We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful view and lovely walks close by.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punakaiki Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Punakaiki Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mapua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A beautiful view and lovely walks close by.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is the second time that my husband and I have stayed here and we really love the location. The views are stunning and the proximity to many native bush walks is a real bonus. Our room was comfortable and was serviced on the days that we stayed. This time we stayed in a beach-front room, almost next to the main reception area. We did find this particular room to be quite noisy with road noise and when trucks went past the beds shook. It is a bit annoying to be charged a credit card surcharge and the price for the wifi is a bit rude. This time we did not eat in the restuarant as we felt the prices were a little expensive. It feels a bit like they're exploiting the fact that to access an evening meal you have to drive somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as far away from the road as possible to avoid the noise of the trucks going past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeClothier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our beautiful location with great views. We have recently changed our Wi-Fi internet system to provide a better service to our guests. We do receive great feedback about our meals served in our restaurant and generally guests believe our prices are justified. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us at Punakaiki Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    255
    147
    51
    17
See reviews for
86
394
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night and paid $135 (off season rate- normally over $200). Nice enough room but 3 things disappointed us and should be improved if the owners wish to attract more travellers.
1. No milk offered at check in- just the long life mini milks in the fridge. Missing the personal touch that all other accommodation has provided so far
2. Credit card charge of 1.5% - only the second place to expect the customer to cover credit card charges. Not a good look.
3. One hour of free wifi- and only on one device at a time. For an upmarket resort, I would have expected more.
The location is excellent but these 3 points let them down.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We take on board your comments in our strive to provide the best possible service for our guests. Our credit card surcharge is on par with industry standard and there are alternatives for payment which no surcharges apply. We have recently changed our Wi-FI policy for better service to guests. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
248 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile



The room was pleasant enough (although without a safe) and dinner in the restaurant was good but very expensive by New Zealand standards.

The unpleasant shocks were the 1.5% surcharge for paying by credit card; the policy of charging for wifi everywhere in the hotel (even in the pricey restaurant) ; the extortionate charge for using the washing machine and the Tumber dryer ($3 for each); the hotel policy of using tinned, not fresh, fruit at breakfast (not one piece of fresh fruit was available); and using only cheap processed ham and processed cheese at breakfast.

When I complained I was handed the business card of Melanie Hibbs, the General Manager of Williams Hotels, which owns the Punakaiki Resort, and invited me to email my complaint to her.

I did and she attempted to defend the credit charge on the grounds that it is universal in New Zealand. Having spent nearly 6 weeks in North and South islands I can tell her that it is not.

Her defence of the wifi charge is the high cost to the hotel - which is clearly nonsense. The hotel is simply profiteering from the lack of mobile coverage in the resort.

In fairness I was offered a goodwill refund of laundry and wifi costs, but as I pointed out her, I did not pay for these on a matter of principle, although I had been given a voucher for free 30 minutes wifi by one of the staff who was embarrassed by the hotel policy of charging restaurant customers for wifi.

I was not offered a refund of the credit card charge.

Despite a reminder the General Manager has not responded to the complaint about breakfast.

Sadly there is no real alternative hotel close to the Punakaiki Rocks and the management of the Punakaiki Resort clearly intends to take advantage of this fact. Be prepared to be ripped off for the extra unreasonable charges

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Once again thank you for your comments, we do appreciate all feedback received and were possible use this feedback to improve the services offered to our guests. We have emailed you about this.

Safe
A safe is available at reception for guests to store any valuables on request

Breakfast
We have taken your comments on board and are upgrading our breakfast but leaving the cost the same.

Wi-Fi
After your initial comment we offered our guests complimentary Wi-Fi for 1 hour and as of yesterday ,our Wi-Fi is completely free.

Credit Card Surcharge
The credit card surcharge is very standard now within our industry. Accor Hotels worldwide have this policy alone.

Washing Facilities
Again this is a very standard practice to have coin operated machines for guest use, on checking with other industry partners we found the prices vary from $2 to $6 per machine

We have had a number of meetings with our staff over your comments and we do appreciate you taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here one night over the Easter weekend when the weather was very very wet. The hotel was gorgeous, it kinda felt right to be experiencing the Cost in the rain! They seem to discount their rooms all the time, so the prices are good, why they don't just advertise them as such I don't know. The rooms are lovely and large, even the garden rooms are great and look out to the sea which we weren't expecting. It is hard to keep dry when it is raining though, as the rooms are detached from the main building. Lovely food and wait staff here, we will definitely be back in the future to see the Punakaiki Rocks, as the rain was so heavy the 18hrs we were there we couldn't go and see them (and enjoy it). Very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more for a sea view if they are available. Garden view can still see the beach t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bosha_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our large rooms and great value. We do provide an umbrella with each room for those wet days to keep our guests as dry as possible. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit to Punakaiki Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

With a wonderful view over the sea, our room was as comfortable and convenient as we could have wished for. We also enjoyed meals in the restaurant. A relaxing place in which to enjoy the beauties of the West Coast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind words regarding our nice views, comfortable rooms and restaurant meals. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the west coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

you may think the theme of my reviews has been that i love everywhere we have stayed, but the hospitality in new zealand has been fantastic and this is no exception, staff were great, location great, and the drive here was fantastic. Food good and reasonably priced, stay here if your after a relaxing night by the wild west coast beach!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fromlondononwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our friendly staff, beautiful location and restaurant experience. Once again thank you for your review and we appreciate your recommendation to other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay here with our two children for just one night and wished it was longer. We arrived late in a storm, and the hotel was being run off a generator: it was the only place with power in all of Punakaiki, and the staff took extra steps to make sure we were OK and had everything we needed for the night, knowing that when the generator went off, so would the lights and the water! The rooms are beautifully designed, and the dining and bar areas were gorgeous. The hotel is nestled nicely into the native bush and right on the edge of the beach. The food was very good, and the wine list was excellent. We would love to return here again to enjoy it properly for longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mish15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie H, General Manager at Punakaiki Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your understanding with power outages in the area. Thank you for your kind words regarding our nicely designed rooms, restaurant and bar area. Once again thank you for your review and we wish to invite you back to the resort so you can take advantage of the beautiful surrounding area as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
24.6 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
23.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 21 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.6 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.7 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Resort

Property: Punakaiki Resort
Address: State Highway 6, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Punakaiki Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the wild West Coast, 30 minutes north of Greymouth and 300m south of the famous Pancake Rocks and Blowholes, the Resort is surrounded by the Paparoa National Park and only metres from the beach. Floor to ceiling windows in the Waterline Restaurant and Bar mean you can admire the gorgeous sunset while dining on local West Coast food.Few places in the world can offer such comfort so close to the wild action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Punakaiki Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punakaiki Hotel Punakaiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing