We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy base for exploring Punakaiki and surrounding...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Punakaiki, West Coast Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Alison A
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cosy base for exploring Punakaiki and surrounding West Coast area”
Reviewed 24 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed next door at the second house of the owner (Paparoa Whare). Cottage was clean and cosy with great amenities for a young family. My 5-year old son loved the rocky beach and waterfall nearby and the cheeky weka bird that almost stole his shoes! Provided an excellent home base to explore the Punakaiki area and surrounding west coast. Thank you to Brendan and Eva for making booking so easy and welcoming us during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy and private
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebsterF
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nestled in the trees”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Really cute cottage. Suitable for us for one night. Walk to Truman Track and beach. Very quiet and relaxing. BBQ on top deck available. Kitchen ok.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeckyButt...
Karratha, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great private location”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We loved how private and discreet this house is, it was lovely having our own little piece of Punakaiki for a few days. The house has good heating and the kitchen is really well equipped, though I agree with the last reviewer that the knives need sharpening :-) the bed is super comfy and the lounge area is a great spot to take in the view. We had lovely lamb curry & garden salad prepared for us on the first night by Marie and this was great and so nice to be able to eat a home cooked meal while on holidays. Would suggest that the cleanliness of the bedding be looked at as the doona cover seemed a little hairy and we had a sock at the end of our bed, no big deal, this place was still amazing. We highly recommend this house, it's a beautiful spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajnsnnz
Tustin, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A world away”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Wharepuni was wonderful. Nestled amongst almost sub-tropical like bush, it is a place of calmness and warmth. The house is a beautiful small retreat, but still connected to the outside world with excellent wifi. Marie, from a few houses up, is gracious and gives a sense of assurance that help is not far away if needed. The only very small request would be for the kitchen knives to be sharpened.

We had a very calm day on the Coast and Truman's beach was spectacular. We would definitely return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike L
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Should have stayed another night”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just off the main highway, but a world away from civilization. Our two story home was privately tucked into the trees. The bedroom and bathroom were on the lower level with the living area and kitchen above. The house had a very "earthy" feel with all of the wood and the tile and stone shower. We watched an ocean sunset from our upper level deck. Later that night we saw more stars than we've ever seen. Wonderful bed with crisp linens and beautiful comforter. Pancake rocks and trails are nearby. Did I mention the stars!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne126
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in November 2013

The accommodation is really nice with a luxurious bathroom and an amazing view on the forest and sea.

The welcome from your host Brendan was very nice and provided us some good advices of thing to do.

It's a very peaceful place and well situated to visit the area of Pancakes rocks that I recommend to everyone who are looking for a sweet home to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house wih the view of the forest at 360°
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui D
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway in Perfect Location”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

So glad we found this beautiful place to spend the night. As soon as we arrived we immediately regretted not having longer to stay. Fantastic view from the upstairs balcony, just sit back and watch the beautiful sunset. The house has been lovingly built to make the most of the forest and hills surrounding it. There is a lovely aspect from every window and the cosy lounge looks out into the tops of the trees. A Well equipped kitchen with all your needs catered for and if you don't feel like cooking, you can have a delicious meal delivered to the door from Marie's ( highly recommend this) A short 5 minute walk through a forest path brings you out onto a beautiful beach and pancake rocks are just 3kms away. Brendan and Julie make you feel very welcome and give good advice on the local area and then leave you to enjoy this peaceful oasis. Just perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing