We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location, nice facilities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Punakaiki
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Punakaiki Beach Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Emerald Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrific location, nice facilities”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Set very close to the Pancake Rocks, a river hike, and beautiful beaches, this is a special spot that we wish we could have enjoyed for longer. The facilities were clean and in good working order, the kitchen was functional and easily accommodated those wishing to use it, and there were both indoor and outdoor tables in an inviting setting. This is the first year for the new owners of the beach camp, and they were extremely helpful and friendly, directing us to a lovely 3-h walk in Paparoa National Park and helping us sort out other details. We loved the handpainted map of the park that they used to show us where our campsite was--shows a little creativity and saves on paper, too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrahminyKite48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    43
    20
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
52
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gemenos, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed here only one night but really wish I'd known about this place. After a very uncomfortable stay at the backpacker's next door, I managed to get a cabin at the beach camp and loved it! I found the people super friendly, the location unbelievable and was very lucky to see the most amazin sunset when I stayed there. The place is big and therefore it feels like we have the place to ourselves. The cabin I stayed in had its own kitchenette and a separate room with the double bed. The shared areas were big and clean. I could not fault this place. It is one of two aamzing places I stayed in during my stay in NZ and I just wish others will be encouraged by reviews to go and check it out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireaGemenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punakaikibeachcamp, Manager at Punakaiki Beach Camp, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi Clairea.

Firstly, thanks for your review! We love to hear of guests feedback regarding our little gem!

On clear nights Punakaiki sure does show off some awesome sunsets. I have uploaded one of my personal favorites in the photos area above!

Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Regards
Jed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This campsite is directly at the beach, the powered sites are large to park the campervan. At the time of our stay there were many sandflies. There are only 3 showers and 3 toilets in the mens washroom. One sink did not work at all. The other sinks faucet had to be constantly pressed with one hand to get water, this is according to a sign for water conservation. The dryer did work but cllothes were still quite wet afterwards. When I checked in I did not get an overview plan of the campground and when I asked to take a picture of the layout from the reception I was reminded of copyright....how stupid is this?From all the holiday parks we went to in this vacation this was the one we liked least. There is no playground for kids apart from the beach itself. This campground does not have any internet, if you need it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdickgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punakaikibeachcamp, Manager at Punakaiki Beach Camp, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi there.

Thank you for your feedback.

Here at the Punakaiki Beach Camp we do strive to have our facilities as pristine as the area. We were unaware of the tap not working and have since had it fixed. A guest kindly let us know at the time and it was sorted right away.

The Punakaiki water supply is not huge and due to being such a large water user, here at the camp we do try to conserve water with timer taps. The community really appreciate our effort.

The dryer here goes for 1 hour so is a good amount of time to dry clothes. Usually when overloaded the dryer will automatically shut down, this is quite likely what happened in this case.

Sorry about not having a hand out map, we do like our hand painted map and find it more original than a computer made one. As for the copyright comment we apologise if the humour was taken the wrong way. By all means you were allowed to take a photo.

We are currently installing internet into our camp.

Thanks again
Jed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geldermalsen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We were here last november just one week after the new owners got the camping. The campsite is just great!
The campsites are very large with power, clean toilets and showers, large kitchen with enough stoves to cook and last but not least very friendly owners!

The pancake rocks and a beautifull riverwalk are just on walk-distance. It is worth to stay several days at this location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank-Marleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We spent one night here on the way along the west coast with our campervan. The setting was superb being right next to a beautiful beach and a five minute walk from pancake rocks. A walk along the beach at sunset was beautiful and there were not too many sand flies! Facilities were good, if a little cramped but what really made it for us were the wonderful owners. We locked our keys in our campervan in the torrential morning rain and the owner (we never got his name!!!) came out and helped us get in. He was a real superstar!! We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punakaikibeachcamp, Manager at Punakaiki Beach Camp, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi Kate.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the Punakaiki Beach Camp. 'Craig' the name of the Superstar would like to mention it was no problem at all to rescue you from an expensive insurance call out, on what was quite the rainy morning.

Enjoy your trip.
Jed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I loved staying here. I camped under the big pine tree just yards from the beach, and was lulled to sleep by the sounds of the waves on the shore. The camp hosts were friendly and informative, the facilities clean and well maintained. In fact I would find it hard to fault this campsite. I am SO coming back!
The famous pancake rocks are within easy walking distance of the campsite, and there are other activities in the local area...horse riding, tramps, caving and kayaking to name a few.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrytown, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Punakaiki Beach camp boasts a phenomenal location- right by the ocean and the stunning Pororari River. You just can't beat this place for beauty. Surfboards and lessons for hire just sweetens the deal, or a dip or kayak in the river to cool off in the sun. Family run, friendly, awesome service- just make sure you give yourself a few days to stay and enjoy it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank temiko2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punakaiki hotels
1.3 mi away
Paparoa Park Motel
Paparoa Park Motel
#2 of 3 in Punakaiki
93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
Punakaiki Beach Hostel
#2 of 7 in Punakaiki
188 reviews
1.1 mi away
Te Nikau Retreat
Te Nikau Retreat
#3 of 7 in Punakaiki
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Punakaiki Resort
Punakaiki Resort
#1 of 3 in Punakaiki
659 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hydrangea Cottages
Hydrangea Cottages
#1 of 7 in Punakaiki
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Punakaiki Beachfront Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punakaiki Beach Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punakaiki Beach Camp

Property: Punakaiki Beach Camp
Address: Owen St, Punakaiki 7866, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Punakaiki
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Punakaiki Beach Camp is located in a picturesque beachside setting adjoining Paparoa National Park. Entrance is in Owen Street, off SH 6, 1km north of Pancake Rocks & easy 45 min drive from Westport or Greymouth. Ideal for overnight stop or extended stay, the Punakaiki Beach Camp is an excellent base to explore limestone gorges, bushwalks, beaches & Pancake Rocks & Blowholes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing