choice.
After checking in we went to the sea shore- nobody was there in the radius of a few kilometres- the place was so remote! There was a beautiful and tall lighthouse.
The location of this hotel is superb. The sea shore, information office and the Whale Safari office is few minutes walking. There is a good departmental store also within few min walking distance.
We stayed here 2 nights, enjoyed the colourful cosy rooms.
The bus stand was 5 min walking distance from hotel, we took 7-00am bus to Risoyhamn- which is 50 km from Andenes to catch our hurtigruten ship to return to Bergen. The hotel breakfast timing was from 7am but they provided us a good breakfast at 6-30am. After that we checked out and took the bus. We were the only 3 passengers throughout the journey.
Overall, considering the remote area, the hotel was pretty remarkable!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPMALLIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The hotel is in the middle of Andenes so there aren't superb views from the hotel windows. However, the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The hotel is new, and the public areas are quite smart. The room was good in many respects - it was comfortable and had a desk, fridge,chairs and table etc, the lighting was GREAT, the shower was really good. However it was on the small size - it was OK but there wasn't much empty floor area. On the other hand how much floor area do you actually need in a bed room? It was also quite - it turned out there were quite a lot of people staying when we came to breakfast but you wouldn't have known. The breakfasts were OK but the choice was somewhat limited in comparison with other places we stayed in Norway. In fairness though, this is a small hotel quite a long way from anywhere much and we were pleased with it

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57russett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This may be the newest hotel in Andenes but there must be better options!

The hotel is well located in the centre of the town so easy to find. Parking is on the street but this doesn’t seem to be a problem. The receptionist was very cheerful and check in was quick. On the positive side the hotel is new and everything is in good condition. The standard of housekeeping is high with close attention to detail.

But our double room was almost comically small. There were two single beds one of which was not much better than a camp bed. I barely fitted in it and it was very uncomfortable. With two beds in the room there was almost no space to move. There was certainly no storage space so our clothes had to stay in our bags which at least fitted under the beds. This is pretty poor and I strongly suspect that the room was really meant to be a single one.

The bathroom was fine with a good strong shower with plenty of hot water and underfloor heating and plenty of towels.

Breakfast was dull. There were cereals and a buffet with limited choice and only a small few pieces of fresh fruit. Juice was weak from a machine and the coffee was also weak. On reflection we should ave eaten at a nearby bakery but breakfast is included in the room rate.

For dinner we went to a restaurant called Aresten about five minutes walk away which I strongly recommend – really nice atmosphere, friendly staff and good food.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trond S, Owner at Hotell Marena, responded to this review, 5 January 2013
We are very sorry that some of our guests experienced low sleep/bed quality last summer. The reason is that when the hotels double room were full booked, we offered single rooms with extra bed as a double room. We have listened to our guests, and have made rearrangements regarding the rooms. We now offer more double rooms and fewer single rooms. You may book a single room with a a extra bed, but we will now be assure that our guests now know that this is not the same standard as a double bed.

Regards,

Trond Strøm, general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

we've come back from andenes just last week,
we were there for of course for the whale tour,
we also had a chance to walk to hotel andrikken and have a look there, too,
i would perefer marena to andrikken for the following reason:
- closer to harbor and the safari tour ( andrikken is 5 more minutes of walk along the same road, and if your feet are burning with cold after a long tour out in the cold sea, it is harder to walk, considering the fact that you already have walked 10 mins from harvor to hotel.)
- is brand new, so has a much fresher look, although didn't see the rooms of andrikken the lobby and the restaurant area looked somewhat brown and worn out,
- the home made cookies in the entrance are delicious :)

the room size is o.k., but when we placed an extra bed for my son, there was not much room to move.

if you have problems sleeping, the orange curtains may not be thick anough to block the midnight sun.

i also wish they had a lift, as we had two heavy pieces of luggage, and were placed in the 2nd floor ( 2 floors in total but the steps are a bit on the steep side)

as for dinner, the restaurant next to whale safari tour is expensive and even if it is placed right on water, the windows are small and can't really see the view,
my husband recooneded the pizzeria on the way, and said it had much better view.

marena serves breakfast in the nearby cafe, but if you prefer there is a great cafe close to hotel, marena would direct you, which serves delicious sandwiches, desserts, and coffee.

the bar on the top floor of the whale safari restaurant was also nice with good view!

one more comment, if on the safari tour, make sure it is a good calm day, or else you can be sure you'll be seasick and will need a paper bag (they have plenty :) the staff also instructs and hands out pills one hour beforehand but didn't help most of us). make sure you are dressed accordingly because you are instructed to always stay outside , as going inside makes you even more sick. Go to the bathroom beforehand, especially with children, because, there were only two toilets on the boat and they were always busy! plus walking inside for the toilets , make you even more sick.

still, it is a nice adventure!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotell Marena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Marena

Property: Hotell Marena
Address: Storgata 15, Andenes 8480, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Andoy Municipality > Andenes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Andenes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotell Marena 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next time you visit Andøy and Andenes – whether you plan to see the large whales, the grand nature or some of the people who live here - you are welcome to stay at the newest hotel in town – Hotell Marena. Hotell Marena has 29 rooms. Single rooms, double rooms an a mini suite.Along with the Interior decorator Kari Ruud and photo artist Espen Tollefsen, we have now created a hotel that takes the magnificent nature that surrounds us into every room. Everything is done for your well-being. The rooms in the hotel have been named after the Norwegian storyteller Regine Normann’s fairytales. Each room - a new adventure.All rooms have their own bathroom with shower and toilet, TV and free wireless internet. Comfortable beds and clean rooms goes without saying. Breakfast is included.Summer 2013 we also open a coffeebar at the hotel. We will serve the best coffee and espresso based drinks, along with tea and chocolate of the best quality. You will also have the possibility to have some fresh bakery from our kitchen this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotell Marena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing