We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As it says - right on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“As it says - right on the beach!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed in a separate double bedded unit adjacent to the main hostel building in what was a converted truck body with our own private seating area with chairs overlooking the ocean added on the front. This was comfy and homely.

The communal kitchen is well equipped and has great views

The owner makes and sells delicious homemade bread and cakes.

There are a few food items for sale at the hostel and a bigger selection at the motor park just along the road.

Its a 15 minute walk along the main road to the Pancake Rocks and the tourist office/cafe

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    60
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
96
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed in Te Hui House, the second unit of this hostel. We have stayed in Punakaiki Beach Hostel before, and wanted to stay again on our way down the West Coast. To us the Te Hui House lacks the charm and homely feel of the main builiding that is Punakaiki Beach Hostel. Yes, it was fairly clean and had a small kitchen for us to use. We stayed in a bunk bed room in the groud floor. Room was very basic and a little dark. The shared bathroom was clean but a bit dated. The second floor of Te Hui House seemed nicer though. Also, the Te Hui House unit didn't have the supreme seaside views of the main unit Punakaiki Beach Hostel, as the location is closer to the road. Wifi was not free, and we also had to pay for the towels. We felt the price was a bit expensive for what we got. However, the homebaked bread you can buy from the reception over at Punakaiki Beach Hostel is very good and watching the sunset from the beach is a must!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main unit at the Punakaiki Beach Hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korimako_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely chacterful backpackers by the sea. Colourful and clean, a great place to relax for a couple of days, see the pancakes and do the beautiful river walks. Friendly atmosphere and communal spaces are upstairs giving view over the sea. Nice garden too.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed in their the hui house which is located the next road over from the hostel- still only a minutes walk from the beach and the only eatery around.

The house was impeccably clean, spacious and surprisingly sound proof.
Not the most comfortable to sleep in and the ranch slider door to our room let in a lot of wind during the night so ended up being quite cold-

would suggest bringing extra blankets- or asking for extra blankets when you arrive- I'm sure they would be more than happy to help!

Awesome to have unlimited internet too!

Room Tip: If you're staying in the upstairs room with a ranch slider you need extra blankets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank greerybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a double room in their Te Hui house, beach is only 1 minute walk down the street. 10 minute walk to pancake rocks, the location is beautiful and the hostel well manages. Also one of the fastest internet connections I found in NZ hostels (with no limits)

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 2012kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

This place is right on the seafront about 500m walk from the pancake rocks. The kitchen here is the only place we've seen in NZ where the pans weren't all burned and bent. They sell fantastic fresh cakes and bread at reception. We stayed in 'the truck': a quirky old vehicle that must have been there for twenty years or more. It was so nice, we wanted to stay longer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Reyes Station, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We camped in the yard. There was not a lot of room for tents. It felt cramped. There was noise from the social area until fairly late. The facility was clean. The host was efficient. The location was good, but all in all I'd say my experience was just okay.

Room Tip: Get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punakaiki
1.2 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
93 reviews
24.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
#18 of 20 in Greymouth
466 reviews
24.5 mi away
Apostles View Motel
Apostles View Motel
#14 of 20 in Greymouth
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Beach Hostel

Property: Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Address: 4 Webb Street | West Coast, Punakaiki, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Punakaiki Beach Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Standard accommodation for budget travelers. Enjoy our friendly atmosphere and relax to the sound of the sea. You won't get any closer to the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punakaiki Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing