We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach baby, beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beach baby, beach”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

A totally random decision to stop here but glad we did. A delightful spot and our self contained cottage ticked all the boxes. Beautifully clean, comfortable and well presented, the owner made us feel so welcome. The weather was fabulous, we were within walking distance of the Pancake Rocks and high tide coincided with the most glorious sunset I have seen in a long while. We dined and sat long into the evening at the picnic table on top of the breakwater, listening to the sound of the sea and watching the stars. Idyllic. Peaceful. Fabulous. And sadly, for one night only.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    48
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
29
60
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PerthFamily5
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Our family of five stayed in a fabulously rustic three bedroom beach front cottage at this accommodation. The cottage was in the most beautiful location with only a path separating you from a beautiful beach with the most amazing cliff tops as a backdrop. Although this accommodation was not as modern as others we stayed in in New Zealand, we really enjoyed its rustic, cosy feel. All the beds were very comfortable and it had all the facilities that we required. It is within easy walking distance of the amazing Pancake Rocks which we also all enjoyed. I would love to return here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family5Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed at the cottage for one night. The location is wonderful, the beach is a few steps away and we enjoyed a bottle of wine sitting on the picnic table watching the waves crash on the beach.

The cottage itself is OK and has a certain charm but is well worn. It is clean and has everything you need. The furniture and decor is worn and past its best, it could easily to be improved and renovated.

We had a nice stay but would choose a motel unit next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
362 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This is the second time in five years we have stayed at these cottages. They are vintage, comfortable, right on the Tasman Sea and perfect for their closeness to the Pancake Rocks, Blowholes and a small glow worm cave. The sea lulls us to sleep and wakes us in the morning! Little kitchen to cook in if needed! Very nice helpful hosts.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage right on the ocean front, but any one is close enough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed hear when visiting the pancake rocks. Walking distance to the rocks and information centre. Amazing sunsets of the rocks. Close to the local pub. Great place to stay with friendly host's. Perfect location. would highly recommend

Room Tip: Room by the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Awesome location right on the beach. Weather was rather "westcoast-ish" on our one night stay but could benefit from its location. Cottage was a bit dated but had everything we needed and very spacious. We stayed in the unit by the beach and was so lovely to go to sleep to the sound of the water which seemed to be amplified by the sheer cliffs behind. Rather pricey but I think all in the area are. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandCone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Lovely location right by the sea. Amazing sunsets and great view of the Pancake Rocks. The unit had everything available that we could have wished for.The manager was very helpful with suggestions of what to do in the local area. An easy 5 minute walk along the sea front to a local pub with good beer and a basic menu. Just watch out for the waves when the tide is high!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
1.1 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
23.8 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#15 of 20 in Greymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
24.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Beachfront Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Beachfront Motels

Property: Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Address: Mabel Street | PO Box 66, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand (Formerly Punakaiki Cottage Motels)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Punakaiki Beachfront Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels offer newly refurbished quality West Coast accommodation right on the beachfront in Punakaiki. Well-appointed studio and family motel units all fully self-contained with hot plates, fridge, microwave, electric fry-pan, tea & coffee, convection heater, 42" flat screen TV with free-view, DVD and WiFi. Guest laundry, BBQ area and garden setting for all guests. Pets negotiable by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Punakaiki Beachfront Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing