We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of rainforest”
Review of Te Nikau Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Te Nikau Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This place was quite unique and nothing special to complain about. It depends in which lodge you are staying, the first one up on the hill was modern and had amazing views. The lodge where I stayed was just in the middle of the bushes. And it was quite hot to sleep. One night was quite enough :)!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I can just about guarantee that you've never experienced anything like this, because Te Nikau is completely unique. The developed space is minimized while the rainforest is maximized. Hideaway cabin is cozy, barely enough room for one large bed, 1 small bed and a small couch. Minimal cooking facilities in room but communal kitchen is about a two minute walk away. We loved this place. Could hear the muffled roar of the wild surf nearby and surrounded by birdsong. But probably not for everybody. I was told "no keys" when we checked in even though there was a locking mechanism on sliding glass door, so there was no way to secure belongings in room. Also no screens on wndows so you can expect some insects to get into the room. They were not bothersome to us. Also no toiletries in room so bring your own soap and shampoo. Beach is five minute walk away via Truman track. We liked the vibe of this place, sort of the communal feel. Overall recommended, just be aware of what you're getting into.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ziggyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

in the middle of the rainforest. It is a unique experience and I'm happy we stayed there, though it's so remote that we wouldn't have stayed there longer than 1 night within our 7-year old.
The beach a few min walk away has a stunning view of the sea. It's also not far at all from the pancake rocks by car.
This place could be improved though by extending the wifi range beyond the reception area, especially since we had no handphone reception. The room was also the smallest we had (we stayed at 6 different places) which, considering that there is lots of space around, is too bad.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antoine977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My favorite part was how this hostel is nestled right in the middle of the rainforest. From reception, we got to walk down a dense jungle path in order to get to our cottage. We stayed in a double room in the same building as a dorm with about 6 other individuals. It was cute and fun. Our room was tiny, but we are easy to please. A beautiful walk through the rainforest gets you to an amazing DOC beach--watching the sunset as this beach was one of my favorite parts of my trip to New Zealand! We slept well thanks to a good group of other people in the building. Was a little wary not having any locks on the doors to secure our belongings, but we didn't have any problems with theft. In the main building, they have a great little "pantry" where you can buy fresh-made bread, muffins, and various cooking supplies you might need (flour, butter, breakfast cereal, granola bars, coffee, etc.).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We spent just one night here on our trip down the west coast...we had a private room. It was like a very welcoming homestay...we had a comfortable room and the location and feel of the whole place was brilliant. Helen made us feel very welcome, and explained the house to us....we ate at the nearby Pub, which was good ,and thenmade our own breakfast in the communal kitchen the next morning. A lovely tranquil place.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Melanie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My wife and I fell in love with the place. Best weekend of our lives we reckon. If you are not afraid of roughing it a little , we cannot recommend booking The Stargazer hut enough. While it wouldnt suit everyone as its small and has no facilities or even electricity [who needs it!] we found the facilities we could use in the main lodge were more than adequate. Nothing like drifting off to sleep in your partners arms looking up through the glass roof as the stars put on a display and the night life of the bush comes alive outside your hut. Sharing our breakfast on the step of our hut with the local weka was just brilliant as well. We will be back! PS the other chalets in the bush looked really beautiful as well

Room Tip: Stargazer , go on do it , you know you want to. PS While there is no swimming pool the Tasman sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwizeppelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Short stop for the night. Got a Koru lodge, double cabin in the middle of a rainforest. Amazing location, short walk from the wonderful beach. Clean and cozy lodge, great atmosphere, very private, but close to main house with bathroom and kitchen. Would recommend to stay for a couple of nights, was very sad to leave. Something amazing, little paradise. Highly recommend.
P.S. There are 2 dollar fee for a towel rent (optional).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ugne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
2.3 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
97 reviews
21.4 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#16 of 19 in Greymouth
16 reviews
1.2 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#2 of 8 in Punakaiki
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
705 reviews
2 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 8 in Punakaiki
321 reviews
1.3 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Nikau Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Nikau Retreat

Address: 19 Hartmount Place, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Punakaiki
Price Range: £30 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Te Nikau Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique hostel with all home comforts, lodges and cottages nestled in the native rainforest. Excellent place to relax ~ restore ~ explore. Beautiful beaches, river walks, horse trekking, and kayaking close-by. Bread/muffins available for sale. FREE UNLIMITED WIFI is available in all rooms of the retreat. 3kms north of the Pancake Rocks, the sign on main road for Motel - Homestay - Backpackers indicates your turn off. Book your Intercity Bus to the Truman Track (TRT) and you'll be only meters away from Te Nikau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Te Nikau Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing