We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great service, beautiful sunset.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hydrangea Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hydrangea Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
“great service, beautiful sunset.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

人很友好,景色很美,值得推荐!!!

we stayed one night at the upstair room. the people is very friendly and the view from the room is fantasitic! highly recommended for people want to see the pancake rock. no problem at all.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    87
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
176
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages-super comfortable.The location is fantastic as they are right next to the pancake rocks.The cottages are tastefully done and they are equipped with all the things you could need.Moreover the hosts ,Neil and his wife are so warm and friendly.Neil took our 10 yr old to show him the horses and that was the highlight of our son's trip.Wished we could have stayed longer and done some horseriding!

Room Tip: The cottages on the first floor have a seaview.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 14priya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed at Nikau Cottage with friends for 2 nights. The 2 bedroom cottage has a rustic charm but with all the mod cons. The setting is tucked away so its nice & private with great views of the ocean. The beds were very comfortable & the bathroom spacious & very clean.
You can walk to the Pancake Rocks & there is a cafe near the rocks or a restaurant at a hotel across the road. A great selection of good magazines & books to read if you want to stay in & DVD's available from the office. We really enjoyed our stay & would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: There are only 4 cottages. Miro cottage was next door to us - a one bedroom - & that also had th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We had a really comfortable night at Rimu Cottage. It's tucked away at the back of the property, so you're not bothered by the road traffic. It's very peaceful and sitting on. The verandah in the afternoon sun is so pleasant. The bathroom is perfect with a superb shower. The cottage is unique, individual and charming. Very friendly reception staff too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo8800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights here with a full moon that obscured star-gazing until about 4:00 in the morning, but DO set your alarm and see the brightest stars with clouds of the Milky Way. That was our highlight of Punakaiki! We had the Niki with 2 bedrooms that was very large & well appointed. Our deck looked right over the Tasman Sea with beautiful sunsets. The furniture is getting a little tired-looking, but the beds are comfortable and linens clean & crisp. Sleeping with the windows open with the waves and cold night-time temperatures made me feel right at home along the North Shore of Lake Superior. Be warned: the cottages sit right above the only road going through town, but the traffic does diminish during the night-time hours; so you do get some traffic noise. We brought food for breakfasts and lunches and for dinners, just walked down to the tavern or to another lodge across the road. Here's a hint for people travelling: go to a New World market (in all larger towns) and at the fish counter, you can buy a "coolie bin" for $0.50. With that, you can carry yogurt, juices, lunch meat, etc..and eat your breakfasts & lunches on the fly (usually at a beautiful overlook or on a hiking trail). We packed an insulated lunch bag from home to bring our lunches in during the daytime. Then, went out for dinners (usually able to "share" as the portions are enough for 2 people)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuchessKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Beautiful spot on wild and lush west coast. Very private cottages right opposite wonderful beach, well equipped (including real leaf tea with lap sang - couldn't believe our luck after the ubiquitous sad tea bags elsewhere), fabulously comfy bed, great shower, discerning DVD library. We booked in for the morning horse ride which was a fabulous way to see the river valley and beach. Neil is a great host of this (as was Chrissy, recently from Irrland to lend a hand). There was a family in our group with two girls, and Neil was so good with the younger one in providing respectful appropriate challenge while keeping her safe. The other host, Karen, was terrific too. Unreservedly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255100Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed there only one night in the Rata Suite. Karen the owner was very friendly and helpful. She upgraded us to the Rata Suite at no extra charge. A lovely location with great view of the ocean and the Pancake Rocks are only a short walk up the road. The only negative if you're cooking was the kitchen facilities which were very limited with only a 2 burner cook top and microwave.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTlikeswine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
0.3 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
2.0 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
0.9 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
24.4 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hydrangea Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hydrangea Cottages

Property: Hydrangea Cottages
Address: Main Rd, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five secluded, stylish cottages, surrounded by native bush, huge limestone outcrops, wild hydrangeas with stunning sea views. Choose from studio, one or two bedroom self contained options. Each cottage has its own design and character. We are 600 m south of the Pancake Rocks. Horse trekking available from end of October to June. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hydrangea Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hydrangea Cottages Hotel Punakaiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing