We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, outdated and poor service”
Review of Punakaiki Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Punakaiki Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The title says it all.
The hotel has little going for it apart from its location and view, and the lack of alternatives in the area.
The rooms are extremely overpriced for what they offer. The furniture is outdated and the room lacks class in general.
The service was non-existent, unlike the rest of New Zealand, we were offered no help with booking any activities.
To top it all off, neither wifi nor breakfast were included in the extremely high rate.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tott1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear alexalex123, we apologize we did not meet your expectations and have taken your comments on board in our strive to provide the best possible service and room quality for our guests. We do take heart however that you enjoyed our location and view available. Because of our remote location Wireless internet is at a much larger cost compared to other urban areas and we know our internet prices are cheaper compared to other hotels in such areas. Thank you for your feedback and we wish you all the best on your onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed one night at the end of our time in NZ. The distinctive feature here is the setting - fabulous ocean-side location and when the sun sets over the surf it is as good as it gets. The hotel itself was OK bot nothing special. Surprised to have to pay for wifi, when most good motels provide it free at a much lower overall price. Restaurant again was OK if pricey. Would not be in a hurry to go back to this hotel - but this hotel in this location probably would draw me back

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit with us especially our location.

I hope your onward journey went well and we appreciate your recommendation for other travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

we booked two nights at the eco suite, $310/night on 30 and 31/12/13, ended up forfeiting our second night and came home. It was a huge disappointment. We arrived at about 4:30 in the afternoon, after we checked in we were given the keys for the room, only to walk in to a room that had not been made and stunk of cigarette smell. When we rang up the reception, we were told to wait in that room for them to ring back. We waited for about 10 minutes and they told us to go back to the reception to pick up the key for another room, no apology at all. The suite is basically no different to what you would get in a caravan park, bed is definitely not a king size as stated on the website, there were spider web on the ceiling and corner of the walls. We couldn't have dinner at the restaurant because we didn't book a table in advance, which is understandable. But when we asked if we could order snack food or finger food at the bar, the answer from the staff at the bar was just a blunt "No!" We were so fed up and were not prepared to spend our new years eve there as we originally planned. When checked out the next day, my husband said we actually decided to check out a day earlier even though we booked two nights, the response from the reception staff was "oh ok", did not even bother asking why we were checking out earlier, like it wasn't unusual for her. Do these people really know what "Service" mean? It's a shame that this place charge at a top price and call themselves a resort when they can't even provide basic service and the value for money is just a huge rip off. Will never be back again and will definitely not recommend it to anyone, I'd rather throwing my money away than spending it at the so-called resort.

Room Tip: don't even bother going there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Miranda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to relay your concerns to us following your recent stay with us at the Punakaiki Resort.

I am disappointed that you found aspects of your room and the service to be unsatisfactory. We do review all areas of concern raised by guests as your input is valuable in ensuring we achieve guest satisfaction.

We sincerely apologize for the mistake regarding your room upon check in and have discovered it was a mistake in communication. We now have procedures in place to prevent a future occurrence.

In regards to your issues raised regarding room cleanliness, we take housekeeping issues very seriously and have implemented procedures to thoroughly check for any spider webs and understand these can be appear quickly.

We regret that you found our service not too expectation and we will investigate your concerns raised as we do have bar snacks available.

Once again thank you for your feedback, we will use this in our constant endeavours to improve future guest experience. We wish to invite you to stay with us again so we can remedy your experience with us and please feel free to contact me directly by email at melanie@williamshotels.co.nz if you have any further concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Accommodation was in wooden cabins, reasonably spacious, not glamorous but clean. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent with lovely views over the ocean.
Was disappointed to be charged an extra percentage for settling my bill with a credit card - not good enough for a tourist hotel.
Lyn walked on the beach but her feet and ankles were eaten alive by sandflies

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AScottyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding your dinner at Jacobs Grill. Regarding your issue with sand flies we recommend that repellent spray is used and have spray available at reception.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I read all the recent tripadviser reports the night before staying complaining about food quality in the restaurant and went to the supermarket and organised room picnics for night & morning, you have a fridge, glasses, tea, instant/ground coffee so the restaurant never entered into my plan (it was busy and the menu yes looked expensive!)
Check in fine, room on ground floor that Paul Carberry from New Zealand in Depth had arranged for us, standard of room first class, just a coat of paint on the bedside table tops would finish it off nicely, views even from the ground floor were spot on, it is all about the location with this hotel. Just a point, if you are sharing and one has a shower, certainly in 104, as the shower cubicle is a plastic wall and against the bedroom wall, switch it on and anyone in the bedroom thinks you are sandblasting, very noisy!! We listened and acted on the reports of our friends at tripadviser and had a great stay and a room picnic is fun for a change, & helps with the budget!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about our rooms and location. Regarding the noise of the shower we apologize you found this excessive and will a look at ways to decrease the noise made. Once again thank you for your review and we appreciate your recommendation to other travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The Pukaiki Resort was a HUGE disappointment. After days of camping and budget motels we were looking forward to a luxury resort - happy to pay a higher price for something special. What we found was a a vastly overpriced just slightly better than a motel room, with no view of the beach, and a bar with truly horrible drinks for $15 a piece. Food was decent, but, again expensive. Oh, and they charge $6 for an hour of internet service for a $240 dollar room. Unbelievable. Overall - over priced and pretentious with no understanding of what a luxury hotel should be.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sage_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We sincerely regret not meeting your expectations of your standard garden view room on this occasion. We apologize you did not enjoy the taste of our cocktails. We take on board your constructive feedback and will work on ways to address these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Since there is no A/C, it was a little inconvenient that the screen beside the patio door was missing - would have loved to keep the window open for the ocean breeze and sound but due to the bugs this was not possible. A couple of tiles were missing grouting which is not a big deal at all as it was clean throughout. Free WiFi would have been nice even though is was pretty cheap at $3 for 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank souriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you for review with us.
I will be delighted to share this excellent feedback with our team. We really focus on doing everything we can to provide the best service possible and they will be pleased to see you have had a fabulous stay. In regards to not being able to leave your window open we are now in the process of either replacing or installing new fly screens so you can enjoy fresh air throughout the all rooms.

Thank you again, we are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
0.4 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
95 reviews
19.5 mi away
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
Dunollie Ranch Hotel
#15 of 19 in Greymouth
16 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Alpine Rose Motel
The Alpine Rose Motel
#3 of 19 in Greymouth
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
0.1 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
315 reviews
1.9 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Resort

Address: State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range: £123 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Punakaiki Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire the gorgeous sunset while dining on local West Coast food.Few places in the world can offer such comfort so close to the wild action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punakaiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punakaiki Hotel Punakaiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing