We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not drive past”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We really enjoyed our accommodation and really could not have expected more for a place so close to the sea. Everything was so clean and had everything that you would want for your stay. Our only regret was that we had only arranged for a one night stay, The lady manager was so friendly and gave us good advice of where to eat and when it would be high tide at Pancake rocks. Punakaiki is a beauriful place. The rugged beauty of its beaches is spectacular. From the accommoation it is only a short walk up to Pancake rocks and blowhole. Not to be missed. Walk to your left and you have so many fantastic bush walking experiences to take on. Just pick a distance that suits you! Great place to stay, central to everythibng at Punakiki and freindly owners.

Room Tip: Ask at reception, they will help you out.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

Beachside accommodation within a spit of the sea. Perfectly placed for walks along the beach and to enjoy the most amazing sunset. Just lying in bed listening to the pounding surf was worth the nights accommodation. A self contained unit that was clean, comfortable and with all the amenities requred, but would suggest you take own food as local pub was poor. Great location for Pancake Rocks.and a dynamic coastline.

Room Tip: Book the cottage nearest to the sea!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollyhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a beachside Bach or shack as they call it in Australia. It was very clean but very basic. The managers were friendly. It is right on the beach but to be fair it's is more a stony walkway long the sea. They are lovely picnic tables you can sit on the take in the view. When we walked down the beach we were disappointed to see similar but nicer & newer looking accomodation a few mins down the beach with better views including the backpackers. You have to pay for Internet.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AoifeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

There are not too many places to stay in Punakaiki. We felt that this one was very over priced.
The room was clean and the manager very nice and friendly. Although we were right near the beach is was too cold and windy to go out for a walk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

A totally random decision to stop here but glad we did. A delightful spot and our self contained cottage ticked all the boxes. Beautifully clean, comfortable and well presented, the owner made us feel so welcome. The weather was fabulous, we were within walking distance of the Pancake Rocks and high tide coincided with the most glorious sunset I have seen in a long while. We dined and sat long into the evening at the picnic table on top of the breakwater, listening to the sound of the sea and watching the stars. Idyllic. Peaceful. Fabulous. And sadly, for one night only.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Our family of five stayed in a fabulously rustic three bedroom beach front cottage at this accommodation. The cottage was in the most beautiful location with only a path separating you from a beautiful beach with the most amazing cliff tops as a backdrop. Although this accommodation was not as modern as others we stayed in in New Zealand, we really enjoyed its rustic, cosy feel. All the beds were very comfortable and it had all the facilities that we required. It is within easy walking distance of the amazing Pancake Rocks which we also all enjoyed. I would love to return here in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Family5Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We stayed at the cottage for one night. The location is wonderful, the beach is a few steps away and we enjoyed a bottle of wine sitting on the picnic table watching the waves crash on the beach.

The cottage itself is OK and has a certain charm but is well worn. It is clean and has everything you need. The furniture and decor is worn and past its best, it could easily to be improved and renovated.

We had a nice stay but would choose a motel unit next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
1.0 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
93 reviews
23.8 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#12 of 20 in Greymouth
96 reviews
24.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
672 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
311 reviews
1.3 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Beachfront Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Beachfront Motels

Address: Mabel Street | PO Box 66, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand (Formerly Punakaiki Cottage Motels)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
Price Range: £84 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Punakaiki Beachfront Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels offer newly refurbished quality West Coast accommodation right on the beachfront in Punakaiki. Well-appointed studio and family motel units all fully self-contained with hot plates, fridge, microwave, electric fry-pan, tea & coffee, convection heater, 42" flat screen TV with free-view, DVD and WiFi. Guest laundry, BBQ area and garden setting for all guests. Pets negotiable by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Punakaiki Beachfront Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing