We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Te Nikau Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Te Nikau Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

The Te Nikau Retreat is a really nice place to spend some days just relaxing - cosy rooms, very tidy, clean kitchen and nice staff, not forget about the good muffins. One problem for people without a car could be the isolatated location. The beach is quite close with a little "bush walk". We really liked the trustworthy atmosphere.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Elharg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Thanks to excellent directions we had no problem finding the retreat and were warmly welcomed. We stayed in a private double with ensuite upstairs in the main lodge. This was adequate. We appreciated the heater and extra blankets. The views of the rainforest from the windows were amazing!

We took the short walk through the woods to the coast and took many photos of the shore with the wonderful surf.

We had come prepared and used the excellent kitchen to prepare a feast.

We only stayed on night, but would like to have had time to stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryann-ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Found the place to be a bit confusing. The lodges are based in the jungle, and are all over the place. Was a bit of a polava finding our lodge as there wasn't many signposts. But when we did find our lodge, I was very impressed. Had a very homely feel, with a well-equipped and clean kitchen down stairs and comfortable bedrooms upstairs. Was close to the beach and the pancake rocks, which were both very nice.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms (circa. 4 person) are far more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayneKelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

we were really looking forward to our stay in the Koru lodge at the retreat but were disappointed on our arrival. we were given a double room in the main house which is not what we had booked - the staff seemed too busy and were not very informative - we had to ask where our room was, what number it is etc and they gave us no information about the facilities or our accommodation or information about the local area. On arrival we were left standing around outside waiting for someone for 15 mins. the lodge we had booked looked like it was in use and the staff never mentioned anything about our change in accommodation - although the koru did not look that great any way and was not really 'nestled in the rainforest' - it was next to the office and the car park - so maybe it was better being in the main house! the car parking was a bit messy and our car felt in the way and there were lots of people wandering around the place. our room in the house was okay - but was not very secure - it had no outside locks and we did not feel happy about leaving all our belongs in an unlocked room in an unlocked communal house. the room was a good size although very basic - the shared bathroom facilities were downstairs at the other side of the house which was very inconvenient as you had to walk past everyone in the communal living area and kitchen and walk through the whole house to go to the toilet. the retreat is close to pancake rocks and easy to find (just of the state highway).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeNikauRetreat, Manager at Te Nikau Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Te Nikau Retreat. We always appreciate feedback in order to improve and we are sorry that some aspects of your stay were not upto you expectations.
We can only apologize for keeping you waiting when you arrived. As im sure you saw when you went exploring, we are quite scattered through the forest and we are not always able to be at reception. I hope you made yourself at home in Ruru while you waited.
As for upgrading your room to a queen in Ruru Lodge, this can happen to prevent guests from having to go outside in the night to use the bathrooms in the main house, and we regularly use Koru for staff instead of paying guests as it can be chilli and inconvenient during the winter. Again, this upgrade should have been explained when you arrived had the staff not been busy. Other room options are usually available if it is mentioned at the time. Full apologies for this and we hope that you enjoyed the other unique aspects of your stay in the area.
Te Nikau Retreat is a very safe, trusting and secure place as confirmed by the honesty box system in the kitchen and as yet, we have had no problems with privacy or safety of belongings.
Thank you for your patience and understanding in this matter and I hope you have enjoyed the rest of your journey. Blessings and kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This place is downright eccentric with oddball cabins in various parts of the coastal forest. Nevertheless its fun and AOK. We stayed in one of the small cabins (3 bedrooms I think) away from the main building. It was fine although the showers & toilets are squeezed together most oddly but they function well so who cares ?

A place to remember, good value and recommended

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaumaris32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We are truly amaze with this accommodation. At first, the location was a bit hard to locate, luckily we found it on our GPS, therefore, we have no problem to arrive.

Room is basic but enough, bathroom is amazing with forest view.

Bread and muffin freshly made daily and available to buy at a small fee.

Kitchen was fully equip included all kinds of herbs. Amazing.

Just take note there is no door key system. :)

Overall, is enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaWoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

A weka greeting as we drove onto this beautiful property set the pace for our stay in this rain forest retreat. Forest views from every window and comfortable community seating and dining areas were perfect. Breads and muffins baked daily were made available to guests for a small fee. A walkway from the property through the rain forest led us to cliffs overlooking the Tasman Sea. The incoming tide and pounding surf breathtaking. Recommend grocery shopping and making full use of the kitchen facilities. Don't forget the wine. The dining table setting makes for a special and memorable experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms viewed were clean and well-appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnajackson_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
2.3 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
95 reviews
1.9 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
687 reviews
1.2 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
2.0 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
315 reviews
17.7 mi away
Birds Ferry Lodge
Birds Ferry Lodge
#1 of 16 in Westport
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Nikau Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Nikau Retreat

Address: 19 Hartmount Place, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Punakaiki
Price Range: £30 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Te Nikau Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique hostel with all home comforts, lodges and cottages nestled in the native rainforest. Excellent place to relax ~ restore ~ explore. Beautiful beaches,river walks, horse trekking, kayaking close-by. Bread/muffins available for sale. FREE UNLIMITED WIFI is available in all rooms of the retreat. 3kms north of the Pancake Rocks, sign on main road Motel - Homestay - Backpackers indicates turn off. Book your Intercity Bus to the Truman Track (TRT) and you'll be only meters away from Te Nikau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Te Nikau Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing