We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful & Affordable Slice of Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Te Nikau Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Te Nikau Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful & Affordable Slice of Paradise”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

A weka greeting as we drove onto this beautiful property set the pace for our stay in this rain forest retreat. Forest views from every window and comfortable community seating and dining areas were perfect. Breads and muffins baked daily were made available to guests for a small fee. A walkway from the property through the rain forest led us to cliffs overlooking the Tasman Sea. The incoming tide and pounding surf breathtaking. Recommend grocery shopping and making full use of the kitchen facilities. Don't forget the wine. The dining table setting makes for a special and memorable experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms viewed were clean and well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnajackson_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    69
    18
    7
    0
See reviews for
25
118
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My husband, 6 year old son and I stayed here for two nights in April, 2012. We loved it. We stayed in a room in the main lodge with its own ensuite. Our room was small but lovely. It had a double bed and a twin bed. We enjoyed playing board games each evening in the living room and cooking in the very well-stocked kitchen. One night the lady who ran the place gave us a few pounds of fresh mussels that someone had picked for us to cook up. There were freshly baked muffins each morning that we enjoyed as well. This place has easy access to the nearby beach and its amazing tidal pools. The only negative - and it has nothing to do with the retreat - is that the sand flies at the beach are bothersome. Wear a hat and a long sleeved shirt and long pants when you head down to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momwithtoddler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We stayed here 1 night on our way down the west coast. The lodge is set in the middle of a temperate rainforest. Drove down a gravelly slope with ferns right against our little four-door compact car -- be careful if you've got a big camper-van or SUV. Easy going staff, we just let ourselves in (no keys because it's so isolated!). We had a double bed room with ensuite bathroom. Clean, comfortable room. Bathroom was a bit chilly. Expansive, well stocked kitchen, comfy living room and lounge. They stock an assorted collection of foodstuffs and canned in the kitchen you can buy to cook a meal, and in the morning there was fresh baked muffins and bread to buy too.

--
About us:
We are an easy-going couple from the US in our late-twenties who have traveled a good many miles through the world, with experience staying in everything from campgrounds to big hostels to small B&Bs to five star hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saketbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oatley NSW
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the very secluded cabins. They might all be secluded because we couldn't see any other cabins. It was surrounded by dense rainforest. The cabin was comfortable, clean but a little cramped. No wi-fi, TV, or telephone...a total getaway. It was a walk on a gravel track back to our car. The staff were really friendly. It was peaceful, isolated and relaxing.
Backpackers would find this place perfect. There was tea and coffee making facilities but little else in the way of food. However as we had a car it was easy to drive to the local pub for a beer and a meal.
I am pretty sure the Internet was available in the common area. The whole experience was different and good value for money.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Genuine New Zealand - lush, green, beautiful. Loads of cool rooms, including a crazy 8 bed dorm... We stayed in Kowhai Cottage, well setup with three bedroooms, kitchen, and living. The service is awesome (expect very happy wwoofers), and the experience is about as authentic as you could ask for.

The highlight for me is the freshly baked european bread each morning. But the array of eclectic travellers, the spectacular bush location, and a million other amazing things made me fall in love with Te Nikau. There's no question we'll be back...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostintheether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odijk
Level Contributor
167 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Considering the options one might have in Punakaiki, this place is one of the best places to go to i recon. The place itself is nicely located in the woods, just before Punakaiki Town, if you can call it a town, because its so small.

The whole place is managed in a special way. First of all, there are no locks in the rooms. Even is you have a single double room with your own facilities, your room doesnt have a key, which means you will leave either leave your luggage unprotected in your room or you leave it in your car. though everything went fine, we didn't really like this, since its really easy to put a lock on the door. I guess it goes against the principles in this facility.

The rooms / cabins are located very nicely in the woods, very secluded and private. You will have to walk across a forest path to reach your rooms. Car parking is a bit difficult, so if you have heavy bags, it requires some sweat to get them to your room.

The cabin (Hideaway) was fine and the price very reasonable. The shower and bathroom were a bit primitive, but the bed was fine and so was the couch.

In general a good place to stay if you can handle the no lock thing and like a bit alternative surrounding.

Room Tip: The Hideaway was very nicely located and secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KvBerloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This is a fun place and I'm sure even more fun if you are young and take advantage of the common areas. We are in our 60s and stayed in the Hideaway which really did feel tucked away by itself in the rainforest. The Hideaway is up a short flight of steps and the sliding glass doors open to a pleasant deck surrounded by green. We were visited there by wekas, a stoat and numerous other birds. The room was clean and once we moved the room deodorizer outside, smelled fine. (This is a very humid environment and as the other reviewers have noted sometimes musty but I am extremely sensitive to smells and was not bothered.) We appreciated the toaster and dishes and could have used a small refrigerator for our milk but this is quibbling since we could have used one in the common kitchens. This was a handy stop for us from Wanaka to Mokihinui, easy to find and of course, very close to Punakaiki.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
2.4 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#3 of 3 in Punakaiki
92 reviews
1.9 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
648 reviews
1.3 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
303 reviews
1.2 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
186 reviews
11.9 mi away
Beach Hideaway
Beach Hideaway
#1 of 3 in Barrytown
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Nikau Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Nikau Retreat

Property: Te Nikau Retreat
Address: 19 Hartmount Place, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Te Nikau Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique hostel with all home comforts, lodges and cottages nestled in the native rainforest. Excellent place to relax ~ restore ~ explore. Beautiful beaches,river walks, horse trekking, kayaking close-by. Bread/muffins baked daily for sale. Wifi available at an extra cost ($5 for 24hs Unlimited). 3kms north of the Pancake Rocks, sign on main road Motel - Homestay - Backpackers indicates turn off. Book free pick up in advance only off Intercity coaches for 12.30pm or 3pm please be waiting outside the visitor information centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Te Nikau Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing