We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!!”

Pancake Rocks and Blowholes Walk
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Punakaiki
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Not to be missed! Best attraction along the west coast and it's so easily accessible, the best thing is you don't have to walk very far which is really wonderful as I see that many elderly were able to go there to enjoy the spectacular views!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank snowcat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,154
    432
    79
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It doesn't matter how many times I visit the pancake rocks and blowholes at Punakaiki, I always
find it an amazing spectacular place to experience. You can spend as long as you like there,
walk around the well maintained pathway as often as you like and the best part is it is all free, another amazing thing in this day and age. We New Zealanders (ex-pat like me) or residents should never take the beauty of our country for granted as it is truly amazing and something to be proud of.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithers, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“A cool collection of coastal rocks”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Not only a beautiful walk but a well set up and easy going walk. Take the quick 30min stroll, ooooo and ahhhh over what you see, but make sure you bring your camera!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Webeetravllingmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Glad we visited”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were driving past and it was a nice break on our journey. I have never seen rocks like this so it was interesting and a nice 20 minute circuit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DMc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“wet wet wet”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

it was raining hard and blowing even harder but we were determined to see the rocks. amazing the force of the water and on a fine day at high tide it must look great. unfortunately it was a very quick walk around holding onto hats and rails then back to the nearby toilets for a complete change of clothes and to get dry.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandy22NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pancake Rocks and Blowholes Walk also viewed

Punakaiki, West Coast Region
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
 
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
Punakaiki, West Coast Region
 

Been to Pancake Rocks and Blowholes Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing